We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room with Balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The downstairs lobby is very simple and plain but I found the room itself was well presented, clean and quite a pleasant stay with good air conditioning, and even had mountain views from the balcony (I was staying in one of the superior rooms on the second from top floor, if I recall properly level 12). The bathroom seemed a lot older than the rest of the room, slightly tired perhaps, but was still very clean with no issues. Like most of Waikiki it was only a 5 minute walk to the beach, and there were plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. The public transport bus stops just round the corner, and offers a cheap and quick ride to places such as the Ala Moana mall and is a safe efficient way to travel round. The room does not have wifi but they do provide network cables if needed for free internet, the lobby has free wifi.

Room Tip: The superior room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank landersonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Aloha "Landersonic",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I am glad you enjoyed your time in Waikiki. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Hotel was actually nicer than we expected. It has an open lobby which was very pleasant. The pool is somewhat small with few lounge chairs. Short 5-10 minute walk to beach. Shopping and restraints very close by. The rooms were very nice. We got the larger standard room and it was quite spacious.

Room Tip: Pay extra for larger room! Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Aloha "CherylB",
Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us.
We hope you return to visit us again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel for the amount we spent, although the new room was quite small and so was the bathroom, we had free WiFi in the lobby and a free breakfast. The beds we stayed in were super comfy and the was not a lot of noise from the street. The staff were helpful and always said hello and goodbye in the lobby. I stayed at another aqua chain hotel when we came through Hawaii a few weeks later and it was not up to the same standard as the aloha surf was. I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha "ErinH",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. I hope you return to stay with us again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

What they did well: Check-in was easy and quick, and we even received a free box of candy--an unexpected treat. The rate was very affordable ($99/nt booked through Hotwire) compared to other hotels in the Waikiki area, and this included a buffet breakfast (see more on breakfast below). And the location was good--walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. Because of this we didn't bother renting a car while we stayed. The room (queen + twin) was clean as was everything else in the hotel. There are a number of restaurants that participate in a delivery service to the hotel (a catalog of menus is in the room), so you could choose to eat in if you like. The concierge was very helpful, and we were able to purchase tickets to a luau through the hotel, a great time saver!

What could be done better: The "queen" bed in our room was awfully small, and I suspected it was actually a double bed. My husband is big and tall, so the two of us in a double bed is not comfortable at all. The room was small, comparable to a cabin on a cruise ship, though it did include a small refrigerator, microwave and some dishes and utensils for eating. The breakfast buffet was almost not edible. The hard-boiled eggs were... well, let's just say that they had an unusual texture. (How do you mess up hard-boiled eggs??!) And the multitude of birds were constantly picking at the dirty dishes left by the guests at the tables and in a bin. If a free breakfast weighs heavily in your decision for a hotel, then this will be a disappointment. The decor and fixtures are a bit dated, but when you're spending most of your time at the beach and out-and-about, it probably doesn't matter much unless you want to hang around the hotel. Wi-fi is only available in the lobby with hard-wired ethernet available in the rooms. I can't connect my iPhone via ethernet so I was not pleased with the inconvenience.

Overall impression: if you have a limited budget for vacationing in Waikiki, this hotel will suffice. Not bad, but not great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Aloha "ABSchafer",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf waikiki. In reading your review I noticed your concern about the bed size. What you were describing, i believe, is one of our deluxe category rooms. This room has one full sized bed, ont twin sized bed, and a sofa bed. we do not have rooms that have a queen bed and a twin bed and a sofa bed. We do have rooms with a queen bed and a sofa bed, and rooms with a king bed and a sofa bed. these are all rooms in our deluxe room category. I am sorry if there was confusion or misunderstanding of our bedding configurations.
Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our first trip to Oahu and wish we had stayed longer. The hotel suited our budget ,there wasnt a twin room available for our teenage boys the first night but they were moved to one the next day as promised. The rooms were clean, tidy and well equipped and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was included which was a bonus and the water and coffee freely available in reception was very welcome. The staff were friendly and helpful too. Our room was at the front of the hotel and the outside noise did carry at night so was not as quiet as I would have liked but that is not the Hotels fault. Would definately stay again if we are lucky enough to get back to Oahu. Mahalo for a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Aloha "LindaM",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki.
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best Wishes,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We've enjoyed our stay here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki so much that we don't want to leave! :) Two night stay for $177.00 per night. You're literally a crosswalk away from the beach and the zoo!! The hotel is super clean and our double bed room (only one available during the 4th of July) was clean and modern. On the fourth my husband and I sat on the beach and watched the fireworks and it was such a wonderful evening! We've done nothing but walk up and down the strip, tons of shops and restaurants, there is so much to do! We HIGHLY recommend this hotel! The only downside, our view on the balcony was of the hotel beside us but that's because of last minute booking, didn't bother us because you don't go to the beach to sit on your balcony you go to the beach to play in the water! ;)

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank DroppaViewPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Aloha "Droppaviewpoint",
Mahalo for staying with us during your recent visit to Waikiki. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

When we booked in we were exhausted after a long journey from London. The room we were given was on the second floor. It was clean but cramped and being near the street noisy. We asked if we could be upgraded and move room. The staff were very helpful and we moved rooms the next day. It cost us a little extra but we were on the 12th floor in a much bigger room and a lot quieter. We were supposedly able to use the free WiFi in the lobby. Some days it worked reasonably well but the signal was poor.
Breakfast was an all you can eat for 6 dollars. All I can say is that you get what you pay for. It amazed us how much some people can get on one plate! The provision of a fridge,microwave and coffee maker meant that we did not have to rely on the feeding frenzy for breakfast.
The hotel is in a convenient position. The staff are very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade to one of the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Aloha "ojs1951",
Mahalo for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor.
We appreciate your patronage.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.1 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#76 of 84 in Honolulu
1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#53 of 84 in Honolulu
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: £90 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Interent throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. Self Parking is $25 daily. Note: Oversized vehicles will not fit in the hotel parking garage. If you have what you believe may be an oversized vehicle, please call the hotel to confirm whether the garage can accommodate the vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing