We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT AIRPORT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Warm and welcoming Shuttle Drivers, Front Desk is full of Aloha, Food is excellent in the restaurant, and the room product is good. It is an excellent hotel when you are flying in and out! The pool area is nice, and it is the associates that make the hotel what it is!! Do not bother going out for dinner as the food is delicious

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
There are newer reviews for Best Western The Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

ok this is an airport hotel
it has no view and the rooms are just adequate
but they do have free shuttle back and forth to airport and decent place to eat
but DO OT expect this to be a pleasant expereince enjoying the beauty of Hawaii
it is what it is an airport notel
No view a rather bleak industrial type location and just below the h1 freeway
not much to do in the area if you have more time try book in town or Waikiki can be noisy
if you just need a spot to rest til your next flight this may work

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjmjmjmjmjmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Aloha mjmjmjmjmjmj,

Thank you for your review of your stay back in April 2013. We are appreciative you chose to stay with us back in 2013.

We do apologize we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Yes, we are an airport hotel and so there are industrial areas close to us. As you mentioned, our hotel is convenient for travelers looking for a short stay before their next flight, however our staff does provide excellent service for those guests who do stay longer.

Thank you again for staying with us and for writing a review.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Ok for what it is. An older hotel in an older part of town. Price was a bit more than what I would have expected, but considering where you are, again, it is what it is. No nice breakfast included, but there is a cafe attached that had good food at a decent price. Small beds too, but guess they'd be hard pressed to fit 2 queens in the smaller rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Zana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is the end of our vacation and we were returning from the Big Island prior to a late Friday night departure for the mainland. I chose this to avoid both the $55 (2 people) downtown shuttle fees and the much more expensive hotels

This hotel has a free 24 hour shuttle. It is accessed from the free phones in baggage claim area after you have retired your baggage. The hotel is only 5 minutes from the airport. The return shuttles happen every half hour on schedule. They do not require you to book a seat.
Check in was easy, staff including the shuttle driver were very helpful. Local maps and directions were an added front desk bonus. This hotel is near an airport and the major highway of the state. Do not expect a quiet resort atmosphere. The cost of the rooms reflects this. That being said I found the noise not bad. The pool was fine and cooling and used by many. I think a room closer to the back of the hotel would be even quieter.

I think this is an older property. That being said my room was clean and comfortable with a microwave and fridge. The furniture was newer and in good shape. The TV was a flat screen with both free and pay options. I feel Best Western has an expectation of quality for their properties and this property considering location meets that standard.

I would stay here again.

Randy S.

Room Tip: I think rooms in the back of the hotel might have less road noise.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have stayed in a lot of hotels, some good, some bad. This place is the worst I have been too. From the constant hum of the highway that rises above the hotel, to the stained and frayed carpets, to the bugs, this is not a place to stay.

My room smelled like urine that had been covered up with air freshener. The only thing that this place has going for it is that it is close to the airport.

Pro tip for the managers, replace the windows so they can be opened and the rooms aired out.

Room Tip: Here is a tip to choose a good room. Choose a different hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NEliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Aloha NEliving,

On behalf of the staff and management of Best Western the Plaza Hotel, we are appreciative of your most recent stay with us.

We would like to sincerely apologize we were not able to meet your expectations. The smell you experienced is not the quality we provide and so we will ensure this issue is addressed. The windows in the rooms are able to open and so we apologize you were unaware of this.

Thank you again for your stay and for your review as well.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Hotel served our needs - rooms were fine and not noising but the pool area and out front were on the very busy street and very noising from street traffic. Great food at the restaurant but a bit pricey

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

If you can find another hotel I would go to it instead, even if it cots more. The Parking spaces are ridiculously small even for a compact car and there are not enough spaces to accommodate all the guests. The water temperature in the shower would not stay at an exact or even close to same temperature. Internet is very slow and would kick me off repeatedly. The hotel is right next to a freeway, so expect lots of traffic noise all day and night. Staff is very nice and always say hello and ask if you need anything. Pool is well maintained and is 9' deep at one end. overall find a different hotel if possible.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Aloha Justin B,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for writing a review here on TripAdvisor.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while you were here. We did have an emergency repair we needed to address this weekend regarding the water temperature and so we apologize this affected your stay. Due to our high occupancies, we unfortunately have times where the parking is limited, but we do have 5 floors of parking. Again, we apologize we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay.

Thank you again and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honolulu
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
1,042 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
502 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
535 reviews
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Plaza Hotel

Address: 3253 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £119 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing