We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where US Airways sends me each time the cancel or overbook my flight.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This is where US Airways sends me each time the cancel or overbook my flight.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I am more of a low key Windward Oahu dweller, but, must admit... it's fun in Waikiki. I've stayed at Ala Moana twice in the past 8 months and both times as a result of US Airways overbooking a flight or underbooking a flight crew.
It's been free for me so I don't think about how much I paid only to hear jackhammering at the Ala Moana Center parking lot, or how old and worn the bed spread is. I've had two very different rooms on each stay. In July 2013 was tucked away in a room with a view of another tall building and a parking lot. Unimpressive really. This time I'm in a corner unit with a balcony and a king bed. The view is beautiful and I can even glimpse a sliver ocean and diamond head. This makes up for the fact that I found a half consumed ice cream shake (not mine) in the refrigerator and felt compelled to sweep up all the hair (also not mine) in the bathroom before using it. Keeping my sense of humor.
My delay has me here for two days this time so I'm able to enjoy the pool and exercise room and look around at the shops. A very nice experience and I'm grateful not to be stuck at the airport for 48 hours.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank travel.mella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    1,084
    585
    181
    155
See reviews for
662
637
296
679
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I traveled to Oahu for a quick 1 night getaway. Booked a package through Panda Travel and opted for this hotel. This was the first time I have stayed in the Kona Tower, and it wasnt bad at all. Nothing fancy, and the bathroom was very small. All in all however, it was decent enough to sleep in. The only complaint was that you could hear everything going on in the hallways, doors slamming, people getting on and off the elevator, and people talking as they passed. Not the best thing for the end to a romantic night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waisaipapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I enjoyed this hotel due to its location and simplistic rooms. Rooms came with great amenities that helped us with our week long stay (microwave & refrigerator). Staff was friendly and helpful whenever they were called upon. Luckily this was a great way to rebound from a previous bad experience with a different hotel. Parking was quick and easy. Highly recommended!

If you stay here be sure to walk down to the Ala Moana Park to watch the sunset. You get great views of Honolulu, Waikiki, and Diamond Head.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OaklandAs1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris County, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

High Rise hotel next to the mall where you can shop until you drop. We stayed here because our flight was delayed. The front desk was swamped with passengers from our flight the day we were supposed to take off to head home to JFK which was closed from a winter storm. We ended up with a beautiful corner room on the 7th floor with a balcony overlooking the mall parking lot, and the Ala Wai Boat Harbor and ocean beyond.

The postage stamp room served our needs for one night. The comfortable bed took up most of the room. We laughed at the HUGE tv on the dresser. Sliders opened onto a generous lanai with city, harbor, ocean views and city sounds.

The room had a safe, small noisy refrigerator and microwave. The huge bathroom had plenty of counters and a deep tub. All in all an elegant hotel close to the convention center and mall with easy access to Waikiki.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors to get away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njaloha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stay at the Ala Moana every year for a week to holiday and relax. Sure the decor is looking a little dated but it is all about location and tradition for me. This week there is a conference in town so the hotel is very busy. However, what I was not warned about is the noise from the Ala Moana Mall parking lot resurfacing work. There are about 5 jack hammers operating from 9:00-5:00 everyday and boy do they make some noise. Makes it really unpleasant to spend any time out on the deck of this ocean view suite. Granted, you really don't want to spend a lot of time in your room, however paying top dollar without any warning of what is going on makes it extremely challenging to enjoy the week stay here. For those who have reservations at this property, it doesn't look like this jack hammering will be ending anytime soon.

Room Tip: Don't take an ocean view corner room until the Ala Moana mall parking lot construction is finish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rudder787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have been staying at the Ala Moana for 5-6 years, usually for a long weekend in February, and have usually found it to be clean, friendly and convenient. It is close enough to the bustle of Waikiki to get there in a comfortable walk, but far enough to avoid the crowds. Being adjacent to the Ala Moana Mall is a tremendous plus with all its shops and restaurants. There is a significant difference in the room size, views and atmosphere in the two hotel towers. Stay in the Waikiki Tower in preference to the Kona Tower.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2bears93442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We haven't even checked in yet, after getting married in Honolulu in January and traveling the States for a month, we were looking at a nice relaxing stay close to the shops. Perfect location and lobby looks great. On a really hot day we are trying to check in. First lady was lovely and said to come back as room wasn't ready. Fair enough. We come back a few hours later to get told. Check in is at 3. Asked to use the pool as it is really hot and got told no. Bell desk rolled their eyes at me when I asked to check bags in and didn't speak a word to us. I don't even want to check in now. Dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank usahoneymoon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
497 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,884 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
287 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Property: Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4730
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Moana Hotel By Mantra Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing