We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel, close to shops and transport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“nice hotel, close to shops and transport”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Good rates, the room was a little small for 4 but we were ok. no spa bath in pool area and the pool closed early both nights we stayed. happy hour in restaurants was good value. free Wi-Fi in rooms was a bonus.large hotel but staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdonBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    976
    518
    165
    139
See reviews for
532
573
272
585
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Awaiting a recent Hawaiian Cruise, we stayed one night at the Ala Moana Hotel in Honolulu, which I chose because it was close to the Pier we would be leaving from and attached by a walk way to Ala Moana Shopping Center. This made it convenient to walk to the shopping center to do any last minute shopping or enjoy a quick meal before leaving. The room we stayed in was very small but well maintained. This hotel is possibly best for business travelers who will be spending very little time in their room or in Honolulu.
For these reasons, however, I would not recommend this hotel especially if you are planning on spending any time in Honolulu:
1. The hotel staff was very unfriendly, even rude at the front desk and in the restaurants. The only pleasant staff member we met was the concierge who willingly lent me assistance in preparing our luggage for the cruise.
2. The television in our room had a horrendous, fuzzy picture even though it appeared to be a newer model HD. It had to warm up for several minutes before the picture was semi-clear enough to watch.
3. The restaurants in the hotel were not willing or accommodating to prepare meals for take to our room after a very long, tiring day traveling. In particular, the staff at the asian restaurant were quite rude responding to our request.
4. There was no where in the hotel, (other than the small in room coffee maker) to buy coffee in the morning. My husband had to walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center for coffee, which had cooled significantly by the time he returned to the room.
5. There were no restaurants in the hotel that could accommodate lunch prior to leaving for the cruise.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roberta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Spent 5 days at this hotel in Oahu. Price much less than resorts hotel a few minutes walk away from this hotel, but this hotel is not a resort hotel. Room was clean and although not large, they are roomy. Room had small balcony with view of the sea. Ask for room on high floor to get away from street noise. Hotel next to large shopping mall and buses to the rest of Honolulu and the rest of the island. Staff was helpful and courteous. One block away from Hawaii convention center. Pool area is funcional but not memorable. I would recommend this hotel for business travelers and for people who spend more time away from the hotel ejoying Oahus other destinations, than for people who use the hotel as the destination.

Room Tip: High floors have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I am more of a low key Windward Oahu dweller, but, must admit... it's fun in Waikiki. I've stayed at Ala Moana twice in the past 8 months and both times as a result of US Airways overbooking a flight or underbooking a flight crew.
It's been free for me so I don't think about how much I paid only to hear jackhammering at the Ala Moana Center parking lot, or how old and worn the bed spread is. I've had two very different rooms on each stay. In July 2013 was tucked away in a room with a view of another tall building and a parking lot. Unimpressive really. This time I'm in a corner unit with a balcony and a king bed. The view is beautiful and I can even glimpse a sliver ocean and diamond head. This makes up for the fact that I found a half consumed ice cream shake (not mine) in the refrigerator and felt compelled to sweep up all the hair (also not mine) in the bathroom before using it. Keeping my sense of humor.
My delay has me here for two days this time so I'm able to enjoy the pool and exercise room and look around at the shops. A very nice experience and I'm grateful not to be stuck at the airport for 48 hours.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank travel.mella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I traveled to Oahu for a quick 1 night getaway. Booked a package through Panda Travel and opted for this hotel. This was the first time I have stayed in the Kona Tower, and it wasnt bad at all. Nothing fancy, and the bathroom was very small. All in all however, it was decent enough to sleep in. The only complaint was that you could hear everything going on in the hallways, doors slamming, people getting on and off the elevator, and people talking as they passed. Not the best thing for the end to a romantic night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waisaipapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I enjoyed this hotel due to its location and simplistic rooms. Rooms came with great amenities that helped us with our week long stay (microwave & refrigerator). Staff was friendly and helpful whenever they were called upon. Luckily this was a great way to rebound from a previous bad experience with a different hotel. Parking was quick and easy. Highly recommended!

If you stay here be sure to walk down to the Ala Moana Park to watch the sunset. You get great views of Honolulu, Waikiki, and Diamond Head.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OaklandAs1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

High Rise hotel next to the mall where you can shop until you drop. We stayed here because our flight was delayed. The front desk was swamped with passengers from our flight the day we were supposed to take off to head home to JFK which was closed from a winter storm. We ended up with a beautiful corner room on the 7th floor with a balcony overlooking the mall parking lot, and the Ala Wai Boat Harbor and ocean beyond.

The postage stamp room served our needs for one night. The comfortable bed took up most of the room. We laughed at the HUGE tv on the dresser. Sliders opened onto a generous lanai with city, harbor, ocean views and city sounds.

The room had a safe, small noisy refrigerator and microwave. The huge bathroom had plenty of counters and a deep tub. All in all an elegant hotel close to the convention center and mall with easy access to Waikiki.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors to get away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njaloha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.3 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.8 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
1.0 mi away
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
1.3 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Property: Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4730
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotelopia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Moana Hotel By Mantra Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing