We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, but very close to airport and cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel is located right next door to the Honolulu International Airport. Great location to stay in if you are coming in on a late flight or leaving early in the morning. The rooms are extremely simple, but clean and comfortable. Rooms come with a complimentary breakfast, which consists of tropical fruit, eggs, toast, cereal and drinks. Very simple, but decent for a nice morning bite to eat. I was really unimpressed with the service provided by the front desk agents. Spoken down to when asked questions, and ver rudely served during both check in and check out. There is no other dining onsite, but the hotel is right next to a little take out place. We headed over there as we were starving when we arrived, but I wouldn't recommend it as it was kind of sketchy and seemed like a bit of a hangout for unsavoury types. Food wasn't that great either.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpjotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Aloha mpjotraveler,

Thank you for staying at Best Western The Plaza Hotel and for writing a review of your stay from November of 2013.

We are glad you we were able to meet your expectations for most of your stay. The complimentary breakfast you mentioned must be the Best Western Breakfast package you purchased for your stay. I am sorry to hear about the service you received at the Front Desk. We will share your review with them and work on improving this so if you return, you will not encounter the same service.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

The biggest asset of this hotel is the convenience to the airport. We stayed here on our way in to Hawaii and then again for a night on our way out. As far as the rooms go, it's pretty average. They aren't a vacation or a resort hotel, and they aren't trying to be. It's clean, comfortable and relatively quiet. If you like to watch planes take off and land, we could do that from the window in our room, it's THAT close to the airport.

This hotel is very convenient to Pearl Harbor, so we stayed here the night before we left Oahu and spent the next day at Pearl Harbor.

Parking at this hotel is kind of a nightmare. They have a parking garage that is the first few floors of the hotel, so it's convenient that you can go right from your car to your room without changing elevators. But the parking spaces in the garage are so narrow, they will barely accommodate a mid-size car. The problem is, they are filled with big SUVs! They also are bordered by support columns, so you're either going to hit the car next to you, or you'll hit the support column on the other side. To make things a little more interesting, they also allow parking along the outer walls of the garage, so while you're trying not to hit the car next to you or the support column, you have to remember not to hit the car BEHIND you. Best to rent a compact car.

I will say the price was a good value for Honolulu, which is an extremely expensive place to travel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trnmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Best Western Plaza is okay but nothing special. Recognize that it does not have free parking and breakfast is in the restaurant. There are not many choices near the airport, and the hotel clearly takes advantage of that. Price has gone up substantially since last year when I stayed there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Not a vacation hotel, especially for Oahu. Probably the only airport hotel. Old property but well maintain. Excellent for the night before flight situation. The property consists of a hotel tower and an adjacent 'motel' with swimming pool and dining hall. Very serviceable.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank 48Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Aloha 48Traveling,

Thank you for your most recent stay at Best Western The Plaza Hotel. We are appreciative of your decision to stay with us and for writing a review.

We have a great location to the airport and offer complimentary shuttle service 24/7 to and from the airport. So as you mentioned, any guest looking for a place to stay the night before their flight, we are a great choice.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed there last night Jan 2014. My reservation was oddly not there but they had a room and were very accommodating. Service was good all around. We had breakfast in their cafe and it was quite nice. Traffic was noisy but been close to the airport one has to expect that. It was clean, though aging. Typical hotel room. However for one night and then on to our amazing resort it was reasonable and met my expectations. Staff was pleasant!

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank GlenMClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Aloha Glen C,

On behalf of the staff and management of Best Western The Plaza Hotel, we would like to thank you for staying with us in January and for writing a review.

We apologize we did not have your reservation upon check in, but glad to hear our staff was able to assist you. Our staff does provide the best service possible for our guests and glad you were able to experience it. We are also appreciative you acknowledged them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Excellent room - very clean. Microwave and fridge were bonus. Very close to airport for our morning departure. Safe neighbourhood for walking in the evening. Shuttle service was excellent also. Did not use dining facilities as flight left early in the morning

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had to make last minute plans to Honolulu during the Holiday Season and this hotel was one of the few reasonably priced with any vacancies. The hotel is built in 2 sections, one low rise tower with about 5 floors including the front desk with parking and a 2 floor wing which goes around the pool. We in the 2 floor wing. The hotel is surrounded by a freeway off ramp and busy streets and it's difficult to get a quiet room. The first room we were shown was right on the street and was quite noisey so was asked to be moved. The second room was off the front street and a little quieter. Not sure how the low rise area is but it is farther from the off ramp. The staff was great and even handled our complaint in a freindly manner.

Room Tip: Try the back of the low rise for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOUGLAS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Aloha DOUGLAS K,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay in December. Both staff and management would like to thank you for staying with us.

We apologize we were not able to accommodate you to your satisfaction during your stay. We do have quieter rooms in the tower unfortunately we were very busy during this time and so our inventory was limited. However, it is pleasant to hear our staff assisted you and did their best to accommodate you.

We apologize again for not being able to meet your standards on this past trip. We look forward to welcoming you back and if you do, we will do our best to get you a quieter room.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#62 of 84 in Honolulu
1,057 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
303 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
509 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,427 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#29 of 84 in Honolulu
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Plaza Hotel

Address: 3253 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £113 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing