We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low rating, but not that bad”
Review of 444 Nahua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
444 Nahua
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Low rating, but not that bad”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Pros:
15 minutes to beach...actually close to everything in Waikiki
2 bedrooms & a cot
in suite laundry
nice mountain view
fridge, stove top (con: no oven), microwave
encounters with staff were minimal and friendly
quiet
pool and BBQ are on roof was great, didn't get to BBQ so I can't comment on the quality of the grills
Cons:
old, really needed to be renovated, old carpet, old furniture, cupboards literally falling off hinges.
the horrible, horrible smell of skunky pot in the hallway. Someone in there was on a wake and bake. I don't care that if you smoke pot, but the stench was too much.
it could have been a little cleaner, I think a reno would make it easier to make the place a little spiffier.

BUT, I got a place for a good price, where I wanted to be, with a nice casual atmosphere. I had a great time.
Book again? I'd search around for something else, but I might,might go back.

I said the children's actives were poor....but we came for the beaches of Oahu, not the hotel, so who cares about kids activities?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnL_2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    31
    16
    12
    16
See reviews for
38
33
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Waikiki Beach Condo at 444 Nahua is tired. It is a 10 - 15 minute walk to the beach and very convenient to a small grocery store and a Starbucks, but the place is old and hasn't been well kept up. The condo we rented was pretty dirty --- the silverware all had to be cleaned before we used it --- every cabinet surface needed cleaning --- the floors were gross --- the inside of the clothes drawers needed to be cleaned. The photos are misleading --- the one bedroom we rented had a decent size bedroom, but the living area was tiny. The furniture was uncomfortable, didn't really fit well into the space, and was UGLY. The hallway to our place was undergoing some electrical upgrades so there were exposed wires during our entire visit. Also, all the recessed lights in the hallway were open. Some walls in the hall had been scrapped and needed repainting. So....the walk from the elevator to our condo was unsightly. Many of the parking spaces in the building are piled high with old furniture. Very unsightly. On our next to last day, we had a significant leak from the vent above the toilet in our bathroom. There is no concierge on duty --- although there is a security person available (during the day) by phone. The security guy came by when we first reported the leak problem and said he would look into it. We used extra towels to dry things up. The next day, it got worse. More towels, more promises. Yuckkkk. I suppose you get what you pay for, but I wouldn't book a friend or family member into this place.

Room Tip: The rooms that front on Ala Wai Blvd are pretty noisy because since there is 4 lane traffic on Ala W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VerdeCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If you like roaches, maids unexpectedly barging into your room and horrible service this is the place for you. I would never stay here again. Huge waste of money. This place isn't worth my 200 characters. Stay away.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gsroyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed a week here and loved it. The booking agent Jeanie could not of been more helpful, early check in and late check out for no extra charge.
Very secure building and rooftop swimming pool and sunbathing areas.
Three independant BBQ's with a large fridge and washing areas, absolutely superb.
Plenty of shops nearby for food and drink.
About a pleasant 10 minute walk to the beach.
Recommended highly

Room Tip: Stayed on the 14th floor, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brielks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The room is very old, lights don't work, doors are falling apart and AC does not work, beds are dying and the roof has crumbled in a few areas of the kitchen. The pictures are misleading, some rooms are better than others. The only good thing about the condo is its location near Waikiki beach, its a 5min walk to the main drag and beach.

Room Tip: Pay for a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, MA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The location was very convenient and close to shops, restaurants and the beach. The parking was a bonus and allowed us to get to Highway One in minutes to get away from the Waikiki area and explore the island. The reservation process was very smooth and Myrna and Jeannie were very helpful. Rachel was waiting to hand over the key and explain various features of the condo and security in the building. The had starter quantities of cleaning supplies and coffee/tea which was a bonus too. Plenty of linens and the maid came in every alternate day during our stay ( included in the price) so I would highly recommend this condo to families

Room Tip: We ate at the Marukome Udon restaurant twice...right around the corner from the condo...best noodles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boston007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

This condo was ONLY pretty good. During our stay, a lot of public areas were still not done, for example, the wires up on the ceilings were all exposed and the drop ceilings were not covered, especially all the doors were not painted. The unit was smaller than the look from the pictures. The swimming pool was also small and the water was cold. The parking space was so narrow that required a skillful driver with a small car. BUT, it was closed to the beach, the shopping and all the actions. So overall, this was a pretty good place to stay in.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gl0betr0tter_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Ilima Hotel
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
935 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Condominiums
Waikiki Beach Condominiums
#34 of 45 in Honolulu
65 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Marine Surf Waikiki
Marine Surf Waikiki
#18 of 45 in Honolulu
91 reviews
Waikiki
Regency on Beachwalk Waikiki by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 444 Nahua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 444 Nahua

Property: 444 Nahua
Address: 444 Nahua St, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5036
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 444 Nahua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
444 Nahua Hotel Honolulu
444 Nahua Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing