We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you appreciate good japanese food”
Review of Nobu Honolulu

Nobu Honolulu
Reserve with OpenTable
Nobu Honolulu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #107 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$200
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Waikiki
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must if you appreciate good japanese food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The dishes looked as great as they tasted which was fantastic. The waiter was right on with recommendations and all the restaurant staff were great. A bit pricey but everything in the area is.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MJC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    170
    88
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good but pricey”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent service. Great decor. Full validation on self parking. Convenient self parking lot. Miso butter fish was the greatest. Ribeye steak was also very good. The Drunken cherry toban was the best dessert (compared to the bento or the Lemon sesame). The vegetable and shrimp tempura didn't have much taste. Mushroom salad was good, but on the small side. Egg plant also good. Without alcohol our bill was about $85 per person (tip included).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Definitely overpriced -- and only very good, not excellent”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We expected to be wowed, but weren't. Our omakase meal at the sushi bar was generally very good, but it suffered from some flaws: three successive courses (roasted lobster, wagyu beef and scallop, and a shellfish broth) all featured asparagus and mushrooms as accompanying ingredients. It was monotonous, and they didn't necessarily compliment the proteins. The salad and sashimi dishes were fresh and the presentations were lovely -- but the sushi, when it finally arrived quite delayed, was only mediocre in construction. It doesn't begin to compare with the masterful sushi offerings at Sushi Sasabune. The quality of the fish at Sasabune is also superior to the very good fish at Nobu. Service was just okay; it was slow and spotty, then frantic at times. The restaurant is glitzy and glamorous, but the atmosphere was noisy and congested and not at all relaxing. I'll stick to Sasabune, thank you -- besides, Nobu is at least 30 to 40% more expensive than Sasabune (which is already quite pricey, but always worth every dollar). At Nobu, after a reasonable reasonable tip, with a cocktail each and one large shared mid-price sake, dinner for me and my companion came to more than $550. It was, all in all, an overpriced disappointment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Windward_Oahu_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food- but AWFUL service! ”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I dined at Nobu for the second time this week tonight and had the same waiter as the first time. We ordered some of the same dishes and specifically asked to have all of our food (since it is similar to a family style setup) delivered at once. Our food was scattered and we waited at least an hour and 15 minutes just for our simple sushi rolls and sashimi. Our waiter (named Derek) kept promising it would be out soon (when he was even bothering to attend to us). We even ordered the duck breast and never received it, although the whole time he kept saying that it should be right out. I am very disappointed in the customer service, however the food is excellent. Do not go to Nobu if you aren't prepared to wait hours for a sushi roll or two.

Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sushi”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Sushi here was TO DIE FOR! My husband and I ate sushi in the bar twice during our short stay! The Bigeye Tuna melted in your mouth. The service was incredible too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MM712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nobu Honolulu also viewed

 

Been to Nobu Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing