We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair for its price.”
Review of Polynesian Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Polynesian Plaza
Ranked #82 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fair for its price.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is location in the very heart of Waikiki. Everywhere you would want to go is just accross the hotel. Restaurants, shopping centers etc.
are all just around the corner. We got the penthouse with kitchenette, the penthouse was really huge no doubt, toilets and bathroom are fairly clean but the problem is the kitchen. Everything is so dirty, from the utensils, plates, coffee makers and the sink! We never used any of them, i had to buy our own styro plates, chopsticks, plastic cups etc. I had to disinfect the whole kitchen amd the fridge with alcohol too. Nevertheless, Hawaii is still Hawaii whether we like the hotel or not, we simply enjoyed every single minute of our vacay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreezynButch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    51
    40
    26
    26
See reviews for
30
63
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sundsvall
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The location is great. The hotel is just at Waikiki road and beach. We had booked a room with a kitchen but she upgraded us to a bigger room with no kitchen but it worked. She just tried to be nice! Good value for the money. No romantic honeymoon but for budgettravellers or backpackers it is a great option, a little runned down.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Checkin staff were very nice. They even let us check in 3 hours early for no additional fee. We wish we had stayed here longer.
This is a small boutique hotel. I was quite surprised how good this place was, well for Honolulu anyway, as things here seem to be 20-40% more expensive than anywhere else in the US (excluding NYC). Hotels don't seem to have min bars in Honolulu, I found this strange.

Pro
- Excellent central location
- Refreshing pool, although slightly cold, as there is no afternoon sun on the pool.
- Balcony
- Small, cosy regional retreat feel,

Cons
- Out-dated rooms

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Adums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed 7 nights with my family. This hotel is very close to famous Waikiki beach and close to major shopping centres. Where can you get a 2 b/r fully a/c apartment with living room and fully equipped kitchen for $120 a night plus taxes in the peak season? AC in every room. TV in one b/r and in living room. Room serviced everyday if you like. Swimming pool is a bonus. Waikiki beach is just 500m walk. The hotel is located on main shopping & dining precinct Kalakoua Ave. Bus and trolley stop is just in the front of the hotel. Overall I had a pleasant stay. The best part was I arrived at the hotel in the morning 7:30am and they checked me in though check in time was 2pm.

Room Tip: I took room facing swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JimZhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were here for two nights starting Thanksgiving Day 2013. This hotel is right in the middle of the Waikiki Beach area, so very convenient, though the sign is very small and tucked between two retail stores, so keep an eye peeled or trust your GPS. Parking is a bit of a hassle, but it's also pretty scarce, so $20 a day isn't a bad rate. Try to get one of the in/out passes from the front desk, otherwise you'll have to pay again every time you leave and come back. The rooms are nice, with kitchenettes, which means a fridge for beer and doggie bags (we didn't do any cooking, although we could have). We also didn't use the pool, but with one of the world's great beaches a short walk away, we didn't miss it.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor away from Kalakaua Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCDaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The plaza in the central attraction area of Honolulu, you can easy to go everywehere you want whatever by car, by foot or by public transportation, There is a full equipped kitchen in the room, you can cook if you want. Many restraunt and shop around there, we are satisfied wiith our choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Newmantty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel back in 2006 when I went on my first Cruise around Hawaii to Kahului, Hilo, Kailua, an Kauai . Back to the hotel it was a nice place but a little run down an old . It was just for one day an night , it's a clean place but not that clean, an it's very good place to go see Pearl Harbor, an the bus an trolley's are at hand for a good ride to Waikiki an more.. one thing you well not be late getting to the airport. you do get a lot for your money here I like to see this hotel do some remolding I think they will do good by this. I may come back it's great for my budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franksgogetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Plaza

Property: Polynesian Plaza
Address: 2131 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2346
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Polynesian Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location! Polynesian Plaza is situated on Kalakaua Avenue and Beach Walk, the focal point of Waikiki, just one block to world-famous beaches. Comfortable studios feature private lanai balconies and fully equipped kitchenettes with a 2-burner stovetop (most), microwave, and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Polynesian Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Plaza Honolulu
Polynesian Plaza Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing