We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i'm in honolulu now”

The Tsukiji Fish Market and Restaurant
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
twincities minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“i'm in honolulu now”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

just was at the Tsukiji last night used the groupon voucher and wow! so much food lol all the food was very good ,came out quickly and the waitress was very good , we actually had to call some friends to give us some help eating all that food I recommend but make sure it's 4 people their lol

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank makeIThappen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    33
    29
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Heaven”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It's hard to find a great value for Happy Hour in Hawaii without sometimes sacrificing the quality of the bar food.
We were lured to try Tsukiji w/ the purchase of a Groupon. We were pleasantly surprised. The Groupon included a pitcher of beer w/ Asian-style nachos, garlic chicken, chinese chicken salad and an order of spicy tuna roll. What a deal! The portions were huge and the flavors were good.
We have been return customers many times after that - trying things like the Ahi Belly (wow!) and the salmon served sashimi style over a salad w/ a ponzu dressing. The happy hour serves up appetizers at half price. Most items average around $5.
Enjoy great food and drinks while you are watching a sports game on TV.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HIDogLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Edible Buffet”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

There were nine of us for the lunch buffet. There is a large variety of Asian food; sushi, teriyaki, katsu, salads, noodles, and dessert. We did not try everything on the tables, but the general consensus was the food is ok for buffet food. The service was pretty good as the staff was attentive ensuring our empty plates were picked up and water glasses were kept full.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gone2ge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

So being "a fish market" the fish here was bad. The poke was stringy and hard not the kind that melts in your mouth. The sushi was mediocre at best. The rest of the food was really bland or way too salty. Most of the food was just poor low quality stuff. With the exception of our waiter the staff was not friendly or helpful. When I got prime rib it was super rare so I asked the guy if I could have a more done piece. He just looked at me irritated and said "no that's all we got" . Really because there is a kitchen and a grill both behind him and next to him so I'm pretty sure he could have had it cooked more, which other places have done for me in the past. NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VKJHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eh”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The food is ok the service is ok but nothing spectacular. For the price the sushi rice is a bit too firm and the fish starts looking old and isnt replaced until eaten. The best thing is the shaved ice for dessert.

Better off going to a nice dinner with good table service and really fresh foods.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Candace V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tsukiji Fish Market and Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing