We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ala Moana Hotel via Luxury Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Ala Moana Hotel via Luxury Suites”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed at the Ala Moana Hotel via Luxury Suites because the advertised rate was 30% lower. Luxury Suites? This company manages units in this hotel that are privately owned but are available for rent to the public. Check-in and out is at the Ala Moana Hotel's front desk but housekeeping, etc., is not handled by hotel personnel but contracted by Luxury Suites. Because of this, my unit was not up to the standards of the hotel's regular units. There was no shower mat, the soap was not wrapped (it was used by the previous guest, yikes!), the phone book was several years old, shower handle pulled off easily and the toilet tissue dispenser was broken off the wall. Definitely not what I expected. / The hotel itself has been renovated and very comfortable. For non-tourists. This is a great location. It is located adjacent to the Ala Moana Shopping Center which is Hawaii's largest and boasts a large number of stores and restaurants. There's a large food court for the budget traveler. Ala Moana Beach Park is just two blocks away so walking to the beach is a snap. If you're looking for tourist action, hula shows and the like, you would need to take a cab or drive to Waikiki which is a 1 - 2 miles away. Warning, rush hour traffic is horrific so plan accordingly. All in all, except for the issues mentioned which you should not encounter if you booked directly with the Ala Moana Hotel, this is a great and convenient hotel to stay. If you're playing tourist, I would suggest you stay at a hotel in or near Waikiki where the beach, nightlife and shopping are all in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    1,124
    606
    192
    157
See reviews for
713
661
309
703
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Clean rooms, hawaiian and flowerful decoration and GREAT location for shopping and restaurants. Attached to the huge Ala Moana Mall. Nice breakfast with a variety of fresh fruits. Not noisy at all. If you feel like, it is a long walk to Waikiki, though not bad at all and entertaining with a gorgeous hawaiian weather.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickTambosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMHGM, Manager at Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Mahalo for staying with us and taking the time to share your kind words. Hurry back soon.

Warmest Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is your basic average hotel, around 3 stars. Have everything you need no frills or whistles.
We were on the 14th floor with a mountain view in the tower. We had no problems with anything.
The breakfast at the Plantation Café is over priced, but so is everything in Hawaii. They don't have room service. Which I didn't realize before. They do have microwave and refrigerator in the room.
Staff is ok, not rude but not super friendly. You can walk to Wakiki beach and shops. restaurants in that area. It's connected to Ala Moana shopping mall which is Hugh and has just about every name brand store, with lots of restaurants. Internet is free. But you have to pay at the business center if you want to print your boarding pass. Has a convenient store and two restaurants in the hotel itself.

Oh, this is the hotel where all the airline people stays, so lots of flight attendants, pilots, etc. therefore it can't be that bad. Airlines have been using this hotel for years. much cheaper than other hotels closer to Wakiki beach. If you have kids, I guess to 10 mins walk to the beach might be too much.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade and stay in Wakiki Tower, 9th floor or higher. But must still ensure that you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spicegylworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMHGM, Manager at Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Mahalo for taking the time to provide feedback. We are negotiating with a new business center provider who offers complimentary boarding pass printing. Please hurry back and give us another opportunity to host you and sample the improvements we have made.

Warmest Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights of our 11 day honeymoon in Hawaii. Disappointment doesn't cover it. I've stayed at Motel 6s that had bigger and more comfortable beds. My wife actually cried after we checked in because she couldn't believe how poor the accommodations were for the package that we booked for our honeymoon. My only compliment is that the refrigerator and microwave worked well. Otherwise, this place is a 2 star at best. Construction noise at 6 am and a pool that is open despite construction workers working with power tools in earshot, this place is the epitome of a tourist trap!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Horvat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMHGM, Manager at Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are so sorry we disappointed you on such an important occasion. I have shared your comments with the staff here and we will address those items within our control.

Warmest Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

USA
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed several nights here. Mixed feelings.location good,especially if you like to. Shop.near beach and waterside park. Key card system for elevator cumbersome and many lights out so not sure one was going to your floor. Really strange in this day and age is not having a free computer access to get flight boarding passes. Room wifi included but needed to use business center to get boarding passes-high cost for both computer time and for printing.have been there both for pleasure and business and this is strange. Staff generally quite friendly. Breakfast buffet atotel only fair quality though many choices.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMHGM, Manager at Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Mahalo for your comments and for allowing us to host you, we are negotiating with a new business center provider who provides complimentary boarding pass printing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We arrived just after noon. We live on another island in Hawaii, and we weren't in Honolulu just to shop and hang out at the beach. OK, I know the room might not be ready until 3pm. That's understandable and a stated policy. But the lady Iwalani at check-in was somewhere between matter-of-fact and unpleasant, told us we could go to the mall, and then abruptly called "Next!" to dismiss us. It wasn't a good start. Don't expect a lot of aloha from Iwalani. After mostly just sitting and shopping at the adjacent mall, we returned at 2:30 and a much nicer and friendly lady Barbara got us into our room with a smile.

We were on the 9th floor, which is about where you want to be. The view is OK and the elevator time is short. Stay in Waikiki Tower. Others in our group in the Kona part didn't have rooms as nice or new. All appliances worked well; the room and bathroom were clean; and the wifi connection worked well enough to stream video, although we did have to re-log in more often than once every 24 hours,

The swimming pool is excellent. Salt water. Clean. Warm. It closes at sunset, however.

$20/24-hour parking for guests is a rip-off that added $40 to our final bill. But this is Honolulu, so one must just assume such costs.

The location is a bit bipolar: It's only about a 15-minute walk at most to the southeast to the posh part of Waikiki, although with small kids be advised this involves negotiating a complicated and busy intersection. Just to the north of the hotel, however, and even in view from north-facing rooms, are lots of strip clubs, massage parlors, men hanging around in groups on the sidewalk in front of a convenience store, etc. We happened to walk that way once -- not again! -- because our daughter wanted KFC and that's the direction it lies in. She's personally seen poverty in Third World countries before, but it was still not pleasant walking by garbage piles and a couple people who were engaged in spirited, angry conversations with invisible partners.

Food. Four local options: 1) Food court at mall. 2) Spend fortune in hotel. 3) Spend bigger fortune in posher Waikiki hotels and restaurants down the road. 3) Expose your family to the sights, sounds and smells of the homeless on the way to a kind of Asian strip mall where KFC is; 4) be part of a group that has meals otherwise arranged. We had option 4. You probably won't.

We had a decent group rate for this trip. Maybe we would stay there again if we had to pay the regular price, but one friend got the same rate at a hotel right on Waikiki beach, so we'll certainly shop around first.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Centrally located and just great! For a mid-range hotel, we were pleasantly surprised. Rooms were small but clean and quiet. The lobby is open air and staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. There's coffee in the mornings and juice in the afternoons in the lobby. The ABC store is on the first floor with LuLu's restaurant on the 2nd floor! The pool is crisp and clean, also with a view of the beach. See my review of LuLu's. Went there too many times, but all were well worth the trip. Heading back to the Ala Moana next week. See you folks again!

Room Tip: Definitely choose ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paigetex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.3 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
1.8 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Property: Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4730
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Moana Hotel By Mantra Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing