We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rooms need updating STAT” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rooms need updating STAT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The staff was courteous and friendly. The lobby areas are quite nice. I know that some of these rooms are individually owned (and rented out as time shares and such). We were part of a tour group, and had approximately 60 people staying on several floors. The room that I was in had a sofa that needed recovering. The fabric was so worn through that it was shredded and you could see the cushion material/stuffing poking through. The carpet was worn, but clean. The countertop was chipped, and had been patched. The wallpaper and paint was chipped on corners where bags most likely bumped into them going in and out of the bedroom.

Our room had 2 twin beds (which was fine for me and my roommate). They weren't the most comfortable, but were adequate. We were so tired from our adventures that we really didn't notice. We had plenty of towels, and pillows. However, that sofa really bugged me. I asked the front desk to cover it with a sheet or something, as it looked scratchy and uncomfortable. We didn't spend much time in our room, so it wasn't so bad.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of Waikiki beach. The bus line has a stop just off of Kuhio and Ohua, so mass transit was easy. The Bus drivers were kind and courteous and rather helpful.

The hotel lacks a restaurant, but seeing how as it is more an apartment/condo building(s) than hotel, that isn't too surprising. If the room had better accommodations (wifi $18? Really?), I would have given it 4-5 stars. The state of the sofa and chair were bad enough that it really knocked down the rating.

Would I stay here again? If I could have a different room that doesn't beg for rehab, yes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Sincerely appreciate your comments about the sofa bed. We are happy to report that major room renovation will be taking place this Fall! So your comments will not be unheard, nor ignored! The $18.00 amenity fee includes, WIfi, local call, daily coffee, Playstation 3 (games/movies) and the usage of the safety deposit box!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    390
    182
    73
    54
See reviews for
502
137
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This place is a mugs joint for unassuming Kiwis and Aussies. Dont be fooled like we were. Prices do not reflect the dim and old nature of this building that may have been OK in the 80's. Ugly entrance, dim and dungy reception and lift foyer. Old fashioned fit out and basic bedding. Reasonably handy to downtown Waikiki. Recommend checking out newer opposition that books out early for good reason.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Are you able to provide us with more specific information? Unfortunately the Waikiki Banyan, which is a condo has many managing agents and Aston being one of the many. We love and welcome all guest and here to offer any assistance, non Aston guests or Aston guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Hi, stayed 10 nights in March 2014.
Too early to book in so cases were stored, no problem.
I was lucky to deal with Jason on reception, I explained that we had paid top dollar (Expedia) and asked what he would advise. He booked us into a good room on level 32, tower 2 for 2 nights then up to level 35 for the remaining 8. ( Rooms 8 -14 up high in tower 2 are the best I think)
Jason was very helpful and also good for a little chat on way in or out.
Apartments are a bit dated, goes with the vintage of the building but very comfortable.
Kitchen is a bonus as eating out in Waikiki is expensive so we bought some basic food at "Food Pantry" and had breakfast each morning in the apartment.
I would definitely stay here again, apart from the above, the Banyan is in a great position on Diamond head area of Waikiki, walk to Lulu's, Tiki bar, beach, zoo etc also only 10 minutes walk to all the other places, Dukes, Jimmy Buffet, Cheesecake Factory etc. Trolley buses take you to Ala Moana for $2.00 each way.
Thanks Jason & Banyan.

Room Tip: High floors, tower 2, rooms 8 - 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Jason was able to assist you. He is one of our senior employees and definitely takes pride in ensuring our valued guests are enjoyed their stay and returns!

We look forward in welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

You have to do your research. Each unit is individually owned therefore they are all similar but very different. We choose and booked a unit after looking at many units online.i kept my eye on the unit and realized that we would be affected by the stack work going on and reserved another room. I have no significant complaints about our unit. It was renovated so looks lovely, well stocked, had enough comfortable sleeping areas for 2 teenagers & 2 adults, a great view of the ocean to the left, and view of the canal and golf course to the right. We could borrow boogie boards, beach mats, etc thru koko resorts. It is a little walk to some of the higher end shops but a very short walk to the beach, and many of the abc stores, fast food, coffee shops, zoo, aquarium etc. we did not cook in the unit but the fridge, freezer, dishes, microwave & blender were very handy. If I had really had to nitpick I would say it would have been nice to have more areas to store luggage and it could use a really thorough dusting and Clean, not just the hotel turn around wipe down. The outdoor pool area on level 6 was roomy enough with lounge chairs for all of us. We enjoyed our stay and would imagine with young children we would have used and appreciated the kitchen even more. Yes we heard sirens, it's a big city, yes it's expensive, it's an island, yes some of the people were less friendly then others, yes there are homeless people like most all large cities. Overall we felt safe and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollipoppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Happy to hear that Koko Resorts was able to offer you a fablous service! There are many managing agents here in the Waikiki Banyan and the Aston is also considered one of the managing agents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was our fifth stay at this hotel and our best. We had an amazing ocean view from our room on the 38th floor where we could watch the humpback whales frolicking off Queens beach every day and the Honolulu Festival fireworks were simply breathtaking from our front row seat. On arrival, Jason Blossey and his front desk team made us feel like we were returning home and we were made to feel like we were a part of their family.
We like the location in the quieter part of Waikiki and everything is within a short walk, including some of the best local eateries like Lulu's Surf Bar, Wolfgang Puck Express, MAC 24/7 and the Banyon Breeze, located in the lobby of Tower One of the Banyon. The pool, the barbecues are wonderful assets for a family and entertaining island friends and families. Some of the rooms are a little dated and not refurbished yet but really, how much time are you going to spend in a hotel room in Hawaii? The one bedroom suites are large with all kitchen necessities and the beds are comfortable and the A/C keeps the room very comfortable.
We stayed in the hotel, not a private condo, so my comments are about the hotel and it's staff. The daily housekeeping kept the sand picked up and the rooms and bathroom clean and fresh clean towels every day. The staff are very friendly and make an effort to try and know you and to them, nothing is a problem. We had two minor issues with an appliance and plumbing and Jason had it taken care of instantly. I always appreciate the can-do attitude. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe ocean view room, the high view is worth it and the sunsets are amazing. There are p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Porschersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Jason was able to assist you. He is one of our senior employees and definitely takes pride in ensuring our valued guests are enjoyed their stay and returns! We look forward in welcoming you back to your home away from home location, the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Bad-We rented through VBRO and therefore the hotel staff treated us like we were scum.
Bed was awful, couch no better.
BBQ- pay $2.00 each time to cook a meal? Seriously?
$200+ per night way too high.
Parking staff seriously need better amenities, how could they possibly be pleasant in that dungeon?



Good- koko resorts staff were friendly and helpful when asked.
Short walk to the beach or strip.
Partial ocean view was a nice change to mountain view at the sunset.

Summary- if you pay the outrageous rates the hotel asks you may be treated as a human. Go through VRBO and you are as desirable to them as the beggars on the street asking for change or a spare dollar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Sorry to hear that you've received substandard service from the Front Desk staff of the Aston. Unfortunately as you may have noticed, the Waikiki Banyan offers many managing agents and at times unable to assist other guests that have booked with a company other then Aston. For example, if you have a Wifi, Plumbing, Electrical, TV, etc.. issues, because Aston does not manage the unit, the only thing we can recommend is for you to contact whomever you confirmed your reservation with. We would love to be able to assist all, but unfortunately poses a liability for Aston. As for the Barbeque area, parking matters. I have forwarded your comments over to the Waikiki Banyan Condo Association whom handles the common area, to include the parking structure. I understand it may be a bit confusing, but Aston is a managing agency simliar to Koko Resorts. Hope to have clarified any confusion and suggest that you contact whomever you make your reservations (VRBO) to address the condition of the room. A customers voice goes a long way and we sincerely appreciate hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a dive! This accommodation is extremely dated. Not ideal if there are four adults travelling. Queen size bed is a fold out couch with very uncomfortable innersprung mattress. Glad we didn't take the cat as you wouldn't be able to swing it in the bathroom/toilet. Bathroom floor unclean with several dark hairs, we are all blond. Joinery old and splitting and bathroom window covered in dust and webs. Kitchen oven archaic. We will not be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taurangashamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Sorry to hear we were not able to accommodate you with a renovated room and that you were not satisfied with your accommodations. We do try our best to assist all the needs of our guests and feel extremely terrible when we don't. We do hope that you give the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan another chance, as 2014 is the year for room renovations to take place. Sincerely appreciate your comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,984 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#53 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Property: Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Address: 201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3653 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Waikiki Banyan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Waikiki Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 876
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a block from the beach, this exceptionally kid-friendly property features one-bedroom suites that accommodate up to 5 people at no additional charge. It has the best recreation deck in Waikiki, complete with children's playground open late, so you can enjoy it after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aston at the Waikiki Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Banyan
Waikiki Banyan Hotel
Resort Quest Waikiki Banyan
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing