We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for a cheap holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in Nov. Room(partial city view 8th floor) was a little dated but overall clean & welcoming. service daily.Bed was comfy, staff were courteous & the room was reasonably quiet at night. location says it all- walking distance to everything worth seeing. would definitely stay here again & would highly recommend to anyone wanting clean cheap accommodation.Tuesdays managers night special was a bonus!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaz196413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Aloha "Shaz196423",
Thank you for staying with us during your trip in May. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here at trip advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I looked for weeks for a hotel we liked and we finally decided on this ONE!!! We loved the location, the beach is only few minutes away, great restaurants, they provide you with beach towels, they have a pool, its basically close to everything and we even had an amazing couples massage. This hotel is a hidden gem!! Ooh....not to mention the room.....comfortable bed, we had a great view of diamond head & a ocean view, we had stayed on the 15th floor! do not over look this hotel. Don't let the negative reviews mislead you.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojoperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Aloha "Jojoperez",
I am so glad you found us. I am glad we were able to contribute to a relaxing, fun getaway for you and your boyfriend.
We appreciate your patronage and I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on trip advisor.
Come back and stay with us again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed May 2012 for 3 nights prior to a cruise. Arrived in the afternoon around 3. 2 parties ahead checking in. I agree with others that said the front staff were not friendly, however they were efficient.
Our room was small and that is fine as we were not there to spend time in a hotel. It was a bed!
Location to us was great, 5 minute walk to the beach and all the shops/restaurants were around the same!
I would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucky_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Aloha "Bucky_101",
Mahalo for staying with us prior to your cruise.
I appreciate your honest feedback about the service you recieved at our front desk. We truly appreciate our guests. I am working with our people to ensure they convey that in every encounter with our/their guests.
We are always working to improve.
Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

When we arrived we got there about 1:30pm and the lobby was crowded as a lot of tourists had just came off a cruise ship and it was chaos in the lobby, obviously our room wasn't ready my only complaint is we where told we would be called and it was pretty obvious this wouldn't happen due to the fact staff started dealing with customers who arrived after 3pm, so I had to get in line again and had to complain as quite a few older customers thought their age excused them the need to queue, we got in our room a little after 4pm we got room 1509 and it had a great view of the mountains, overall our checkin experience was not great but not actual staff's fault as their was no way this hotel seemed prepared for such a large influx of guests, also if we hadn't already stayed at hotel we wouldn't have been aware of the free internet or the free coffee as it wasn't mentioned at checkin

We used the laundry room in our 10 day stay and it was okay the staff where helpful, we never ate at hotel although breakfast buffet was still $4.95 each and dinner buffet was $13.95, we did get a couple of hot dogs one day they where huge for only $1.50 and the bread was fresh, Edwards Cafe on site opened rarely despite the sign showing their hours, don't really see why the hotel allow a tenant that doesn't enhance the hotel at all, on our arrival they would have done a roaring trade as the lobby was full of people waiting but it remained close, we also used the pool area it is small but clean and nice to relax in, the internet went down once in our 10 days for a few hours so it was pretty reliable,house keeping was good and reliable and also said hello,we attended the Tuesday Reception it was nice and the staff where friendly, wipeout cocktail was plentiful, and the entertainment was nice as well, we did have someone try to get into our room 1 night due to fact they had been given wrong room number by check in staff we did get a call to apologize for this incident, at check out I was disappointed that the girl at the desk never asked if we enjoyed our stay or even hoped we would return, overall we had a great room,a good stay and would return my only complaint be a little more personal with the guests who don't complain

Room Tip: ask for a high room also a deluxe room is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highlander447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Aloha "Highlander447",
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again here at the Aqua Aloha Surf.
We appreciate your loyal patronage.
I apologize for the chaos that you encountered upon your arrival. That was by far the busiest day I have ever seen here at the Aloha Surf.
We had so many guests arriving off of the Cruise ship from Australia. They were a very friendly fun loving group. But there sure were a lot of them. Our staff did their best to deal with the large influx of guests.
I apologize for any delays in service you encountered.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The Aqua Aloha Surf was just what we were looking for in a Waikiki hotel. It was centrally located so we were able to walk every evening all over Waikiki. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was just right. We upgraded to a Superior with a King bed and got a corner room with a lanai. For staying eight days, we never felt cramped in our room. There is always city noise in Waikiki, so don't expect quiet. We were on the 9th floor which gave us a glimpse of the ocean and a view of a lot of buildings, but that was fine for us. Our bed was comfortable, and we appreciated having the mini-refrigerator and microwave for our use. Manager's Welcome Party on Tuesday evening was a treat. We loved the ukelele player and enjoyed the hosted "Blue Wave" drinks as we met other travellers in our hotel. Parking for our rental car was $20 a night, which we hadn't anticipated. We learned to get back to our hotel by 5:30 - 6:00 pm in order to secure a parking spot at the hotel, and then we walked in the evenings. They, unfortunately, only have about 30 or so parking spots available, so if it's full, you have to find parking somewhere else in the area. The continental breakfast is served by an independent business in the morning and is mostly just carbs (pancakes, oatmeal, toast, pastries) with hard-boiled eggs being served every third day, but it filled the spot for a while. We appreciated the hotel's coffee and tea machine that is available 24 hours. The rate we got for our room was excellent, everything was clean and nice, and we definitely will stay with Aloha Surf again when we return to Waikiki.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomanticAuburnites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Aloha "Romantic Auburnites",
Mahalo for staying with us on your recent visit to Waikiki.
I am so glad we were able to contribute to a relaxing and refreshing vacation for you.
I hope you will return to visit us again soon.
Tim Clark,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The Aqua Aloha Surf is an older property on a quiet side street. The solid construction means quiet rooms, and the location puts you a convenient couple of blocks from the main part of what's left of Waikiki Beach and its mayhem, without forcing you to be part of it. There are quieter walks and jogs available along the Canal, down to Kapiolani Park.

Rooms are compact but functional, with good beds and bathrooms. There are decent views from the small upper-story balconies, and the fridge, microwave, coffee maker and dishes provided allow you to eat in if you care to.

The included breakfast is very weak, but it's a start. The pool is also insignificant, but there's always the beach if you want to get wet.

Staff and management make a solid and generally very successful effort to provide plenty of Aloha, with one glaring exception, a desk guy named Lance. When we checked in late at night after a long flight, he was busily screwing up two other parties, even though the solution to their problems was obvious to me after a minute of listening. When his victims took time out to confer with each other, I showed him my voucher, and asked for a registration form. He snapped back that he was helping these other people, which was the opposite of the truth, so I turned to one couple, asked if I'd understood the problem, and suggested the obvious solution, which was adopted. Then someone in an upper room called, obviously repeating a complaint about noisy neighbors, and Lance snapped at him. Finally, he managed to check us in.

When we were checking out to catch an early flight to Asia a few days later, there was Lance again. We had prearranged a shuttle with the concierge, and I asked him to confirm which company's shuttle we were booked on, so we could watch for it. He gave us the wrong information, and when a shuttle driver came to the lobby shouting "Airport", my wife went and checked with Lance, who snapped that it wasn't the right company. When our supposed shuttle was 15 minutes late, the real concierge arrived, and it turned out that Lance had given us the wrong info, and sent our shuttle away. Fortunately, it was still making its rounds, and picked us up in time to catch our flight to Taipei.

A desk clerk should be able to reason and multitask without turning snippy and snarly, but Lance couldn't even task, and he was surly as well as incompetent. I'd gladly stay at the Aloha Surf again based on its reasonable rates and good location, but I'd be way happier if Lance was removing gum from the sidewalk or cleaning bathrooms rather than screwing up reception.

Room Tip: Try for the upper floors on the back side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Aloha "Bima",
Mahalo for staying with us on your recent trip to Hawaii.
It is our goal here to provide true value for our guests. I am glad we were able to achieve that goal for you.
It is also our goal to make all of our guests feel welcome and appreciated. I am sorry we were not able to achieve that. We work very hard to share the Aloha Spirit. Your feedback illustrates that one or two poor experiences can taint an otherwise great overall experience. We will use your feedback in our ongoing effort to grow and improve.
I really do appreciate your honest feedback.
Mahalo,
Tim Clark, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel is a great value for the budget-conscious traveller. The location is close to everything, the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable, which is exactly what we were looking for. Bonuses that we appreciated were: WiFi, a water dispenser and free coffee in the lobby, plus the coffee for our coffee machine in the room. No - it's not the Ritz and yes, perhaps the bathroom was dated. But it was comfortable and clean, which is all we hoped for (and we didn't fly to gorgeous Hawaii to spend our time in a hotel room and to adore a granite five-star bathroom!). For the price, this hotel met, if not exceeded, our expectation and we will definitely book here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Aloha "MichelleL",
Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your very nice comments.
You are correct, we are an excellent value!
Take Care and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.1 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#76 of 84 in Honolulu
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: £90 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Interent throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. Self Parking is $25 daily. Note: Oversized vehicles will not fit in the hotel parking garage. If you have what you believe may be an oversized vehicle, please call the hotel to confirm whether the garage can accommodate the vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing