We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs renovating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Needs renovating”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Two families booked 8 months prior to our stay for what we believed was a deluxe ocean view room . Upon arrival we were given an unrenovated room that feel short of our expectations. To the managers credit we were shown a number of room alternatives however each room was much the same . We were told that unlike a hotel these room are all owned by individuals who only update the room if they wish . We decided to leave the Banyan and seek accommodation elsewhere. After many costly phone calls expedia agreed to credit our payment to another place. The Banyan was also under going renovations at the time which involved not using the balcony and having water shut off during the day. This was not known to us at the time of booking . In hindsight it was not really worth the high fee to have a kitchen if we ever returned for a short visit 4 days or less we would just stay in a hotel room .

Room Tip: Work out if you really need to pay the higher fee to have a kitchen. We stayed for 4 nights, had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Sorry to hear we were not able to accommodate you with a renovated room and that accommodations were found elsewhere. We do try our best to assist all the needs of our guests and feel extremely terrible when we don't. We are happy though to hear that the rest of your vacation was not ruined and kudo's to Expedia! We do hope that you give the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan another chance, as 2014 is the year for room renovations to take place. Sincerely appreciate your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    395
    186
    76
    54
See reviews for
515
139
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LLoydminster, Saskatchewan Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We had a great room... It was a little outdated but overall it was really good. The need could have been more comfortable and the piloted could have been better. The doors separating the bedroom from the living area should be fixed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We appreciate your comments and happy to hear that you enjoy your recent stay with the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan. The maintenance department has since made the necessary repairs in the room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights in January, with my family. I have toe kids aged 16 and 7. The room was comfortable, except that the sofa bed my daughter was to use was broken so they provided an extra camp bed. Not really suitable for a tall 16 year old, so she ended up sleeping on the floor. The location is ok you can see the water from the balcony, we were on the 32nd floor.
The bathrooms are small and dated, but the kitchen facilities were good.
Not a great family facility if you want any privacy because if you close off the door to the bedroom, there is no a/c in the bedroom.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HeathThompsonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review! Your comments are sincerely appreciated and happy to report that 2014 is the year for room renovation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here with an exchange from my timeshare.
It is a solid value at best. Place is excellent for budget traveling but that is as far as it goes. Stayed on the 22nd floor Tower 2, at time of check in front desk was clueless as to where I had to go check in which I am sure timeshare owners stay here often.
Loved the barbecue area on the 6th floor. And this is as far as I will go. Will I stay here again? Probably not if I can help it. Location is good but hey being in Hawaii is great so…

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giyo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Sincerely appreciate your comment, Yes though the front desk staff are well trained. Unfortunately their knowledge of private timeshares are very limited as the Aston currently manages 240 units out of the 876 units here at the Banyan, some units are owner occupy and some are privately managed. The privately managed unit information are not shared with the Aston, as the owners will typically provide the information directly to their guests. We do our best in assisting all guests with the limited information that we are provided with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The front desk Jason is great! He made our stay at the hotel a pleasant experience. The hotel is very close the beach and everything. We had a room of two beds and one sofa pull-out bed. The room is large enough for a family of 4 or so. It will save you some money by staying in this condo-like hotel. It has a kitchen and you can cook yourself to even save more! Overall it was a very pleasant and enjoyful stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Jason was able to assist you. He is one of our senior employees and definitely takes pride in ensuring our valued guests are enjoyed their stay and returns!

We will share this comment with Jason!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My family have been staying at the Banyan every year for about 20 years - always a delightful experience - the staff are always helpful - the rooms are terrific - We had a group of about 20 staying in different rooms for my daughters wedding in hawaii and loved the BBQ on the sixth floor - planning another trip soon

Room Tip: Get a room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squinn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Aloha!

We sincerely appreciate your great comments! Yes, we agree the BBQ area on the 6th floor is great! Definately a great way to end your evening with a little grilling with great company! We look forward in welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I'm a believer in you get what you pay for and I try to travel on a budget. If you're like me then this is a good place for you to take your family. It's not the Hilton nor is it a run down hotel. It is older but they are making modest updates to the rooms and facilities. I booked my room through RCI which included wifi and free parking. As I understand it, there are several agencies and private parties you can use to book rooms her, all with their own amenities, so don't be discouraged by the various comments as they may not apply to you.

Overall no complaints having parking right at the hotel was a bonus and made the trip that much better.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
We appreciate your comments and happy to hear that you enjoy your recent stay with the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,173 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
3,209 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Property: Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Address: 201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3653 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Waikiki Banyan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Waikiki Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 876
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a block from the beach, this exceptionally kid-friendly property features one-bedroom suites that accommodate up to 5 people at no additional charge. It has the best recreation deck in Waikiki, complete with children's playground open late, so you can enjoy it after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at the Waikiki Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Banyan
Waikiki Banyan Hotel
Resort Quest Waikiki Banyan
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing