We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 2 November 2013

the hotel is only few blocks from the beach, rooms are comfortable (i loved the bed) and clean, shops very close, employees very nice and helpful. i consider it a very good quality for a nice price. i was satisfied.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Aloha "DenisaD",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki.
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Waikiki and your time here in the hotel with us.
We hope you will come back soon and stay with us.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights prior to our cruise back to Sydney. Good location, the hotel presented well and our room was spotless and the bathroom had lovely soft white towels. The airconditioner was old and noisy and we really needed to use it most of the time.
We found the staff very helpful and friendly. Now for the nightmare - Breakfast was an insult, run by two ladies with poor english, no uniform and no interest. A dark dingy room with heavy and greasy looking furniture. Food poorly presented, plastic plates did not entice us to eat there.
We went around the corner and purchased food each day for our breakfast despite having breakfast vouchers for the hotel. It's a shame about the breakfast as it really is a blot on this hotels copybook.

Room Tip: Check out the air conditioner and a room away from the main road because of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Aloha "Sandyblue"
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. I appreciate your feedback about the breakfast. We contract with a private restaurant located here on the property to provide continental breakfast for guests who book directly with Aqua. We will use your feedback in our effort to grow and improve.
Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here.
The staff are a credit to the place, extremely friendly and the most helpful people we encounted on our trip.
The happy hour once a week is a great idea and we thoroughly enjoyed it, it gave us a chance to meet other people and get to know the staff better.
The housekeeping staff are also a credit to the motel, the lovely lady that cleaned our room was so polite she was lovely, I wanted to bring her home.:-)
Close to everything, all in walking distance!
Thanks guys I highly recommend Aloha Surf.
Greg and Tania St Clair :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLPhotographics1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Aloha "TLPhotographics1"
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed here for 12 nights, in an apartment, with my son. The location is really good, close to restaurants, bars and close to the beach. The apartment had everything we needed, although a toaster would have been useful. There was plenty of room as there were only 2 of us staying...the apartment is advertised as been appropriate for 5 guests, but I think that would have been pretty cramped. In saying that, most apartments of this size say they are suitable for 5. The price was reasonable for Hawaii - overall, an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank pommieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Aloha "Pommieanne",
In reading your posting, it occurred to me that you may have been staying in one of the private apartments located here at the Aloha Surf property rather than staying in one of our hotel program units known as the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki. The reason I came to this conclusion is that you mentioned staying in an "apartment" and you mentioned that the apartment is advertised to accommodate 5 people. None of our hotel units are advertised as being able to accommodate 5 people.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The staff were very helpful, friendly and caring. The lady at the front desk went out of her way to make my stay comfortable and accomodating. I commend her. I would like the manager or owner of this hotel to please change the breakfast menu. It is horrible, it is terrible and it is the worst breakfast I have ever had to have in a hotel. The juice is watered down, the fruit is cut up in little pieces and the cut up apples are turning brown. Why cannot one have a whole apple or orange? The eggs are little and hard to peel and they are cold. The assorted pastry is less than desired and served in little pieces. It is the same food each day; I am sure the hotel can afford a better breakfast. It really needs to be changed!!! It is so sad!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuiceCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Aloha "Juicecooks",
Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. I will look into the menu for our continental breakfast.
Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed in Aqua Aloha surf Waikiki for one week in april 2013. The hotel is situated on a very good location, just few blocks away from the beach. The rooms vere always really clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel has also a private parking (garrage), which was not even so expensive. The only bad thing was a breakfast, which was really poor but this didnt bothered us, because only one block away was Wendys breakfast restaurant. The hotel pool is also poor so almost nobady uses it..
For sure I would go back, because I feel really good and had a great time!
Thank you Aqua Aloha

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank narg3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Aloha "Narg3000",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. I will speak to the owner of the restaurant about the breakfast menu.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in oct. Upon check in, I mentioned that we were celebrating our 25 wedding anniversary. The sweet young woman at the desk upgraded our room and had champagne and chocolate covered macadamia nuts sent up to our room. We declined the champagne since we do not drink but the nuts were wonderful.
This is an older hotel but our room was very clean.
They loan free beach towels and chairs.
Breakfast is not wonderful but is plentiful and filled us up. Would have loved to have wifi in the room but was able to access in the lobby.
The hotel is two blocks from the each, in walking distance to many restaurants and a lot of shopping, and served us very nicely.
Parking is $20 per day and they have very small and crowded parking areas.
I would stay here again but would love to see a few upgrades.
The beds were wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Aloha "KatrinaT",
Congratulations on 25 years of Marriage!
I am so glad you chose to celebrate in Waikiki and particularly here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. It's good to know that we contributed to a relaxing, and fun experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.9 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
1,814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: £95 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Interent throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. Self Parking is $25 daily. Note: Oversized vehicles will not fit in the hotel parking garage. If you have what you believe may be an oversized vehicle, please call the hotel to confirm whether the garage can accommodate the vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing