We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid. Snotty front desk staff, miserable management.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Lloydminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid. Snotty front desk staff, miserable management.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Bad-We rented through VBRO and therefore the hotel staff treated us like we were scum.
Bed was awful, couch no better.
BBQ- pay $2.00 each time to cook a meal? Seriously?
$200+ per night way too high.
Parking staff seriously need better amenities, how could they possibly be pleasant in that dungeon?



Good- koko resorts staff were friendly and helpful when asked.
Short walk to the beach or strip.
Partial ocean view was a nice change to mountain view at the sunset.

Summary- if you pay the outrageous rates the hotel asks you may be treated as a human. Go through VRBO and you are as desirable to them as the beggars on the street asking for change or a spare dollar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Sorry to hear that you've received substandard service from the Front Desk staff of the Aston. Unfortunately as you may have noticed, the Waikiki Banyan offers many managing agents and at times unable to assist other guests that have booked with a company other then Aston. For example, if you have a Wifi, Plumbing, Electrical, TV, etc.. issues, because Aston does not manage the unit, the only thing we can recommend is for you to contact whomever you confirmed your reservation with. We would love to be able to assist all, but unfortunately poses a liability for Aston. As for the Barbeque area, parking matters. I have forwarded your comments over to the Waikiki Banyan Condo Association whom handles the common area, to include the parking structure. I understand it may be a bit confusing, but Aston is a managing agency simliar to Koko Resorts. Hope to have clarified any confusion and suggest that you contact whomever you make your reservations (VRBO) to address the condition of the room. A customers voice goes a long way and we sincerely appreciate hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    395
    185
    76
    54
See reviews for
514
139
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a dive! This accommodation is extremely dated. Not ideal if there are four adults travelling. Queen size bed is a fold out couch with very uncomfortable innersprung mattress. Glad we didn't take the cat as you wouldn't be able to swing it in the bathroom/toilet. Bathroom floor unclean with several dark hairs, we are all blond. Joinery old and splitting and bathroom window covered in dust and webs. Kitchen oven archaic. We will not be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taurangashamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Sorry to hear we were not able to accommodate you with a renovated room and that you were not satisfied with your accommodations. We do try our best to assist all the needs of our guests and feel extremely terrible when we don't. We do hope that you give the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan another chance, as 2014 is the year for room renovations to take place. Sincerely appreciate your comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Waikiki Banyan is a nice place to stay in Waikiki. It's not the most central location but everything is within a 10 minute stroll away. Being travellers from Australia, we took every opportunity to shop and stock up on items that are ridiculously cheaper in the US than back home, so almost every night after dinner, we walk to the DFS, Royal Hawaiian Centre and along Kuhio Ave to shop. Walking along the beach back to the Banyan was nice and is quite safe late at night.
We rented a 1 bedroom condo with a full kitchen and felt that it was roomy enough to fit 4 ladies with A LOT of shopping. We used almost half the floor space to put our shopping bags down and still had lots of space to move around.
The kitchen is convenient for late night snacks and break of dawn breakfasts that you need to just swallow before leaving for a tour or excursion at 7am.
There were minor disturbances from the renovations going on around the pool area (level 6) and the exterior of the hotel. The pool is big enough to do small laps and the spa was relaxing. There's a normal spa and a 'hotter' spa for warmer temperatures which is great! We loved the hotter spa, especially at night. The only downside is that there is no gym in the building. Apparently you get discounts at a nearby gym but that's not the most convenient when you just want a quick work out.
The resort fee includes use of the pool/spa, PS3 in your room, a DVD card to rent movies for free, free wifi in your condo (you have your own router in the condo). The wifi was especially great. We had 3 people on skype at the same time and the internet wasn't slow.
Overall great experience. Staff was helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsagneshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Front Office Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Always nice to receive positive comments from our valued guests! We look forward in welcoming you back to the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed 10 nights January 2014, Travelling with others so had a few rooms between us. All rooms very dated with many maintenance issues. Beds uncomfortable, particularly the sofa bed - extremely uncomfortable, had to use couch cushions to layer between 'mattress' and sheet so you could get some sleep. Fold out bed just as bad.
Sliding doors on wardrobes wouldn't work. Security latch on door broken. Access to balcony locked as work was being done outside, which resulted in grinding outside early in the morning. When booking accommodation website advised outside work was being done but was due for completion in December so thought all would be done by our stay. Once we got into December website changed, now expected competition in April. No notification to advise that the work timeline would now be during our stay. Charges put onto credit card that were not applicable - reception not helpful in getting this fixed.

The good ... proximity to Waikiki beach area. Liked the pool/spa/bbq area, nothing fancy but roomy area for group of people to utilise.

Needs updating - new paint, kitchen makeover, update furniture etc., and this could be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try and make sure you get a room in the tower that isn't being worked on outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NQ_Disney_Dreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us and appreciate your comments. Unfortunately the exterior renovation has been delayed by 4 months and expected to be completed by April 30th, 2014 due to unforseen problems. The information was past on as soon as we received the information and sincerely apologize that you did not receive the information.
On going interior renovation is scheduled for 2014, in which we are looking to upgrade the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Two families booked 8 months prior to our stay for what we believed was a deluxe ocean view room . Upon arrival we were given an unrenovated room that feel short of our expectations. To the managers credit we were shown a number of room alternatives however each room was much the same . We were told that unlike a hotel these room are all owned by individuals who only update the room if they wish . We decided to leave the Banyan and seek accommodation elsewhere. After many costly phone calls expedia agreed to credit our payment to another place. The Banyan was also under going renovations at the time which involved not using the balcony and having water shut off during the day. This was not known to us at the time of booking . In hindsight it was not really worth the high fee to have a kitchen if we ever returned for a short visit 4 days or less we would just stay in a hotel room .

Room Tip: Work out if you really need to pay the higher fee to have a kitchen. We stayed for 4 nights, had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Sorry to hear we were not able to accommodate you with a renovated room and that accommodations were found elsewhere. We do try our best to assist all the needs of our guests and feel extremely terrible when we don't. We are happy though to hear that the rest of your vacation was not ruined and kudo's to Expedia! We do hope that you give the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan another chance, as 2014 is the year for room renovations to take place. Sincerely appreciate your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLoydminster, Saskatchewan Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We had a great room... It was a little outdated but overall it was really good. The need could have been more comfortable and the piloted could have been better. The doors separating the bedroom from the living area should be fixed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We appreciate your comments and happy to hear that you enjoy your recent stay with the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan. The maintenance department has since made the necessary repairs in the room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights in January, with my family. I have toe kids aged 16 and 7. The room was comfortable, except that the sofa bed my daughter was to use was broken so they provided an extra camp bed. Not really suitable for a tall 16 year old, so she ended up sleeping on the floor. The location is ok you can see the water from the balcony, we were on the 32nd floor.
The bathrooms are small and dated, but the kitchen facilities were good.
Not a great family facility if you want any privacy because if you close off the door to the bedroom, there is no a/c in the bedroom.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HeathThompsonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review! Your comments are sincerely appreciated and happy to report that 2014 is the year for room renovation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,100 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Property: Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Address: 201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3653 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Waikiki Banyan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Waikiki Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 876
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a block from the beach, this exceptionally kid-friendly property features one-bedroom suites that accommodate up to 5 people at no additional charge. It has the best recreation deck in Waikiki, complete with children's playground open late, so you can enjoy it after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aston at the Waikiki Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Banyan
Waikiki Banyan Hotel
Resort Quest Waikiki Banyan
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing