We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights in January, with my family. I have toe kids aged 16 and 7. The room was comfortable, except that the sofa bed my daughter was to use was broken so they provided an extra camp bed. Not really suitable for a tall 16 year old, so she ended up sleeping on the floor. The location is ok you can see the water from the balcony, we were on the 32nd floor.
The bathrooms are small and dated, but the kitchen facilities were good.
Not a great family facility if you want any privacy because if you close off the door to the bedroom, there is no a/c in the bedroom.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HeathThompsonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review! Your comments are sincerely appreciated and happy to report that 2014 is the year for room renovation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    395
    186
    76
    54
See reviews for
515
139
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here with an exchange from my timeshare.
It is a solid value at best. Place is excellent for budget traveling but that is as far as it goes. Stayed on the 22nd floor Tower 2, at time of check in front desk was clueless as to where I had to go check in which I am sure timeshare owners stay here often.
Loved the barbecue area on the 6th floor. And this is as far as I will go. Will I stay here again? Probably not if I can help it. Location is good but hey being in Hawaii is great so…

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giyo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Sincerely appreciate your comment, Yes though the front desk staff are well trained. Unfortunately their knowledge of private timeshares are very limited as the Aston currently manages 240 units out of the 876 units here at the Banyan, some units are owner occupy and some are privately managed. The privately managed unit information are not shared with the Aston, as the owners will typically provide the information directly to their guests. We do our best in assisting all guests with the limited information that we are provided with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The front desk Jason is great! He made our stay at the hotel a pleasant experience. The hotel is very close the beach and everything. We had a room of two beds and one sofa pull-out bed. The room is large enough for a family of 4 or so. It will save you some money by staying in this condo-like hotel. It has a kitchen and you can cook yourself to even save more! Overall it was a very pleasant and enjoyful stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Jason was able to assist you. He is one of our senior employees and definitely takes pride in ensuring our valued guests are enjoyed their stay and returns!

We will share this comment with Jason!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My family have been staying at the Banyan every year for about 20 years - always a delightful experience - the staff are always helpful - the rooms are terrific - We had a group of about 20 staying in different rooms for my daughters wedding in hawaii and loved the BBQ on the sixth floor - planning another trip soon

Room Tip: Get a room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squinn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Aloha!

We sincerely appreciate your great comments! Yes, we agree the BBQ area on the 6th floor is great! Definately a great way to end your evening with a little grilling with great company! We look forward in welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I'm a believer in you get what you pay for and I try to travel on a budget. If you're like me then this is a good place for you to take your family. It's not the Hilton nor is it a run down hotel. It is older but they are making modest updates to the rooms and facilities. I booked my room through RCI which included wifi and free parking. As I understand it, there are several agencies and private parties you can use to book rooms her, all with their own amenities, so don't be discouraged by the various comments as they may not apply to you.

Overall no complaints having parking right at the hotel was a bonus and made the trip that much better.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
We appreciate your comments and happy to hear that you enjoy your recent stay with the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Checked in for Thanksgiving week with a huge party that took 7 rooms on the same floor (level 33 tower 1). No one told any of us anything about renovation work being done on the exterior of the building. After we've settled in, the next morning the drilling starts at 9 am and ends at 5 pm. I'm talking about multiple power drills going into the walls right outside of the building non-stop. You can hear the hammering and drilling like it's on top of your head. Then they offer to move us but can't put us all on the same floor. The service is just terrible and we feel completely unsatisfied with the hotel. I would warn everyone to stay away. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank killershotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet all your expectations and that you were not informed about the "Exterior Enhancement Renovation". We have contacted all the travel partners informing them of the "Exterior Enhancement Renovation" to include our on-line partners. At times the information may be in fine print, which may not be visibly available unless you’re read carefully. The Good news is, the project has since completed and the Banyan looks beautiful! Unfortunately this is "must do" maintenance for the upkeeping of the buildling and luckily it takes place once every 10 years or so
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Banyan is located a short walking distance from the beach and it's still within walking distance to everything - the zoo, all the shops, and restaurants. When first walking in, the Banyan has a beautifully updated lobby area, there's even a nice waterfall/fountain with a coy pond at the bottom. They have a cafe and a little store on site with souvenirs and basic amenities. The front desk staff and everyone on the property was very cheery and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying in a higher floor. I had a mountain view room, which I liked more than the ocean view, because at night the mountains are lit up with all the city lights. There was a nice sized balcony in the room with a table and chairs, where I spent a lot of my time. the room itself was a bit dated but it was very tidy and clean. I loved how the bedroom had a large sliding door which made the room feel much more spacious and open. This is a great family property as they have a great recreation area with tennis courts, pools, BBQ areas, and a playground.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fishbombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
This is fabulous news! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, looking forward in welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,177 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Property: Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Address: 201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3653 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Waikiki Banyan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Waikiki Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 876
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a block from the beach, this exceptionally kid-friendly property features one-bedroom suites that accommodate up to 5 people at no additional charge. It has the best recreation deck in Waikiki, complete with children's playground open late, so you can enjoy it after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at the Waikiki Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Banyan
Waikiki Banyan Hotel
Resort Quest Waikiki Banyan
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing