We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired, tired and more tired.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of 444 Nahua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
444 Nahua
Pecatonica, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tired, tired and more tired.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at 444 Nahua Condominiums from February 11 to 16, 2014. We got to the hotel at 2:00am and the security guard let us in. There were no keys for the unit and he told us we would have to call the manager later in the morning. Nice - we could not leave the unit for fear of not being able to get back in. The unit smelled and looked old and dirty. The unit we stayed in had not been updated in decades. The owner of this unit should be ashamed to put it in the rental pool. You shouldn't be allowed to take money from travelers for a unit in this kind of shape. Carpet was dirty. Furniture was old. Needed paint. Parking deck was filled with furniture. We were not given a parking spot on the check-in sheet and had to call the manager for our parking space number. Nice - we could have parked in the wrong spot and been towed away. Parking space was most miserable one in the deck - dark corner with three walls surrounding it. We spoke with other travelers at the pool and they were equally disapointed. It appeared some of the units were updated and in good condition. Again, owners that are not keeping thier units up should not be able to put their unit in the rental pool. Beware - you just don't know what you're going to get. We will never return to this place.

Room Tip: Don't use this condo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    31
    15
    12
    16
See reviews for
38
32
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Danvers MA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at the layout of the condo and the amenities. My unit as are all of them, I believe a one bedroom which could be closed off by a sliding door. There was no dining area, but there were dining chairs. There was a sleeper sofa and huge coffee table. The kitchen was FULLY appointed including a dishwasher and full size oven and refrigerator. There were pans of every description including a set for the oven. The lanai was tiny, but there was an additional one off the kitchen which because of the view of the building across the street and all the birds I did not use. I loved the washer/dryer unit in the bathroom (no need for coins). This location is great for everything like walking to the beach and grocery store. Spoiler alert..the International Marketplace has been closed and awaiting another high end store. The building is on the Ala Wai as well so you can walk/jog. Close to bus line. They were spraying for bugs when I was there, but I didn't see any. Pool and area on roof had wonderful views including the Friday night fireworks. Tenants seemed to be friendly. Safe building. My unit was not rundown and I have stayed in one around the corner that was rundown for the same price. I can't understand how any unit would be dirty as there is a cleaning fee up front to use the place.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, but because of location street noise is expected. I never saw anyone on du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Meredith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Pros:
15 minutes to beach...actually close to everything in Waikiki
2 bedrooms & a cot
in suite laundry
nice mountain view
fridge, stove top (con: no oven), microwave
encounters with staff were minimal and friendly
quiet
pool and BBQ are on roof was great, didn't get to BBQ so I can't comment on the quality of the grills
Cons:
old, really needed to be renovated, old carpet, old furniture, cupboards literally falling off hinges.
the horrible, horrible smell of skunky pot in the hallway. Someone in there was on a wake and bake. I don't care that if you smoke pot, but the stench was too much.
it could have been a little cleaner, I think a reno would make it easier to make the place a little spiffier.

BUT, I got a place for a good price, where I wanted to be, with a nice casual atmosphere. I had a great time.
Book again? I'd search around for something else, but I might,might go back.

I said the children's actives were poor....but we came for the beaches of Oahu, not the hotel, so who cares about kids activities?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnL_2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Waikiki Beach Condo at 444 Nahua is tired. It is a 10 - 15 minute walk to the beach and very convenient to a small grocery store and a Starbucks, but the place is old and hasn't been well kept up. The condo we rented was pretty dirty --- the silverware all had to be cleaned before we used it --- every cabinet surface needed cleaning --- the floors were gross --- the inside of the clothes drawers needed to be cleaned. The photos are misleading --- the one bedroom we rented had a decent size bedroom, but the living area was tiny. The furniture was uncomfortable, didn't really fit well into the space, and was UGLY. The hallway to our place was undergoing some electrical upgrades so there were exposed wires during our entire visit. Also, all the recessed lights in the hallway were open. Some walls in the hall had been scrapped and needed repainting. So....the walk from the elevator to our condo was unsightly. Many of the parking spaces in the building are piled high with old furniture. Very unsightly. On our next to last day, we had a significant leak from the vent above the toilet in our bathroom. There is no concierge on duty --- although there is a security person available (during the day) by phone. The security guy came by when we first reported the leak problem and said he would look into it. We used extra towels to dry things up. The next day, it got worse. More towels, more promises. Yuckkkk. I suppose you get what you pay for, but I wouldn't book a friend or family member into this place.

Room Tip: The rooms that front on Ala Wai Blvd are pretty noisy because since there is 4 lane traffic on Ala W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VerdeCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

If you like roaches, maids unexpectedly barging into your room and horrible service this is the place for you. I would never stay here again. Huge waste of money. This place isn't worth my 200 characters. Stay away.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gsroyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed a week here and loved it. The booking agent Jeanie could not of been more helpful, early check in and late check out for no extra charge.
Very secure building and rooftop swimming pool and sunbathing areas.
Three independant BBQ's with a large fridge and washing areas, absolutely superb.
Plenty of shops nearby for food and drink.
About a pleasant 10 minute walk to the beach.
Recommended highly

Room Tip: Stayed on the 14th floor, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brielks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The room is very old, lights don't work, doors are falling apart and AC does not work, beds are dying and the roof has crumbled in a few areas of the kitchen. The pictures are misleading, some rooms are better than others. The only good thing about the condo is its location near Waikiki beach, its a 5min walk to the main drag and beach.

Room Tip: Pay for a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Ilima Hotel
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Surf Hotel
Holiday Surf Hotel
#79 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Tower
Aston Waikiki Beach Tower
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Condominiums
Waikiki Beach Condominiums
#22 of 45 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Waikiki
Marine Surf Waikiki
Marine Surf Waikiki
#16 of 45 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Waikiki
Unipack at the Waikiki Park Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 444 Nahua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 444 Nahua

Property: 444 Nahua
Address: 444 Nahua St, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5036
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 444 Nahua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
444 Nahua Hotel Honolulu
444 Nahua Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing