We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ala Moana Hotel Suits Me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I have just returned from another great long weekend at the Ala Moana Hotel. I have stayed there many times in the past three years.

I usually find check-in smooth. Many times the way someone is approached determines how they respond. The guest services rep did not have a pleasant appearance when it was my turn to check in last Friday afternoon, but I quickly got her to smile. I explained to her that I stay here frequently and really like the hotel. (Except for my previous stay, when I woke up at 2:00 a.m. in my one-bedroom suite and two security guards were walking around inside the living room area. Someone had committed suicide by jumping off a balcony in my stack of rooms and they said they were trying to find out who it was and when I didn't answer my door, they let themselves in. The suite double doors do not have an inside security lock on them. This time, I lodged a chair against the doors at night.) I also told her that there are, however, some negative reviews of the Ala Moana Hotel on TripAdvisor. She agreed that there are some issues that upset guests, especially the all too common parking problem. I told her I never have that problem, since I don't have a car! Her attitude quickly changed and when I left the counter, she was quite pleasant, smiling and joking.

Overall, I like staying at the Ala Moana Hotel. It's away from Waikiki but when you want the beach, ocean and crowds, you can walk toward the Hawaiian Hilton Resort and Spa in about 15 minutes and have those things. The Ala Moana Hotel has a walkway from its second floor to the Ala Moana Mall, where there is great shopping and wonderful restaurants.

I would recommend the Ala Moana Hotel for a quieter, business style trip. Because of its location and atmosphere, I definitely would not stay there for my Hawaiian vacation but if you are going to an event at the Convention Center only, it is a good choice.

Room Tip: Kona Tower rooms are very small with poor views. Do not take a room near an ice machine (very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TerryJaxBchFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,174 - 2,180 of 3,160 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

The hotel mentioned above is very clean and the service requirement was great,we actually rented a room through Albi rentals for six days and we stayed on the 32nd floor,which is the cheaper way to go for a tight budget.
The view was spectacular and the shopping centre close by is very handy,with a food court etc, all in all we had a very lovely stay at this hotel and would say it is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: One room is adequite for family of four for a few days before you fall over yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AucklandGarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The hotel was clean and well kept, but the services available were a disappointment. Pool closed promptly at 7pm, and guests were not allowed near the pool area after that time. We really wanted to sit by the pool and watch the beautiful sunset. Hotel restaurant was only open for breakfast. Hotel bar only open Th-Fri-Sat after 9pm. We felt rather exiled. Service staff was formal and distant. We will not be back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Name_Withheld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

As the title reveals, if you stay in the Ala Moana hotel you are risking having items go "missing." I called the housekeeping staff director and he didn't care. Never even called me back. Then I reported it to management and they didn't care either. The manager didn't even come out to talk to me or anything. The receptionist simply said, "Oh, Sorry!." So, I filed an in house hotel report, which clearly is going to go nowhere. So, beware of this hotel! I would never recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed for 11 days at Ala Moana on vacation in glorious Hawaii. Double room was spacious with two queen size beds, table and 2 chairs and long desk, balcony w/table and chairs, frig, microwave and coffee maker. Front desk staff, housekeeping, and garage staff were delightful, helpful, and friendly. Hotel is adjacent to Ala Moana shopping mall and about 3 blocks from ocean/Ala Moana state park (which has beautiful views of Diamond Head). Took about 15 minutes to walk to Hilton and start of Waikiki beach. Parking was $20. a night and easy in and out. This is a busy hotel with lots of foot traffic. Only downside was the main concierge - a tall blonde - with the personality of a condescending prison guard. Each time I asked her a question e.g., for directions, a reservation, (standard concierge stuff) she was rude, rude, rude. Lord knows why she's in that job as it makes the hotel and Hawaii look bad. Otherwise, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afirsttimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This hotel was a great base for us to experience Waikiki without the noise. Hotel is clean, safe and friendly. Travel desk is helpful and not pushy and all good tour companies will pick up from hotel. Only comment would be that it would be nice to be able to swim in the pool past the dusk closing time but I'm sure the management have a good reason for this.

Room Tip: room with balcony gives best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The price was good ($100 a night), but I think there are better choices! Look on a map and see where this hotel is located. A little too far to enjoy the Waikiki area and beaches. It is connected to the ala moana mall, convenient if you want to shop, but there are SO MANY other, better things to do!!!! There are lots of hotels right on Kalakaua -or a few blocks behind- that are just a short walk from the bars/restaurants, shops and beaches of gorgeous Waikiki!!
Also, I thought the staff was rude. The hotel is 2 different towers and there are 2 different elevators...You must get on the right one or you will never find your room!! The check-in staff does not tell you this and you are left to drag your luggage around and figure it out yourself! I felt this was terribly inconsiderate!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,920 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
638 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,534 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4730
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: £110 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honolulu’s landmark hotel is beside the world’s largest open-air shopping mall, and a short stroll to the inviting waters of the Pacific. Choose from over 1000 rooms, each with free WiFi and either mountain, city or ocean views. Some larger suites also include kitchen facilities. A host of dining options exist within the hotel, including a restaurant on the 36th floor and its own nightclub and bar. Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra also offers nearly 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, up to nine meeting rooms and WiFi and satellite conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Moana Hotel By Mantra Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing