We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel to stay in while waiting for housing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
“Good hotel to stay in while waiting for housing!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The service at this hotel was great! We had a long stay while waiting for our housing. Our rooms were spacious and clean. The cleaning staff were very friendly and polite. One in particular was Annie, who always came to clean with a big smile on her face. She always went out of her way to accommodate our needs. On top of that, our rooms were always cleaned consistently with quality. The food service staff were also great, although some nights it got busy because of the new PCS people checking in, but other than that food was good. Parking could also get crazy when the hotel is booked. There's a nice pool, but its freezing to go into even though its 80s outside. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to stay in for its convenience, location, and great service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charchar348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    476
    335
    141
    95
See reviews for
399
376
136
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Best Western, The Plaza, Honolulu had TWO keynote features: 1) It was near the airport, with parking, and 2) was NOT in Waikiki.

We were on an extended trip to various Hawaiian Islands, flying into Honolulu. I looked for a place reasonably close to airport, and planned a day's layover, in case the bags got "misdirected", and would there-after be hop-scotching behind us if we moved right on to the Big Island. The bags DIDN'T miss, but we used the lay-over day as planned and saw much of the island close in to Honolulu, but nowhere near Waikiki.

This hotel is close to the airport and has excellent to/from shuttles to that facility. We rented a car, because I knew my way around Oahu, and planned to travel a bit on our "layover" day.
What I had forgotten was that parking on Oahu involves parking spaces that are 24" narrower than on the Mainland. We managed, and the in/out daily fee at the BW was reasonable.
(Note: after 8:00 pm, the slotted spaces will be gone, and you are going to park perpendicular on ALL levels, against the outside wall, or off the property).

The rooms were clean, well appointed, and comfortable. The refrigerator worked well, so the bar items we had purchased, and cached, stayed cool/cold. The staff stays BUSY, account the
constant turnover. This is NOT a "seasonal" facility. It has a full occupancy rate account the many military families in transit to Oahu - awaiting in processing, and assignment to permanent
quarters.It was obvious that they were NOT treated as a "burden" by the staff, but as honored guests. That raised my appreciation of the hotel by a QUANTUM degree!! The military occupants may predominate, but do not occupy ALL the rooms - and the in-transit tourists recieve the full range of attention as the longer-staying guests.

Because we had a car, we MISSED that (semi-hidden) there is a full range of shops and services, restaurants, just a block away for just casual needs (and lighter meals). The hotel is
within spitting distance of the airport, but the roads won't allow you to spit THAT far. Once you figure the layout, Honolulu/Chinatown (NOT Waikiki) is within easy driving distance, and Aiea/Pearl City with shops/restaurants/dining to the West is even closer.

We booked a layover here to arrive, and then depart, a couple of weeks later. One of the wiser choices we made on a truly eventful and satisfying trip to "Hawaii-Nei". We reorganized all our luggage after arrival, and reduced our luggage by shipping all the excess clothes home by Postal Service - at the nearby USPS facilty - so we could carry all the Hawaiian Treasures home in SAME number of suitcases with which we arrived in Hawaii.

Good value, excellant staff, ATTENTIVE security - an NO Waikiki congestion to deal with !!

Room Tip: Well, the H1 is on one side, and the airport is on the other side of the Hotel. The airport pattern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trainmaster78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Aloha Trainmaster78,

On behalf of the staff and management of Best Western The Plaza Hotel thank you for your most recent stay and for your review.

As you mentioned, we have a great location to the airport and complimentary airport shuttle. We apologize about the parking situation as we are sold out during this time and parking is full. We do have many military families that stay with us during their transition to the islands and along with our other guests, our staff does all it can to provide great service!

Thank you for staying with us and for thoroughly reviewing our hotel. We do have many amenities that will appeal to travelers and your review highlighted them. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very good shuttle service to airport. Room was clean and comfortable and staff very pleasant. On site shop well supplied for essentials. Dinner menu needs a good vegetarian option but take out options were nearby. . Worked very well for overnight stay between flights.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Aloha Terry S,

Thank you for your most recent stay at Best Western The Plaza Hotel. We are appreciative of your patronage and for your positive review of our hotel.

Thank you for your suggestion of a vegetarian option for our menu. As I oversee the Food and Beverage Department, we are already in discussions of looking at this very topic. Maybe on your return visit, you will be able to see the options we have. As you mentioned, we have many amenities to offer our guests who stay with us, even if it is for just an overnight stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel is located right next door to the Honolulu International Airport. Great location to stay in if you are coming in on a late flight or leaving early in the morning. The rooms are extremely simple, but clean and comfortable. Rooms come with a complimentary breakfast, which consists of tropical fruit, eggs, toast, cereal and drinks. Very simple, but decent for a nice morning bite to eat. I was really unimpressed with the service provided by the front desk agents. Spoken down to when asked questions, and ver rudely served during both check in and check out. There is no other dining onsite, but the hotel is right next to a little take out place. We headed over there as we were starving when we arrived, but I wouldn't recommend it as it was kind of sketchy and seemed like a bit of a hangout for unsavoury types. Food wasn't that great either.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpjotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Aloha mpjotraveler,

Thank you for staying at Best Western The Plaza Hotel and for writing a review of your stay from November of 2013.

We are glad you we were able to meet your expectations for most of your stay. The complimentary breakfast you mentioned must be the Best Western Breakfast package you purchased for your stay. I am sorry to hear about the service you received at the Front Desk. We will share your review with them and work on improving this so if you return, you will not encounter the same service.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The biggest asset of this hotel is the convenience to the airport. We stayed here on our way in to Hawaii and then again for a night on our way out. As far as the rooms go, it's pretty average. They aren't a vacation or a resort hotel, and they aren't trying to be. It's clean, comfortable and relatively quiet. If you like to watch planes take off and land, we could do that from the window in our room, it's THAT close to the airport.

This hotel is very convenient to Pearl Harbor, so we stayed here the night before we left Oahu and spent the next day at Pearl Harbor.

Parking at this hotel is kind of a nightmare. They have a parking garage that is the first few floors of the hotel, so it's convenient that you can go right from your car to your room without changing elevators. But the parking spaces in the garage are so narrow, they will barely accommodate a mid-size car. The problem is, they are filled with big SUVs! They also are bordered by support columns, so you're either going to hit the car next to you, or you'll hit the support column on the other side. To make things a little more interesting, they also allow parking along the outer walls of the garage, so while you're trying not to hit the car next to you or the support column, you have to remember not to hit the car BEHIND you. Best to rent a compact car.

I will say the price was a good value for Honolulu, which is an extremely expensive place to travel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trnmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Best Western Plaza is okay but nothing special. Recognize that it does not have free parking and breakfast is in the restaurant. There are not many choices near the airport, and the hotel clearly takes advantage of that. Price has gone up substantially since last year when I stayed there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Not a vacation hotel, especially for Oahu. Probably the only airport hotel. Old property but well maintain. Excellent for the night before flight situation. The property consists of a hotel tower and an adjacent 'motel' with swimming pool and dining hall. Very serviceable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 48Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Aloha 48Traveling,

Thank you for your most recent stay at Best Western The Plaza Hotel. We are appreciative of your decision to stay with us and for writing a review.

We have a great location to the airport and offer complimentary shuttle service 24/7 to and from the airport. So as you mentioned, any guest looking for a place to stay the night before their flight, we are a great choice.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honolulu
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
1,030 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
622 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Address: 3253 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing