We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Nearby Hotels
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$414
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (965)
Filter reviews
965 results
Traveller rating
185
427
210
83
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
427
210
83
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenrecreation areabasketball courtbbq areamini martliving roomdiamond headcorner unitmountain viewfood pantrybit datedamenity feepool deckconvenience storepool towelsan updateparking garage
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 965 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Bad-We rented through VBRO and therefore the hotel staff treated us like we were scum.
Bed was awful, couch no better.
BBQ- pay $2.00 each time to cook a meal? Seriously?
$200+ per night way too high.
Parking staff seriously need better amenities, how could they possibly be pleasant in that dungeon?



Good- koko resorts staff were friendly and helpful when asked.
Short walk to the beach or strip.
Partial ocean view was a nice change to mountain view at the sunset.

Summary- if you pay the outrageous rates the hotel asks you may be treated as a human. Go through VRBO and you are as desirable to them as the beggars on the street asking for change or a spare dollar.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Sorry to hear that you've received substandard service from the Front Desk staff of the Aston. Unfortunately as you may have noticed, the Waikiki Banyan offers many managing agents and at times unable to assist other guests that have booked with a company other then Aston. For example, if you have a Wifi, Plumbing, Electrical, TV, etc.. issues, because Aston does not manage the unit, the only thing we can recommend is for you to contact whomever you confirmed your reservation with. We would love to be able to assist all, but unfortunately poses a liability for Aston. As for the Barbeque area, parking matters. I have forwarded your comments over to the Waikiki Banyan Condo Association whom handles the common area, to include the parking structure. I understand it may be a bit confusing, but Aston is a managing agency simliar to Koko Resorts. Hope to have clarified any confusion and suggest that you contact whomever you make your reservations (VRBO) to address the condition of the room. A customers voice goes a long way and we sincerely appreciate hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a dive! This accommodation is extremely dated. Not ideal if there are four adults travelling. Queen size bed is a fold out couch with very uncomfortable innersprung mattress. Glad we didn't take the cat as you wouldn't be able to swing it in the bathroom/toilet. Bathroom floor unclean with several dark hairs, we are all blond. Joinery old and splitting and bathroom window covered in dust and webs. Kitchen oven archaic. We will not be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taurangashamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Sorry to hear we were not able to accommodate you with a renovated room and that you were not satisfied with your accommodations. We do try our best to assist all the needs of our guests and feel extremely terrible when we don't. We do hope that you give the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan another chance, as 2014 is the year for room renovations to take place. Sincerely appreciate your comments!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Waikiki Banyan is a nice place to stay in Waikiki. It's not the most central location but everything is within a 10 minute stroll away. Being travellers from Australia, we took every opportunity to shop and stock up on items that are ridiculously cheaper in the US than back home, so almost every night after dinner, we walk to the DFS, Royal Hawaiian Centre and along Kuhio Ave to shop. Walking along the beach back to the Banyan was nice and is quite safe late at night.
We rented a 1 bedroom condo with a full kitchen and felt that it was roomy enough to fit 4 ladies with A LOT of shopping. We used almost half the floor space to put our shopping bags down and still had lots of space to move around.
The kitchen is convenient for late night snacks and break of dawn breakfasts that you need to just swallow before leaving for a tour or excursion at 7am.
There were minor disturbances from the renovations going on around the pool area (level 6) and the exterior of the hotel. The pool is big enough to do small laps and the spa was relaxing. There's a normal spa and a 'hotter' spa for warmer temperatures which is great! We loved the hotter spa, especially at night. The only downside is that there is no gym in the building. Apparently you get discounts at a nearby gym but that's not the most convenient when you just want a quick work out.
The resort fee includes use of the pool/spa, PS3 in your room, a DVD card to rent movies for free, free wifi in your condo (you have your own router in the condo). The wifi was especially great. We had 3 people on skype at the same time and the internet wasn't slow.
Overall great experience. Staff was helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsagneshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Front Office Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Always nice to receive positive comments from our valued guests! We look forward in welcoming you back to the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed 10 nights January 2014, Travelling with others so had a few rooms between us. All rooms very dated with many maintenance issues. Beds uncomfortable, particularly the sofa bed - extremely uncomfortable, had to use couch cushions to layer between 'mattress' and sheet so you could get some sleep. Fold out bed just as bad.
Sliding doors on wardrobes wouldn't work. Security latch on door broken. Access to balcony locked as work was being done outside, which resulted in grinding outside early in the morning. When booking accommodation website advised outside work was being done but was due for completion in December so thought all would be done by our stay. Once we got into December website changed, now expected competition in April. No notification to advise that the work timeline would now be during our stay. Charges put onto credit card that were not applicable - reception not helpful in getting this fixed.

The good ... proximity to Waikiki beach area. Liked the pool/spa/bbq area, nothing fancy but roomy area for group of people to utilise.

Needs updating - new paint, kitchen makeover, update furniture etc., and this could be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try and make sure you get a room in the tower that isn't being worked on outside.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NQ_Disney_Dreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us and appreciate your comments. Unfortunately the exterior renovation has been delayed by 4 months and expected to be completed by April 30th, 2014 due to unforseen problems. The information was past on as soon as we received the information and sincerely apologize that you did not receive the information.
On going interior renovation is scheduled for 2014, in which we are looking to upgrade the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Two families booked 8 months prior to our stay for what we believed was a deluxe ocean view room . Upon arrival we were given an unrenovated room that feel short of our expectations. To the managers credit we were shown a number of room alternatives however each room was much the same . We were told that unlike a hotel these room are all owned by individuals who only update the room if they wish . We decided to leave the Banyan and seek accommodation elsewhere. After many costly phone calls expedia agreed to credit our payment to another place. The Banyan was also under going renovations at the time which involved not using the balcony and having water shut off during the day. This was not known to us at the time of booking . In hindsight it was not really worth the high fee to have a kitchen if we ever returned for a short visit 4 days or less we would just stay in a hotel room .

Room Tip: Work out if you really need to pay the higher fee to have a kitchen. We stayed for 4 nights, had breakfast each day in room but only 2 dinners so for us it was not worth the extra cost should we have just stayed in a hotel .
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Sorry to hear we were not able to accommodate you with a renovated room and that accommodations were found elsewhere. We do try our best to assist all the needs of our guests and feel extremely terrible when we don't. We are happy though to hear that the rest of your vacation was not ruined and kudo's to Expedia! We do hope that you give the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan another chance, as 2014 is the year for room renovations to take place. Sincerely appreciate your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews