We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (984)
Filter reviews
984 results
Traveller rating
187
431
218
86
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
431
218
86
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenrecreation areabasketball courtmini martliving roommountain viewfood pantryamenity feegreat view of the oceanpool deckparking garageconvenience storepool towelshotel roomboogie boardskapiolani parkper day
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 984 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Waikiki Banyan is a nice place to stay in Waikiki. It's not the most central location but everything is within a 10 minute stroll away. Being travellers from Australia, we took every opportunity to shop and stock up on items that are ridiculously cheaper in the US than back home, so almost every night after dinner, we walk to the DFS, Royal Hawaiian Centre and along Kuhio Ave to shop. Walking along the beach back to the Banyan was nice and is quite safe late at night.
We rented a 1 bedroom condo with a full kitchen and felt that it was roomy enough to fit 4 ladies with A LOT of shopping. We used almost half the floor space to put our shopping bags down and still had lots of space to move around.
The kitchen is convenient for late night snacks and break of dawn breakfasts that you need to just swallow before leaving for a tour or excursion at 7am.
There were minor disturbances from the renovations going on around the pool area (level 6) and the exterior of the hotel. The pool is big enough to do small laps and the spa was relaxing. There's a normal spa and a 'hotter' spa for warmer temperatures which is great! We loved the hotter spa, especially at night. The only downside is that there is no gym in the building. Apparently you get discounts at a nearby gym but that's not the most convenient when you just want a quick work out.
The resort fee includes use of the pool/spa, PS3 in your room, a DVD card to rent movies for free, free wifi in your condo (you have your own router in the condo). The wifi was especially great. We had 3 people on skype at the same time and the internet wasn't slow.
Overall great experience. Staff was helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsagneshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Front Office Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Always nice to receive positive comments from our valued guests! We look forward in welcoming you back to the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed 10 nights January 2014, Travelling with others so had a few rooms between us. All rooms very dated with many maintenance issues. Beds uncomfortable, particularly the sofa bed - extremely uncomfortable, had to use couch cushions to layer between 'mattress' and sheet so you could get some sleep. Fold out bed just as bad.
Sliding doors on wardrobes wouldn't work. Security latch on door broken. Access to balcony locked as work was being done outside, which resulted in grinding outside early in the morning. When booking accommodation website advised outside work was being done but was due for completion in December so thought all would be done by our stay. Once we got into December website changed, now expected competition in April. No notification to advise that the work timeline would now be during our stay. Charges put onto credit card that were not applicable - reception not helpful in getting this fixed.

The good ... proximity to Waikiki beach area. Liked the pool/spa/bbq area, nothing fancy but roomy area for group of people to utilise.

Needs updating - new paint, kitchen makeover, update furniture etc., and this could be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try and make sure you get a room in the tower that isn't being worked on outside.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NQ_Disney_Dreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us and appreciate your comments. Unfortunately the exterior renovation has been delayed by 4 months and expected to be completed by April 30th, 2014 due to unforseen problems. The information was past on as soon as we received the information and sincerely apologize that you did not receive the information.
On going interior renovation is scheduled for 2014, in which we are looking to upgrade the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Two families booked 8 months prior to our stay for what we believed was a deluxe ocean view room . Upon arrival we were given an unrenovated room that feel short of our expectations. To the managers credit we were shown a number of room alternatives however each room was much the same . We were told that unlike a hotel these room are all owned by individuals who only update the room if they wish . We decided to leave the Banyan and seek accommodation elsewhere. After many costly phone calls expedia agreed to credit our payment to another place. The Banyan was also under going renovations at the time which involved not using the balcony and having water shut off during the day. This was not known to us at the time of booking . In hindsight it was not really worth the high fee to have a kitchen if we ever returned for a short visit 4 days or less we would just stay in a hotel room .

Room Tip: Work out if you really need to pay the higher fee to have a kitchen. We stayed for 4 nights, had breakfast each day in room but only 2 dinners so for us it was not worth the extra cost should we have just stayed in a hotel .
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Sorry to hear we were not able to accommodate you with a renovated room and that accommodations were found elsewhere. We do try our best to assist all the needs of our guests and feel extremely terrible when we don't. We are happy though to hear that the rest of your vacation was not ruined and kudo's to Expedia! We do hope that you give the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan another chance, as 2014 is the year for room renovations to take place. Sincerely appreciate your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We had a great room... It was a little outdated but overall it was really good. The need could have been more comfortable and the piloted could have been better. The doors separating the bedroom from the living area should be fixed.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindy2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

We appreciate your comments and happy to hear that you enjoy your recent stay with the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan. The maintenance department has since made the necessary repairs in the room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights in January, with my family. I have toe kids aged 16 and 7. The room was comfortable, except that the sofa bed my daughter was to use was broken so they provided an extra camp bed. Not really suitable for a tall 16 year old, so she ended up sleeping on the floor. The location is ok you can see the water from the balcony, we were on the 32nd floor.
The bathrooms are small and dated, but the kitchen facilities were good.
Not a great family facility if you want any privacy because if you close off the door to the bedroom, there is no a/c in the bedroom.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank HeathThompsonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review! Your comments are sincerely appreciated and happy to report that 2014 is the year for room renovation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews