We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ala Moana Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I was here for a conference. The hotel is convenient to a large shopping centre, and a short walk to the start of Waikiki Beach. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The check-in and check-out were very swift. The rooms are clean. The pool is on a large deck, with nice winds to cool the pool experience. If I was back for a conference i would have no problem staying here, if I was vacationing I would be beside the beach.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank StobKent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    901
    466
    149
    128
See reviews for
463
535
253
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

On first impressions, this is an unassuming hotel, but once you have entered there is a lovely spacious lounge and reception area. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable and we had a good view of the sea despite being quite far back from it. This hotel is fantastic if you just want a few days shopping at Ala Moana before carrying onto another island. There is a walkway that goes from the hotel to the Ala Moana shopping centre where you find all the shops and many restaurants that you could want. This hotel is about 10 minutes walk up the road to the Waikiki beach at Hilton Hawaiian village. We found our stay very pleasant here and would not hesitate to use it again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Was pleasantly surprised with all the renovations done. Went for conference so it was super convenient. Didn't need a car since everything we needed, food, shopping, was a quick walk to Ala Moana Center. Rooms were nice and quiet. Stayed in the main tower and we'd do that again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kramer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

For those who like to shop and be centrally located, this works. The one disappointment was having to pay for our boarding passes. Most hotels that I have been in provide a business center which will allow for guests to print out their boarding passes. Parking is a challenge and expensive.

Room Tip: If there is a long check in line - wait until line disappears for better service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyohu
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Basic amenities.
Thin walls , I could hear the guy next door snoring .
Get a high room away from the street club/noise.
Ive stayed here a number of times and the TV/remote 1/2 the time doesn't work well ( if at all)
Good location next to shopping mall.
Staff are friendly but not really interested. Sometimes long queues at the reception.....check out early.
Short walk across busy roads to the beach. Easy walk.

Best is the top floor bar , check it out in happy hour.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank tokyohu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Ala Moana Hotel for two nights while on a visit to Honolulu from the Big Island. We choose it because if had a convenient location that was not in the tourist ghetto of Waikiki Beach and because it offered rooms at a price that was only marginally higher than places we knew we that we would find too down market.

The room we were given was clean but small. It's best feature was the deep bath tub. Unfortunately, there was a constant hum perhaps from the HVAC system that trouble our first night's sleep and never really faded into the background.

Mostly what disconcerted us was the absence of real friendliness from the staff whose job involved direct contact with guests. Though nobody was rude, almost everybody seemed trained to operate efficiently rather than warmly. The only exception was the bar tender at the Signature Restaurant on the top floor. He probably hadn't read the memos from management.

I understand that Honolulu is a big city, and that the Ala Moana serves as more of a business hotel than a tourist venue, but come on, Hawai'i and aloha go hand in hand.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackpackerNoMore62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Oaks, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is decent, clean hotel with nice rooms. The location next to the Ala Moana Center is great for shopping and the Convention Center is just a block away. It is heavily used by flight crews. The hotel has a cold feel although its common spaces are very open. The major problem for those arriving from the mainland on evening flights is that on weekdays, all the food and the bar was closed by 10pm. There is really nothing right by it for meals. The Waikiki strip center is about 1.5 miles away. We used it as a base of operations to tour the island for three days. It worked well. If we were concentrating on Waikiki we would stay at a more centrally located hotel as we did last time. The breakfast buffet was good better than the Royal Kona not as special as the Westin on Maui.

Room Tip: Get a room with partial ocean view they are a nice balance of cost and view. Go for the larger of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Moana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel

Property: Ala Moana Hotel
Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4730
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu
Ala Moana Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing