We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pagoda Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Equus Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,501)
Filter reviews
1,501 results
Traveller rating
376
515
355
154
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
515
355
154
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportfront deskthe shuttle driverroom attendantfree shuttlepearl harboron site restaurantcar rentalconvenient locationcorner roomparking garagehousekeeping staffmenabwliaisonhawaiihousekeeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
954 - 959 of 1,501 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Room was clean and fairly basic. Staff was friendly enough if you asked questions. They do provide a luggage storage if you need somewhere to put your stuff for the day, which was really nice. The free 24-hour airport shuttle was a huge plus.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Small, old rooms. Bad elevators. Poor quality food and service. No food available most week evenings. No late food service available. Cafe staff did not know how to use Best Western travel cards. Not a good place to stay. Hotel shuttle service was good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank sbraun0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Aloha sbraun0101,

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you for your stay in March. We are sincerely apologetic we were not able to meet your expectations.

Regarding the restaurant, though we are closed Tuesday-Thursday, our sister property the Airport Honolulu Hotel is open and our shuttle, which you mentioned was good can transfer you there and pick you up. We will look into the Best Western travel cards, as our staff is aware how to use them.

We apologize again and hope we will be able to welcome you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very busy hotel located beside the Nimitz Freeway, one can hear the highway noise day and night. Older property, hallway carpets appear dirty, rooms large and in pretty good shape. Bathrooms need remodeling, very old. Heat did not work in my room, it was 65 degrees in the room, I put the heat to 90 degrees and finally three days later the room was 70 degrees which was okay. Hotel did not have portable heaters, did bring blankets though. I had some security concerns given that from the parking garage guests go into elevators directly to the rooms. The entrance to the parking garage was a pull ticket machine, I didn't see a security attendant. However, thankfully I did not see any security problems. This is a very high traffic hotel with lots of military personnel and families staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 843cheriee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Aloha 843cheriee,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit in March.

After reading your review, both the staff and management would like to sincerely apologize we were not able to meet your expectations. We would like to apologize the cooling unit in your room did not work properly. We are currently checking on every room's unit to ensure it is working properly and so we apologize we may not have reached your room.

We are currently discussing plans to renovate a few areas of the hotel, which includes the bathrooms. Security is present on property and does partol on a very frequent basis.

We thank you again for staying with us and hope you will return to see all the great things we are working on to improve our hotel!

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The one positive comment I have is that the staff (front desk, restaurant, and housekeeping) and manager are extremely friendly.
Now for the 'not so favorable' comments:
I agree with mjmjmjmjmjmj in that this is an airport location and for that, you certainly compromise in many areas. 1) there is a restaurant on sight that has ok food, nothing fancy and certainly a premium price. 2) there is also an on-site 'convenience' store - extremely overpriced. 3) water temperature constantly changes from very cold to scalding hot for the duration of my extended stay thus far. I also spoke to other guests who are experiencing the same in their rooms as well as friends who stayed here previously. 4) fitness center access is limited due to the fitness center's proximity to guest rooms. I'm glad I did not get a room in that proximity! 5) upon arrival, we were attempting to use our very mini fridge and noticed a spoiled smell in it. We voiced our concern to the front desk but had to clean ourselves and hang a deodorizer to get rid of the smell. 6) there is a laundry facility on site as well at a per load cost of 5.25. 7) free parking garage with not enough spaces for all guests and VERY small spaces forcing many to park along the edges of the ramps causing a bad parking situation to be worse.

Room Tip: near H1 so ask for a room in the back if you are staying here. very noisy up front and in the middle.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHawaii2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent K, Manager at Best Western The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Aloha TravelHawaii2014,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us in February.

After reading your review, we sincerely apologize we were not able to meet your expectations. We are an airport hotel and our location is convenient for those who need a layover for an early morning flight. We understand the challenges and we are always looking to enhance and improve our facilities and services.

We were able to discover an issue regarding the water temperature and it has been addressed. Regarding the fitness center, it is open from 6:00am-10:00pm and so we apologize if those times did not meet your expectations. We will address the concern with our mini fridge with our staff and managers.

On behalf of the staff and management of Best Western the Plaza Hotel, we thank you for your patronage.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Warm and welcoming Shuttle Drivers, Front Desk is full of Aloha, Food is excellent in the restaurant, and the room product is good. It is an excellent hotel when you are flying in and out! The pool area is nice, and it is the associates that make the hotel what it is!! Do not bother going out for dinner as the food is delicious

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews