We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Nearby Hotels
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$406
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$517
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$503
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$355
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (965)
Filter reviews
965 results
Traveller rating
185
427
210
83
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
427
210
83
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenrecreation areabasketball courtbbq areamini martliving roomdiamond headcorner unitmountain viewfood pantrybit datedamenity feepool deckconvenience storepool towelsan updateparking garage
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 965 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Booked this hotel for 18 nights as it was close to the beach and had a kitchenette. The day we arrived we were informed that the pool would close in 2 days time for 2 weeks maintenance and that the travel suppliers had been informed. Well we hadn't so I was not impressed. We were credited 1 weeks resort fee in compensation. However the pool was open again in 1 week. The room itself was badly in need of a makeover and looked like no maintenance had been done in 20 or more years. While we were there the toilet cistern started to leak on the floor and had to be replaced. This was done promptly but with another old one. A table lamp in the lounge had been broken (ceramic base) and then glued together, the curtain rods were rusty and there were small repairs done on the bath edges to prevent water running on the floor while showering. I did notice while walking past other rooms on our floor that were being serviced that they were a lot better than our room. The travel magazine from the travel agent stated that there was a restaurant at the hotel but there wasn't. Also there was no information about how to get towels for the pool/beach. I had to ask reception and they sent me to housekeeping. Not impressed and wouldn't return here.

Room Tip: If you can find out, ask for a room with dark curtains, ours were cream and it gets light early in the morning so no sleep ins for us.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raewyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was disappointing. Though we notify our travel partners once we received word about the annual service of the pool, jacuzzi and surface at times the message may not be provided to our valued guests. We do try our best to assist all the needs of our guests and feel extremely terrible when we don't. We do hope that you give the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan another chance, as 2014 is the year for room renovations to take place. Sincerely appreciate your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a great place to stay, close to the beach, yet away from the noise and crowds. The staff treated us like royalty. There was construction going on but we weren't near it. The condo was clean and comfortable, located on the 7th. floor with view of ocean and city, when we had only paid the cheapest price so were suppose to be on the first 3 floors.

Room Tip: Our condo on the 7th. floor was good for us.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dorinne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Look forward in welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is my third time staying at the Banyan , so I have experience staying here. This time was for our 30th wedding anniversary. The lady who checked us in said we had a great room top floor just remodeled so I was excited to see the new rooms. The hall ways and elevator needs updating for sure. The room we got was 3805 an updated room which was very nice on the surface, but upon closer inspection..... the bed was hard and old... bedding very simple and well used. the furnishings have been up dated. The Kitchen was the best part. The TV is on a wall that seperates the kitchen and bedroom , so you can not sit in bed and watch TCV, you have to sit on the couch. The TV even though new flat screen had lines running the length of the picture which made it hard to catch it. I know that air Conditioners are loud, but when ours was turned off so we could sleep in a quiet room.... all we hear was the loud humm of the on roof unit. When asking the front desk - they said I would not get a better room and I should try to live with the loud humming . I was not impressed.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the very top floor ( 38th) as your will hear the humming from the roof.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tharms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Sorry to hear that you didn't like unit 2-3805 as this is one of the most popular room and we receive quite a bit of request for this room from many of the return guests. We have since contact the Condo Association in hopes to find out where the humming sound is coming rom, as this is the first we are hearing of this. We sincerely appreciate your valuable comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Some of the reviews I read about the Waikiki Banyan before staying there were... off-putting. Thankfully they were all proved wrong by our week long stay at the property. Although the one bedroom apartment was a little outdated, it was well stocked with cutlery, dishes and so on. There was a full kitchen (oven, microwave, kettle, coffee maker), and a quick trip to Walmart (roughly 10-15mn drive) stocked the cupboards for the week.
As a family of three (all adults), the configuration that we asked for originally (one double in the bedroom and a foldout in the lounge) was not respected despite giving months of advance warning, but we were able to shift one of the two beds in the bedroom into the lounge area and still have plenty of room to move around. I do understand that it is hard to manage rooms on a daily basis, but I would have thought the advance notice given in this case was enough.
We had an ocean view room, and it was simply awesome to wake up to a view of Waikiki Beach and a little sliver of Diamond Head. Note that there is a charge for Wifi and rental of the Playstation etc for movies ($18 per night, I believe), as well as a charge for parking, which can be paid for on a weekly basis (my memory is pointing to the $80 USD mark on this count). The hotel is located nice and close to the beach, and possesses both a pool and a sauna, as well as two hot tubs and a tennis court.
As a travel agent (specialising in NZ and Australia, so I should point out that I don't sell or have any professional connections to this property or any in Hawaii/USA for that matter), I would recommend this accommodation to friends, family and anyone looking for a relatively low budget, reliable apartment hotel.
A final note, there was a power cut to the block the hotel is on whilst we were staying, the staff handled the event very well with minimal disruption, letting people know what was going on with the speaker system within the hotel itself and directing them to the torches in their rooms.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the sea view rooms!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebz0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We're happy to hear that you will be recommending the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan to your friends and family! We love hear personal referrals! We do try our best to honor every requests, but unfortunately even with advance notices at times we are unable too. But happy to hear that by rearranging the bed, things works out for you. The staff at the front desk are trained to deal with emergency situations and happy to hear that training has paid off! We look forward in welcoming you back and be sure to let us know that you're a return guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The location of the hotel is great, far enough to the east of Waikiki to where it's quieter than the center of town, yet close enough to walk anywhere. Very close to the beach, and yet the price per night is relatively fair compared to other hotels.

The lobby of the hotel is quite nice, it is conjoined with the outdoors, bringing the indoors out! The lady that checked us in was undoubtedly the nicest hotel staff member I have ever had the pleasure of talking too.

The halls of the hotel are very outdated, raggedy old red carpets, strange green walls, and highly humid, stuffy, unairconditioned corridors are not a real comfortable place to be. The rooms are actually quite nice. Nothing fancy, but the size is great, balconies just an added bonus!

Now this building used to be a condo complex, changed into a hotel. So all rooms do have kitchens, depending on whether you like to pinch pennies or not, this may be a plus or negative. The plus side is you can go to the shops and buy enough coffee and groceries to make sandwiches and fruit salad for breakfast every morning. The downside with having a kitchen in a place where people come and go is cockroaches. Even though you may not see one on your stay here, they are most likely there, we had a lot in our kitchen, and house keeping had to come and spray twice during our one week stay. It's no secret we were slightly paranoid about brining these guys home, we shook off all our clothes and threw them in the direr before we left, and washed everything immediately when we got home.

To Summarize, this is a hotel with spacious rooms, great staff, perfect location, fair price, but comes with the cost of outdated corridors, slightly outdated rooms, and bugs. I would give this hotel a 3/5 but the staff bumped that up to a well deserved 4

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger, better laid out and offer partial Ocean views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArtStayedHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We are happy to hear that you've received exceptional service by one of the front office personnels! We take pride in sharing our Aloha Spirit with all and appreciate that you noticed it!

As you mentioned, the Waikiki Banyan is a Condo and the Aston is a managing agent and manages 237 units out of the 876 units her on property. All the units are individually owned and decor differs as well. Which makes Aston at the Banyan a very unique property.

We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful island of Oahu and know you have many choices of accomodations and know that you'll be chosing the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, as we offer exceptional service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews