We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Service”
Review of Gyu-Kaku Waikiki

Gyu-Kaku Waikiki
Reserve with OpenTable
Gyu-Kaku Waikiki is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #179 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Waikiki
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

One of the yellow-shirt tourist ambassadors recommended this restaurant to us. I'm so glad we took his recommendation! The food, service and the whole experience was awesome! The waiters were great at delivering food and explaining what each item was and how to cook it. I have a very fond memory of our dinner here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    115
    39
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

First night in Honolulu...walking all over to find a fairly late night dinner. We tripped upon this place and loved it. Food was good. Server gave excellent suggestions. Price was unbeatable. Nothing fancy but well worth the visit. I found myself craving going back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank gypsygal3095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Happy hour is not to be missed”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Great selection and quick service if you go during afternoon happy hour. Food was yummy and filling. 4.5 stars

Helpful?
Thank Abigail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thank the cook: you”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had an early dinner, and happened to hit the "Early Bird" time, so it was a great bargain. We were initially helped by a manager (Ikaiki?), who was very friendly, and listened to our concerns/desires, and helped a lot. He then left us in our waiter's capable hands (and, hands that must remain nameless, because I forgot)

We had various vegetables and meat, and cooked them all very easily. (Ok, the potato in foil took longer than we expected, but it was still good).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sieler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great meal you make yourself!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Let me 1st start by saying, Bill was great! Gave us enough time to order drinks and apps before taking our order, and even made a few great suggestions. The food was great and if you mess it up it's your own fault. LOL. Almost everyone of the staff stopped by to check on us or make sure everything was going well. I highly recommend this place and can't wait to try the other locations in there other cities.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodenn0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gyu-Kaku Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Gyu-Kaku Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing