We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, friendly and not expensive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Staff is very friendly and helpful: we stayed at this hotel both before and after going to Kauaii island, but we reserved just for the first part. The staff helped us finding a room for the second half of our stay at the same conditions of the first one (it was a deluxe room).

The hotel is very well located, just 2 blocks from the beach and not directly on the main streets, so it is quiet and silent. It is very modern and rooms are clean and nice.

We had found a good discount for the hotel thanx to ckeckin in in foursquare, so I think that overall price for quality rate was really good!

The only think I did not like too much was breakfast: not a lot of choice and in a very small and stinky room. Anyways, Starbucks and alikes are just around the corner, and as I said, the price for the room was really good (90 USD for a double room), so I will not lower my rating for that!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaRaksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Aloha "SaRaksha",
Thank you so much for staying with us twice during your recent Hawaiian Island Adventure. I am glad we were able to provide a relaxing refreshing experience for you both before and after you went to beautiful Kauai.
I hope you come and stay with us again soon.
Take Care,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

Friendly, very clean, a nice size room, steps away from the center of Waikiki, but just enough distance not to be noisy. We loved our stay here and will definitely return.
Mike & Kawita

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacy421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Aloha "Stacy421",
Mahalo for staying with us on your recent getaway to Waikiki. I am so glad we were able to contribute to a successful trip for you.
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Great staff, very friendly and helpful. We arrived at 9am after a red-eye fro Fiji, and they had all 3 of our rooms ready by 10am (check-in is officially 3). We checked out the next morning, and they held our bags no charge all day (and charged up our phones at the front desk) until we picked everything up for our next red-eye. Since we arrived early, they also gave us two free breakfasts for staying one night. Outstanding! Food was good, coffee good, mattresses comfortable, showers hot, a/c worked, lobby WI-FI fast, no complaints. After unrelated very stressful travel upsets, this hotel was a welcome relief. Thank you Aqua Aloha!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Aloha "BlakeJ",
I am so glad we were able to help you and your group get some much needed rest and relaxation. If I am correct, you were the group of Fisherman from BC who were on a South Pacific fishing adventure and had the only (once a week) flight to honolulu cancelled. So you needed to re route and find a way to go through Fiji to get home. I must tell you I was Jealous. As a fishrman myself I was envious of your adventure. Not the messed up flights part.
I am glad we were able to accomodate you and your crew.
Come back again soon and we can talk fishing again.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Aqua Aloha Surf is a very nicely updated older hotel just a few blocks from the beach at Waikiki. We got a "deluxe" room, which was a corner room on the 9th floor. Our balcony looked out over other hotel/apartment balconies, but the front window had a nice city view with a wedge of ocean thrown in. There was a micro/fridge/bar sink, king size bed and sofa in a fair sized room. The room also has a safe and a decent bathtub. On the down side it was very noisy. With the windows and door open you got a nice breeze and the room was comfortable, but the city sounds came right in. You could cut the noise about in half by shutting the door and windows but the air conditioner was even worse than the city noise. The free breakfast had few healthy options - pancakes, sweet dessert things, sugared cereals, very limited fruit selection and the slowest toaster on the planet. That being said, we enjoyed our stay and definately got our money's worth in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Definately get deluxe. I think some of the suites have nice views of the mountains and they may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opera_lover054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Aloha "Opera_Lover054",
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki.

Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had a great stay here! Staff was very friendly, and the rooms were nice and very clean. Nolin at the front desk was awesome! I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Aloha "KelliL",
Mahalo for selecting us for your recent visit to Waikiki. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on trip advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Aloha
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We picked this hotel because it was one of the most cost effective that included breakfast daily. While the hotel was really nice and the staff were accommodating the breakfast definately was not a reason to stay there. They only charge about $4 a day if ppl want the breakfast and arent in the hotel so that gives u an idea of what it was like.
The rooms were clean and comfortable though the tvs small. The location was excellent for walking to the centre of town and Waikiki beach.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel have a better view from the balcony unless you are above floor 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Aloha "JeanetteE",
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I appreciate your feedback. I am sorry the continental breakfast was not to your liking. I will share your feedback with the restaurant owner who provides the breakfast for us.
Mahalo and have a great day,.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Went for our honeymoon; special package was bubbly wine and stale chocolates. We got a room upgrade which is only a bit more square footage than what we had paid foor.
had a cockroach in our room, but this comes with the climate. the carpets and sofa were stained. The curtain was ripped and did not fully close. The lanai was nice, but the view not so much. The area is quiet. The gym only has three pieces of equipment, outdoors (no air con). The breakfast is NOT good. If you like waffles, you can have them everyday because it's pretty much the only thing being served.
the massage at the spa was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissForv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Aloha "MissForv",
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I appreciate your feedback. I am sorry your honeymoon stay at the Aloha Surf wasn't everything you dreamed it would be. Our goal is to provide true value for our guests in a relaxing and fun atmosphere. I am sorry we were not able to achieve that goal for you. Please know that we will use your feedback in our ongoing effort to grow and improve.
Best Wishes,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.1 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
682 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
1,224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: £97 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Interent throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. Self Parking is $25 daily. Note: Oversized vehicles will not fit in the hotel parking garage. If you have what you believe may be an oversized vehicle, please call the hotel to confirm whether the garage can accommodate the vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing