We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate nice hotel in a great quiet location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We actually rented a studio unit here via the vrbo.com website (unit no. 1006 on the 10th floor). The location is nice and central while being quiet enough in a side street on the Ala Wai canal. The lobby is breezy and lovely and there is a small plunge pool on the ground floor (very deep, not suitable for small children). You are close to everything (bus stop, eateries, beach, supermarket). The property itself is well maintained and the staff are simply superb - all helpful, friendly and cheerful - and this whilst we weren't even staying in a room that the resort manages. Very child friendly too. I saw some rooms while we were there (other guests gave us a peek) and they all looked clean, well maintained and bright. I would highly recommend this place for anyone staying in Waikiki on holidays in this price bracket. I would not necessarily spend a honeymoon there but it is perfectly adequate for any other kind of stay unless you are after a luxury upmarket resort. Our balcony was big enough to hang beach towels and have breakfast/a cup of coffee and watch the sunrises/sunsets. Overall a very enjoyble stay.

Room Tip: The higher up the room the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AquaPacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Aloha "AquaPacifica",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf.
I am glad we were able to contribute to a successful Waikiki Visit for you.
Please come back and visit us again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is an older dated property, tiny pool with excellent service. We were checked in by a gentleman named "Douglas" which chipper attitude and efficient demeanor and humor just set the pace for a great visit. rooms are a bit dated but nice clean white linens while not a duvet was the next best thing and without question we got the most comfortable bed in Hawaii.

Room Tip: I hope all the beds are as good as the one we got. I don't know if we got lucky or Douglas reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrainelimiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Aloha "lorrainelimiac",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for mentioning our Guest Service Supervisor Douglas. He is great. I will share your comments with him.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is an affordable hotel in a central Waikiki location, booked sight unseen after reading Trip Advisor reviews as a stopover for three nights to break up our journey back to Enzed. The Aqua Aloha is obviously popular with Antipodeans; we met many during our stay all, like us, enjoying the balmy climate and buzz of Waikiki. The room was a good size but filthy around the edges, with a carpet stain embedded with solid matter I didn't care to investigate closely. This was a noisy location with considerable construction or roading activity nearby, but the beach was just a few blocks away, and we loved the locally made food from the nearby farmers market. We didn't take advantage of the continental breakfast as it finishes at nine ... And who gets up that early on a tropical vacation? The lobby is airy and pleasant, with free wifi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurieandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Aloha "laurieandlily",
Thank you for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. It is our goal to provide our guests with value for their money and a good, relaxing, fun experience. I am sorry we were not able to achieve this goal for you. I do appreciate you sharing your experience here on trip advisor.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

i choose this hotel only because of its location and price.
it is located near Waikiki beach and international market.
it was very convenient cause there are ABC mart around the corner and many restaurant.
Its price is very reasonable and the staffs were very helpful whenever i asked something. i enjoyed staying there, hope go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couldntbebetterrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Aloha "couldntbebetterrr",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I am glad we were able to contribute to a great Hawaii experience for you.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed here one night before going on a cruise. We had a spacious room with a comfortable bed and lots of storage space. We requested a quiet room and that is what we got, on the 6th floor. The bathroom was quite basic but it had all we needed. Breakfast was included in the room price and very good with enough choice. Hotel staff is very cheerful and, above all, helpful. They really made us feel at home. The hotel is conveniently located, not too far from the beach and the shops. We made a good choice in staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Aloha "JoanneBrussels",
I appreciate you staying with us during your recent visit to Waikiki. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We moved to Hawaii and are staying at this hotel right now. This is a fantastic place! First off,the staff from the front desk to housekeeping is amazing!! Everyone is so friendly and easy going, you feel right at home. The room is very spacious and clean. We have stayed in a lot of hotels and this is by far the cleanest room we've had in a while. The location is a big plus as well, its literally only a 5 min walk to the beach, shops or restaurants. Another cool thing is that they have free cocktail hour on tuesdays, not just one, you can drink as many cocktails in that hour as you can flush down!! Definitely very happy with our choice and would come back here anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stpalmsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Aloha "Stpalmsgirl",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. Great to hear you have moved to Hawaii. Welcome to the neighborhood! Your going to love it.
Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Good hotel, helpful staff, clean and friendly. Partial views of the mountain and canal, saw kids training for outrigger races which was cool. Had to walk to the beach but hey, it's Waikiki, it's always interesting. Very good value for money would stay there again.We are a family of 4, pool was a bit small but ok, lobby was very social, 2 TVs in 1 bedroom suite was good too. Air conditioning noisy but we slept ok, ceiling fans would be a good idea.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Aloha "alisonB",
Mahalo for staying with us during your recent visit to Hawaii. "Value for Money" That is our goal. We work to provide our guests with good value for their money. I am glad we were able to accomplish that goal for you and for so many of our guests.
We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.1 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
1,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: £90 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Interent throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. Self Parking is $25 daily. Note: Oversized vehicles will not fit in the hotel parking garage. If you have what you believe may be an oversized vehicle, please call the hotel to confirm whether the garage can accommodate the vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Easy Market Spa, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing