We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food! Terrible service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taormina Sicilian Cuisine

Taormina Sicilian Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Taormina Sicilian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 2,326 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Don Ho
Colleyville Tx
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food! Terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

First and foremost....this is excellent food. But our dining experience is not just about the food. I know it's a first world problem, but when you pay this much for food, the service needs to be on par as well. Our waiter couldn't even bring out the basics like water, bread or the vinegar for the oil. Anything we needed, we had to ask for. Maybe it's hard to find good wait staff here in Waikiki.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Lgar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    204
    84
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delightful dinner and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited Taormina while visiting Waikiki and were quite impressed with the service and food. We arrived and were seated immediately. Our requested wine was out of stock and our server suggested an adequate substitute. She also recommended a couple of the daily specials, one was a grilled Onaga and the other a pasta carbonara with truffles. Both were delightful. The kitchen missed our ticket and there was a delay in getting our food but to be honest we really didn't notice. The server and manager "comp'd" us two glasses of wine and a desert. And while that didn't hurt it wasn't necessary. My review also takes in to account that everyone around us seemed to be enjoying themselves and were being treated with the same attentiveness as we were. It's fine to make mistakes if you make up for then quickly and deliver quality food.

Helpful?
1 Thank MD4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality Italian dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

During our 9 days in Waikiki, we ate here 3 times. We couldn't get enough. We are a family with two 7 year olds. They were very accommodating and not concerned about our children dining here. There wasn't a kids menu, but there was enough variety for them to choose from. The pastas with lobster and clams were amazing. On our second visit, the manager gave us a dessert which was on the house - as an appreciation for our return. Then on the third visit they didn't charge us for the desserts we ordered. I would definitely recommend dining here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2poppets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Little Sicilian Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a great place for couples, probably would not bring kids here. Menu is true Sicilian. They have nightly specials and the Service was wonderful. We have the Tuna is was amazing. A bit on the pricy side, but it is well worth it! After all you are in Hawaii.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quality Italian fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was a good opportunity to escape the American and Japanese cuisine that dominates Honolulu. The food was good and the atmosphere was comfortable and low key. We both had pasta and the lasagne in particular was well prepared ad freshly cooked. The wait staff were a little distracted and I am amazed how quickly I have become accustomed to excellent service. The service here was much more like Sydney (my home town) and not up to the usual high standard I have come to expect. Aussies have a lot to learn about customer service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taormina Sicilian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Taormina Sicilian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing