We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$442
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$454
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$361
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,005)
Filter reviews
1,006 results
Traveller rating
419
394
120
55
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
394
120
55
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshau treekapiolani parksans souci beachdiamond headminute walkwaikiki skylinewrap around balconyprivate beachquiet end of waikikiquiet sideocean frontquiet hotelthe main hotelconvenience storehomeless peoplethe hotel's websiterooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
701 - 706 of 1,006 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We have stayed at the hotel several times. It is with quiet nice, courteous staff, and clean rooms.
The restaurant on the ground level facing the beach is a bit overpriced, especially for dinner ; the service staff can be a bit surly . There is a sushi restaurant at the hotel which we have never tried. There are some amazing ( and not touristy ) restaurants a short cab ride away on Kapahulu Ave. that offer a variety of reasonable ethnic cuisine.

The rooms can be a bit small but suggest ocean view only since the other rooms face high rises and this defeats the purpose of being in a tropical setting.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Nick2hot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

We had the most amazing time at the New Otani. I never ever wrote a hotel review in my life although me and my husband have travelled a lot and usually stay in 4 and 5 star hotels around the world. But after our trip to the New Otani I decided I had to. I chose the hotel because of a recommendation from a friend who raved about how secluded and beautiful it was although being in Honolulu. And she was right. At our arrival we were welcomed by the incredibly nice staff who even got us an upgrade for our room. The ocean view room (716) was just amazing, overlooking the sea, the secluded Sans Souci beach right in front of the hotel, Honolulu skyline and Kapiolani Park. If you stay here, get an ocean view room, it's worth it! Having breakfast and dinner (fantastic restaurant by the way!) on the lanai right at the beach without the feel of a huge resort or hotel complex - it couldn't get any better. If you like big resorts and pool areas this isn't for you. But if you want to experience this very private feel with an outstanding service, then come here. The waiters all looked like they really love their job. Isn't that what you wish for when you go out dining on your vacation - except the great food? Well, you figured it out, we enjoyed our stay there. When our flight was delayed, they even offered us a room to freshen up and stay in at no cost until we had to head to the airport at night.
Great hotel and only a 7 minute walk to Honolulu center. Definitely more than a 3-star hotel!!! Thanks to the staff for making this vacation an unforgettable one!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank coripa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

If you're looking for a hotel away from the craziness of Waikiki area stay here. The hotel is right across from the Kapiolani Park and the Sans Souci Beach is right behind the hotel. We loved the beach area - there is a lifeguard daily - there are no crowds - the beach is raked daily - you can even go snorkeling here. This is what they call a Boutique hotel - translation - the rooms are very small. We booked an ocean view room - the view was spectacular - Waikiki in the distance and to the side the beach and ocean. The air conditioning unit above the bed was a bit annoying. We did get to peak into an Ocean View Suite room while the maid was cleaning it - these are the rooms to get next time!!! Spectacular! You also get some fresh pineapple in your room upon arrival. We also got a box of chocolates because we told the front desk it was our 30th Anniversary. Now we only paid of valet parking the first night as we were too exhausted after our flight ($18) - the rest of the week we parked for free in the Kapiolani Park right outside our hotel. Now there is also meter parking on the street in front of the hotel - but there is a small road (sorry can't remember name) right to the side of the hotel where the lifeguards parking is next to the beach this is where we parked for free all week. The locals frequent this area on the weekends - so get there early if you want free parking. We loved the Hau Tree Lanai restaurant in the hotel for their food and especially for the fantastic view. Every time we ate there the staff put us at a beach front table. Very romantic. The Lounge area makes the best Mai Ti's in Hawaii and there is entertainment most nights. Getting a mat and towel were never a problem...the staff at this hotel were very nice and welcoming. The hotel does not have a pool...but the ocean is right out your door. Waikiki is a 25 minute walk from the hotel - there are a lot of trees for shade in the park but once you hit Waikiki it gets really hot! So if your looking for less crowds - free parking - great staff - beautiful views - romantic restaurant - quiet hotel - great price - close to all the major attractions stay here. I would stay here again - but I would book a Suite instead of a room. Oh ya, when we asked for an upgrade when we arrived - we didn't get one like other reviewers got that I read about - oh well...maybe next time. To get a good sense of how the hotel and rooms looks go to wizardpub.com - click on Oahu - scroll down to The New Otani Kaimana Hotel - click on it and voila - a picture of the hotel the beach - click on 'Take me there' to see the rooms. I hope this helps!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Krys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

I just returned from a week at the New Otani and overall it was a very good stay. The location is the strongest point for the hotel and mostly makes up for some weaknesses in the rooms. The hotel is located on a quiet stretch of beach slightly out of the craziness of Waikiki. It was about a 15 - 20 minute walk into shopping and the restaurants.
I had read the moderate rooms were small but wasn't prepared for just how small. You literally did not have enough space to turn around in the room! Also, I found the AC to be less than adequate. The AC was turned down on the lowest setting and it took at least 2 days for the room to cool off. Otherwise the rooms were fine and the staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelhappyWv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

I have wanted to go to Hawaii since I was a child and with help of this Hotel and its staff it was a "Dream come true". Everything was great at the hotel and the room was perfect,sea view and looking towards Waikiki beach. The beach outside of the hotel was great and the little coffee shop as you come out of the hotel did the best coffee and fresh sandwiches.
We met some wonderfull people and the staff were very helpful .
Thanks to everyone who made "our dream come true"
Patricia and Geoff Payne.Norwich England

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinkerbell56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews