We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location - shame about the view.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good location - shame about the view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

It had been a dream of my father to go to Hawaii, so being a dutiful son I travelled half way round the world to take him there! Needing a suite rather than a room, and being a Hilton Hhonors Gold member, I decided to book the Embassy Suites, rather than the HHV which we could have booked as a timeshare owner. We paid a premium to have an Ocean View.

The rooms aren't cheap, and the parking is an added expense (but everyone else seems to charge too!). However, on the plus side the suite was large and clean, with double queen size beds in the bedroom and a large living room, and kitchenette. Although we booked an ocean view, this could only be seen if you were sitting on the balcony, and the views from inside the suite are shown in the encloses photos (although, to give some balance, the view from the balcony is also shown). Would I pay for the "Ocean View" next time, when you can't actually get the view from the sofa/bed? Probably not.

The complimentary breakfast buffet is a bit of a scrum, and there does seem to be a problem with birds - as soon as you left the table they would come to the table to take the crumbs!

We did take advantage of the Happy Hours most evening - free flowing wine, beer and cocktails, with entertainment every other night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Aloha London Andy,

Thank you for your recent review regarding our hotel. I am sorry that we disappointed you with our views. We actually do get quite a few compliments but I must admit not every room has a view of the ocean.

Please be assured we are addressing our bird of cocktails.

We look forward to your return.

Mahalo,
Bob Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,948
    937
    191
    64
    31
See reviews for
1,861
709
63
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel to family/friends and business travelers. The entire staff made you feel like family, services were excellent and the breakfast offered a variety of choices. Short distance from the beach... great location if you're a tourist...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Aloha Jeff W,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel. Let me assure you the great service comes from the heats our employes that demonstrate the true Aloha spirit. Our staff really enjoys making vacations memorable.

Mahalo,

Bob Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the Embassy Suites over Xmas and NYE. I have been to Hawaii many times, and wanted something a bit more spacious. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cityview. The rooms were spacious enough for 3 females (2 bathrooms was a bonus). Breakfast was included everyday (including cooked to order eggs/omeletes). Every afternoon we had drinks and nibles by the pool. The band that played on most nights was good. The hotel is located down on beach walk with many restaurants to choose from. Ala Moana was about 20 minute walk away (we liked to walk).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Aloha Tashlovestotravel,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay. You are correct, location, location, locations is one of the pillars that make our hotel comfortable for our guests stay.

With all the included amenities, such as free breakfast, cocktails really help you enjoy your Hawaiian vacation.

We look forward to have you come back and stay with us.

Mahalo,

Bob Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

if you want quiet room request an upper room with a partial or full ocean view. The 3rd room was the best. The first one they gave us was under street level by the main road. Noisy and dark. The 2nd room was better but had feces smeared on the outside of the toilet. They gave us a third room in the tower facing the pool and ocean (the partially view)--much better. It was clean and fairly quiet except the alarms. The fire alarm went off 3 times in the middle of the night while we were there. We had to call down the first time to see if it was real. It was not. But a loud speaker wakes you up telling you to leave your room and take the stairs. We were very high up and disabled. Not fun to hear at 3am. Okay now the good part. Great location! Walking distance to the beach and many fantastic restaurants and shops. We could also get fresh fruit close by. The concierge puts on a presentation so you can get information on things to do around the island. Many good tips. The free breakfast and happy were really great. Lots of food choices plus many Asian selections-- my daughter loved it. We had a nice full breakfast everyday then a nice happy hour in the evening. You get 1 or 2 free drinks and snacks. Nice way to end the day and the start the evening. Plus it really helps save money. I would stay here again! i would just be very specific about the room we want.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms high up are quiet and have nice views of the city and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kakem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Aloha Kakem123,

Thank you for your comments, we really try to make sure we are able to meet our guests needs. Sorry it took us 3 trys, but we hope that we the rest of your stay was enjoyable.

Location, Location, Location, as well as all the complimentary amenities we offer, certainly offers you a great saving while on your Hawaiian vacation. This allows you to focus on spending your money on tours, shopping and dining.

We look forward to have you come back again. Don't forget to make a note of your requests when you make your reservations.

Mahalo

Bob Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Everyone is very welcoming and friendly, from the valet staff who are quick and always ask you if you need directions to the massage staff who did an amazing job poolside. Very convenient to the beach and pool/beach towels are provided (great idea!). Breakfast and evening reception on the house provides convenience and cost savings. Room is very clean (especially the bathroom). We had a two-bedroom suite which gave our family lots of space.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Erika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Aloha Erika,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you had a nice stay and enjoyed all what we have to offer our guests.

Spacious suites and complimentary breakfast, cocktails are just a few of the savings you get when staying with us.

Our staff prides themselves in making all of our guests stay, feel like they are family. We look forward to have you come back on your next Hawaiian Vacation.

Mahalo,

Bob Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We just returned from a 10 night stay in Hawaii, 7 of which were spent at the Embassy Suites Beach Walk. Let me say that I did a lot of research on Trip Advisor for hotels in Waikiki as the rooms are pricey and there is a vast selection to choose from. I am happy to say that we were overwhelmed with our stay here!

While this is one of the pricier stays in Waikiki, it truly offers the most value for the money. It is not how much you spend as opposed to what you receive in return, and let me say that the Embassy Suites Beach Walk offered amenities by the bushel!

Our suite was nice with double queen size beds in the bedroom and a large living room, kitchenette and wet bar. The rooms were spacious by Waikiki standards and each room had a separate balcony. Although we booked a city view room, by looking to the right, we had a nice partial ocean view.

Location is important in Waikiki, and in my mind the Beach Walk area is the best place to stay right now. This area is modern, clean, nicely lighted and offers a great variety of mid and upper end dining, stores and boutiques. All within close walking distance is Starbucks, P.F. Changs, Cheesecake Factory, Ruth's Chris Steak House, Hard Rock Cafe and many others too numerous to mention. Right next door is the new Trump Hotel and high end Halekulani Hotel. We did not see one sleeping bum on the street during our entire stay here unlike many other locations in Waikiki! The hotel is also just across the street from the beach.

The complimentary breakfast buffet does change slighty each day and does offer fresh made to order eggs and omelets. Also available depending on the day were scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, chinese soup(miso) and salads, pastries and fresh sliced fruits. This free breakfast served 6:30 -10:30 daily competes favorably, if not better, than many of the breakfast buffets in the area that you are forced to pay for. My compliments to the chefs!

Unlike other Embassy suites that I have stayed at which offer one or maybe 2 free drinks, this one has a Happy Hour like none other running from 5:30 - 7:30 nightly, and it is all you can drink! Not only that, it's not no name liquors, but all name brands and are the drinks are garnished nicely! Tip these guys as they deserve to be tipped and they will not only remember your drink, but they will provide pours that comparable in the best drinking establishments. The mai tais that I had almost nightly here, were the best on the island by far! Snacks like chips, salsa and sliced veggies and dip were also provided each night. Four nights a week live entertainment is provided, and they play a mix of Hawaiian and current hits.

The staff are all friendly, always with a pleasant Aloha and smile, no matter the day, time or situtation.

I would like to put a special thank you out to our housekeeper Lleuwelynn on the 7th floor of the Hula Tower. She did a wonderful job in cleaning our room and providing us with plenty of fresh towels as requested. She was always around and would ask us how long that we would be gone so that she could clean our room without interupting us. No matter when we were coming or going, she would always greet us, strike up a brief conversation and wish us a pleasant day. Thanks for all of the notes and for the Hawaiian music cds, which were really a nice touch! She became almost like our Hawaiian Mom and on our last day she wished us well on our journey and said that she would miss us!

Thinking back of our lovely stay at the Waikiki Embassy Beach Walk puts a smile to my face and you can bet that we will stay here on our next visit to Waikiki!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JSCHMEEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Aloha JSCHMEEG,

It is a pleasure reading your comments of our hotel, staff and location. I will share your comments about your housekeeper and the wonderful service you and your family received.

Our staff, enjoys making all of our guest feel like they are part of their own family. They always tell me they are happy to come to work. Happy Staff makes Happy guests.

You are correct, location, location, location are one of the key features of anyone's destination vacation. Walking distance to shops, dining and the beach really makes our guests vacation most memorable.

We look froward to have you come back and stay with us on your next Hawaiian Vacation.

Mahalo,

Bob Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Currituck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just completed a week of business and a week of vacation. Our room was excellent and over looked the pool. The Breakfast is fantastic but I would recommend that consideration be given to installing bird netting during the breakfast hours. Nightly cocktails and beer were a big plus and all the bartenders were friendly and fun Kioli (sorry for spelling) was a riot and made the evening start off fun. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I like the fact everyone that works there makes eye contact, smiles and speaks to you. Friendly people just make you feel good. I would also highly recommend Victor at the front desk to anyone needing help with reservations or any matter concerning your stay. He was always one step ahead of us on any questions or help we may have needed. Thousands of people stay at the hotel and when we checked in he remembered our name's and where we are from. From making sure we were more than satisfied with our room, giving helpful advise, ensuring your departure day is set up to maximize your time there, to making sure you know you can call him personally to set up your next stay...he is the model customer service professional. The entertainment was very good. Can't wait to go back in August!

Room Tip: I always try to get into the Hula Tower on the pool side. My favorite is the 30 room like 1130, 1230...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Aloha Buddy 252,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that our team members make all of our guest feel like they are part of our Ohana (family).

Victor and Keola as well as many of our staff have been with us from the beginning and they really enjoy working here. I encourage our team if they have fun at work our guest will have fun on their vacations.


We look forward to have you come back again in August, please feel free to contact us.

Mahalo,

Bob Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk
Address: 201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk is an all-suite hotel featuring 1 and 2-bedroom suites with private bedroom(s), separate living room, and kitchenette. All of our guests enjoy complimentary full Made-to-Oder Breakfast daily, nightly Evening Poolside Reception, Wi-Fi, and more, and No Resort Fees. The hotel is located steps to Waikiki Beach and in the heart of Waikiki Beach Walk, Waikiki's newest shopping, dining, and entertainment district. In addition to the extra space, added value, and great location that makes our hotel so unique, it is the genuine Hawaiian hospitality of our staff that we are most proud of. Come experience the Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotelopia, Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hotel Honolulu
Embassy Suites Honolulu
Honolulu Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Oahu
Embassy Suites By Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing