We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$503
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$437
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,005)
Filter reviews
1,005 results
Traveller rating
419
393
120
55
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
393
120
55
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshau treekapiolani parksans souci beachdiamond headminute walkwaikiki skylinewrap around balconyprivate beachquiet end of waikikiquiet sideocean frontquiet hotelthe main hotelconvenience storehomeless peoplethe hotel's websiterooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 1,005 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Hotels in Waikiki are generally expensive, but the New Otani provides good value for money. I would call the Kaimana beach area the quiet end of Waikiki. Still, with all the activity in Kapiolani park, the area is very active. Waikiki while fun, can feel like a tourist trap when you are in the heart of it. It is an easy walk to get into the thick of Waikiki from the New Otani, but then you get to retreat to the more local feeling Kaimana Beach/Kapiolani Park area.
Right at the foot of world famous Diamond Head, it's a short trip to the Diamond Head look out for a stunning ocean view, and it's also very close to the Diamond Head Visitors center and crater rim walk.
The hotel is right on the beach and it is a short walk to board rentals if you fancy some surfing or water activity. The small but engaging Honolulu Aquarium is practically next door, and the Honolulu Zoo is an easy walk as well. Those two places, coupled with the beach and park make the New Otani a great stay for families with children.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is next to The Colony Surf and the Outrigger Canoe Club and is in an area know as The Gold Coast next to Diamond Head. You're in walking distance to the Waikiki strip of shops and night spots along Kalakaua and the aquarium and zoo. But far away so that if you open the sliding door you can listen to the sounds of the waves at night if your room faces the beach/ocean or you can dine outside at the Hau Tree Terrace and view the ocean too for b'fast, lunch, or dinner. It's a great place to chill and re-energize the batteries!

Room Tip: ocean views are the rooms to think about since when in hawaii you wanna see the ocean and watch the sunsets...though if you're on the east side you get to see the sunrise! and feel the breeze!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iolani66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Recently stayed here for 2 weeks with family in a moderate room. Staff friendly rooms cleaned everyday. A bit of a walk into the centre of everything. Hotel is a bit dated but that didn't bother us
Beach behind hotel was amazing very clean and not crowded. Staff and management are exceptional.

Room Tip: Moderate room is a bit cramped for two but it was sufficient for us as we were hardly there.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MtAnnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We recently enjoyed a few days stop over at the New Otani Kaimana hotel. My brother and his wife have vacationed there for the last 30 years...so I had to check it out for myself! Got a corner room with spectacular views of Waikiki Beach. Lovely sitting out on the large balcony. The beach area was secluded but easy to access - we went snorkeling a few times as well right off the beach! Park and aquarium are right next door. What we particularly loved was the meals at the restaurant, Hau Tree Lanai. The breakfasts are wonderful, fresh and served in a relaxing atmosphere. Lunch and dinner are great as well but on the expensive side. All in all, a memorable experience.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, get a corner room - Ocean Waikiki Superior, I believe - rooms ending in 17 - wow views!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tdccmc95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I've been traveling to Waikiki and Oahu for the past 30 years. It's an urban beach and the hotels are always really hard to choose. Many hotels are old and not renovated, as is the New Otani. What sets this hotel apart is its location, which cannot be better if you crave to be out of hectic Waikiki, but not as far off as the north shore.

The bad:
It's an old hotel. It's in bad need of renovation in many areas, the lobby and restaurant, the elevators, and the institutional hallways. Sadly, this is the norm in Waikiki and not unusual. There is no pool. There is a laundry room, but it's small and dirty. The room rates are really astronomical considering these flaws. Parking is $24 a day and valet only. There are no beach chairs to lend or rent, only straw mats. We were surprised that the hotel didn't have more small touches in the room, like a bottle opener. The housekeeping was spotty and I had to request that the floors be vacuumed twice. I don't think they changed the sheets the entire week we were there. Dust built up. The turn down service never included a change of glasses.

The good:
The views are unbeatable! The recently renovated rooms are completely comfortable and spacious. The balcony and balcony furniture are comfortable and relaxing. The front desk and valet service is good. The beach it's located on is lovely and cannot be compared to Waikiki. We had a washlet in our bathroom (something we Japanese residents love). Besides the occasional noise associated with it's location next to the park it's balanced with the location being so green and open.

It was my first visit to the New Otani, and I could return but I'm not sure. Considering the price of $360 ++ per night for our room category, plus the parking, plus the high food costs, and the relatively depressing state of the facilities outside the room, I will definitely be thinking twice.

Room Tip: Choose the room carefully. Some are not renovated and really ancient 80's themes with mauve and green schemes.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tokyo Shirokuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews