We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to Relax; Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This charming hotel was remarkably comfortable and relaxing. It is just small enough to offer that "boutique" hotel feeling, far beyond its affordable rates. The staff and management were exceptional;, always available without being overbearing, efficient and effective but calm and professional. The Aloha Spirit is alive and well at the Aqua, from Manager Tim Clark's warm and competent demeanor, to the low-key hawaiian themed furnishings and decor, to the staff's disposition. It was truly a pleasurable difference from the large-chain hotels we frequently stay in. In the big-branded hotels, you could be literally anywhere...and that defeats the purpose of a vacation in Hawaii. In contrast, the Aqua Aloha Surf and Spa has a true local feel to it. And having lived in Hawaii for 25 years, I can tell you that there is no bigger compliment or better measure of success in Hawaii.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rapacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Dear "rapacz"
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Aqua Aloha Surf & Spa during your recent visit to Waikiki. As a Kama'aina (Hawaii Resident) you have many options when it comes to hotels in Waikiki. We appreciate your business. Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We strive to create that "Home away from Home" feeling at the Aloha Surf. We look forward to your next visit.
Mahalo Nui Loa, (Thank you very much)
Ahui Hou (until we meet again)
Tim Clark, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,656)
There are newer reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

We just returned from a stay at the Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel in Waikiki. We liked it so much that we have already booked reservations at the Aqua Aloha Surf for our next trip. We loved it! This is a great tourist class hotel located two blocks from the beach, and anything else you may need - restaurants, music, buses, or shopping. So convenient. They provide a daily breakfast which includes pancakes, oatmeal, fresh fruit and more. We found the entire staff genuinely friendly and eager to help with questions. Even the maintenance department had restaurant ideas for us.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mksnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Just wrapped up 15 days in Oahu, staying at the Aqua Aloha. We had a fantastic stay. The entire staff, from maintenance to housekeeping to the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and taken care of well. The included breakfast was a fantastic way to start the day. Thanks Tim and staff for a great 20th anniversary/family reunion trip!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aktungs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

My family (with our 2 year old son) went to the Aqua Aloha Surf in May 2010 for a realxation beach trip. This hotel was excellent for the price; however, remember the price factor as there are some minor issues. The hotel location itself is excellent as it is located within two blocks on the main part of Waikiki Beach. It is a very easy walk with the hotel being very close to many restaurants and the Food Pantry Supermarket (kind of pricey for some food but good for some making a few lunches and snacks). The lobby of the hotel is very nice with a lot of Hawaii charm and nice staff. Check out the manager hour for free drinks, massages, and music on Tuesday at 5PM. They even gave my son some coconut and pineapple juice. We paid extra for a upgraded room and it was still a little cozy but had a balcony. The room had a nice kitchen for basic preparation for snacks and a balcony. The view was of a apartment complex across the street but had some nice mountain views to the east. The room was a little but worn but overall it was comfortable with amenities. There was also a small pool with cold water which was nice for a dip on hot days but not really a place to hang out. Overall the stay was very pleasant and nice as the staff was very friendly, location was excellent, and the room was adeqaute. Again remember the price, you may be able to find a superior hotel but for the budget minded traveler, this hotel is supurb and made a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colostateram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I spent 4 days here with my teenage daughter. The location was perfect for us... about a 5 minute walk to the beach, and just off the beaten path enough that I didn't worry about the hustle and bustle keeping me up at night. We had fun at the Managers Reception where I enjoyed complimentry Wipeouts, chair massages and chocolates. Only one downside... the pool was a bit cold for my taste. Granted - it was about 7pm when I checked it out, but I would have prefered a warmer pool! Anyway - will definitaly return to this location next time I'm in Hawaii!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

our stay at the Aqua Surf was fabulous. What a way to vacation, good value, a clean and comfortable room and best of all an excellent staff. I am recommending all my friends to be sure if you are looking for a deal while visiting Oahu, and to be in the heart of Waikiki this is the hotel to be at. MAHALO, everyone at the Aqua Surf.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuuipohoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

My wife and I stayed in this Hotel for 4 nights. When we made it to the island we were greeted at the front desk by Mr Kalei Dias. He was very helpful, and was willing to go the extra mile to ensure our satisfaction and comfortability. The rest of the staff, went above and beyond to ensure that the took care of all our needs. The house keeping staff greeted us outside the elevator and enquired about the quality of our room and wanted to know if there was anything additional we needed of them without asking. All in all we were very satisfied with our stay. I am sure that the next time we visit Oahu, we will be booking our stay at the Aqua Aloha Surf. Thank you you all for making sure our stay was a memorable stay. Mahalo

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jus10credible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2010

Dear "Jus10credible",
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Aqua Aloha Surf & Spa. Thank you also for taking the time to post a review here on Trip Advisor.com. At Aqua we welcome and value guest feedback. Feedback is crucial to our growth and improvement. Thank you for the kind words about our team members. You mentioned Kalei. I was sitting with him today discussing his career plans with Aqua. So far I know he wants to take his Boss's job. Then I guess I will be next. In a few years, Kalei will be writing this response. That's how it should be. Anyway, I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.9 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: £89 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Interent throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. Self Parking is $25 daily. Note: Oversized vehicles will not fit in the hotel parking garage. If you have what you believe may be an oversized vehicle, please call the hotel to confirm whether the garage can accommodate the vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing