We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Spokane, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just ok”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Ok for what it is. An older hotel in an older part of town. Price was a bit more than what I would have expected, but considering where you are, again, it is what it is. No nice breakfast included, but there is a cafe attached that had good food at a decent price. Small beds too, but guess they'd be hard pressed to fit 2 queens in the smaller rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Zana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    461
    322
    138
    91
See reviews for
376
367
132
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gagetown, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is the end of our vacation and we were returning from the Big Island prior to a late Friday night departure for the mainland. I chose this to avoid both the $55 (2 people) downtown shuttle fees and the much more expensive hotels

This hotel has a free 24 hour shuttle. It is accessed from the free phones in baggage claim area after you have retired your baggage. The hotel is only 5 minutes from the airport. The return shuttles happen every half hour on schedule. They do not require you to book a seat.
Check in was easy, staff including the shuttle driver were very helpful. Local maps and directions were an added front desk bonus. This hotel is near an airport and the major highway of the state. Do not expect a quiet resort atmosphere. The cost of the rooms reflects this. That being said I found the noise not bad. The pool was fine and cooling and used by many. I think a room closer to the back of the hotel would be even quieter.

I think this is an older property. That being said my room was clean and comfortable with a microwave and fridge. The furniture was newer and in good shape. The TV was a flat screen with both free and pay options. I feel Best Western has an expectation of quality for their properties and this property considering location meets that standard.

I would stay here again.

Randy S.

Room Tip: I think rooms in the back of the hotel might have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have stayed in a lot of hotels, some good, some bad. This place is the worst I have been too. From the constant hum of the highway that rises above the hotel, to the stained and frayed carpets, to the bugs, this is not a place to stay.

My room smelled like urine that had been covered up with air freshener. The only thing that this place has going for it is that it is close to the airport.

Pro tip for the managers, replace the windows so they can be opened and the rooms aired out.

Room Tip: Here is a tip to choose a good room. Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NEliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Aloha NEliving,

On behalf of the staff and management of Best Western the Plaza Hotel, we are appreciative of your most recent stay with us.

We would like to sincerely apologize we were not able to meet your expectations. The smell you experienced is not the quality we provide and so we will ensure this issue is addressed. The windows in the rooms are able to open and so we apologize you were unaware of this.

Thank you again for your stay and for your review as well.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Marshfield, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Hotel served our needs - rooms were fine and not noising but the pool area and out front were on the very busy street and very noising from street traffic. Great food at the restaurant but a bit pricey

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

If you can find another hotel I would go to it instead, even if it cots more. The Parking spaces are ridiculously small even for a compact car and there are not enough spaces to accommodate all the guests. The water temperature in the shower would not stay at an exact or even close to same temperature. Internet is very slow and would kick me off repeatedly. The hotel is right next to a freeway, so expect lots of traffic noise all day and night. Staff is very nice and always say hello and ask if you need anything. Pool is well maintained and is 9' deep at one end. overall find a different hotel if possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Aloha Justin B,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for writing a review here on TripAdvisor.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while you were here. We did have an emergency repair we needed to address this weekend regarding the water temperature and so we apologize this affected your stay. Due to our high occupancies, we unfortunately have times where the parking is limited, but we do have 5 floors of parking. Again, we apologize we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay.

Thank you again and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We booked this hotel because of its proximity to the airport. It was at a good spot and shuttle service was good. Was very disappointed as we were put in an annexe at the back of the hotel on the second flow and no lifts. We had to drag our luggage up a flight of stairs that were hidden and we had tow all around the perimeter of the motel twice to find room was okay, clean and well appointed but very noisy. Not traffic noise as I expected but air conditioner noise fro. Other rooms. We just couldn't get any sleep and I would not stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tonesmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This airport hotel is the most convenient hotel to Honolulu airport......probably the reason that
it survives given that its location is directly on 12 lanes of noisy freeway plus 8 airport lanes.....
and has never upgraded its windows which are single pane.....the noise is endless and loud!!!!
Not a good location to get good sleep.

On the positive side.....there is good shuttle service to and from the airport. Staff were pleasant.
The rooms are adequate, fairly updated though the bathroom while clean is not of the latest.
Room rate at near $200 seemed high for what you get but you are paying for location. Parking
rate per night is $25. We ate breakfast there and the prices seemed high. Dinner ads in the
elevator said Fri/Sat/Sun/Mon so it appears no dinner available on the other 3 week nights. Used
their Wi FI and it worked well. Used the bus service just in front of the hotel.....fairly frequent service going to Ala Moana shopping and Waikiki. If you're Medicare.....use your card and bus
fare is $1.

Room Tip: Rooms a bit quieter at very back facing airport or direction Waikiki.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Address: 3253 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing