We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location”
Review of Waikiki Shore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waikiki Shore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a location”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were in apartment 612 on the 6th floor and what a sensational view we had of the park and the ocean the kitchen was well equipped with all the gear you would need .we were a family of 3 and the sofa bed was meant to be slept on but we had a fold up bed in the room mainly because the sofa was not comfortable there were areas in the apartment that were getting a bit tired and you had to be careful how you closed the vertical drapes or the slats fell off.
but all this aside the place was great and you could not get closer to Waikiki beach than this ,enjoyed Dino the bird man out the back door on the beach he was a lot of fun and the place was close to every thing pricing compared to others close by was excellent.

Room Tip: Get and apartment on the 6th floor or higher either an ocean view or part ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roddy1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    267
    78
    41
    28
See reviews for
305
204
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

View/Location = 10Stars!!!!
I researched a ton of places on Waikiki for our family vacation and chose to book Waikiki Shore Condo 1010 via the Captain Cook reservation system.
We're a family of 3 (mom, dad and 9 year old daughter) and we stayed 3 nights before heading to the Big Island for a week. Master/King bed was great - we slept well. The sofa pull out was great for our daughter. The condo gave us more room than a hotel room would have. The kitchen had everything we needed (the cabinetry is a bit dated, so what?). The bathroom was big... I imagine some would complain about the tub - it has a couple of chips that has been repaired - making it look 'old and tired' - but so what?).
There is no pool on the property - BUT you are ONLY steps from the BEACH!
You do not have to pay a resort fee (like many of the hotel resort require - not sure what that is all about???). You do have to pay for parking, if you have a rental car... the location is walkable k to all kinds of shopping, dining, and The BEACH. There is a bus stop right out the door and taxis know where the place is as well. However, we did rent a car - and parking was $18 a day and was easy to use (we were assigned a spot and it was always available when we returned.
The view IS incredible!!! The balcony had comfortable seating for 4, which included a table, and we enjoyed our breakfast each morning and the sunset at night. Totally enjoyed the free Friday Night fireworks!
I would recommend this place to couples or small families. You can NOT beat the rate, location, or the VIEW! By the way, you have a view of both the beach and the city!

Room Tip: #1010 is as pictured on all the websites (vrbo and captain cooks)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Exceeded our expectations. Stayed in 1410 with the most amazing views from the balcony and kitchen window over the ocean. The apartment was furnished and kitchen fully stocked with all the modcons beyond our expectations and it was faultless.

Great location, close to restaurants, other hotels, and the beach made it very convenient. The pink bus stop to Ala Moana was very close as well.

Would highly recommend this place to anyone new to Waikiki.

As a very small issue, having the one lift out of action in the week we were there meant long waits, at times, for the lift. Which had the cleaning staff, tradies and guests competing to get down to the ground floor. So would appeal for the other lift to be fixed. Also very small issue, please supply table mats for the glass top table.

Room Tip: The higher the better and closest to the beach side for awesome sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gords48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennywaikikishore, General Manager at Waikiki Shore, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
The elevator will be fixed tomorrow.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful place and great rooms. Much better than regular hotel. U have a condo at a hotel price! Highly recommended!! Must do shorebird for breakfast! Has lots of fun ocean rental options too!! Great family trip!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank magikdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennywaikikishore, General Manager at Waikiki Shore, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We appreciate your comments and recommendation.
We are beachfront fully furnished condominiums at better than hotel prices.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Condo staff was first rate; very friendly and helpful. Room was perfect; lots of space, clean, excellent views. Friday night fireworks, morning rainbows, swimming in warm, calm turquoise ocean water, and beautiful sunsets. That pretty much sums up our experience. In short, we'll be back. Mahalo, Waikiki Shore! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jabov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennywaikikishore, General Manager at Waikiki Shore, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and your acknowledgement of our staff.
I will pass your comments to them, it's greatly appreciated.
We are a fully furnished condominium located beachfront with incomparable views.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Castle Waikiki Shores Condominiums. We were delighted with our condo. Views from the balcony were amazing. The people were beautiful. Fresh towels and bed linen every day. We had our own kitchen, lovely bathroom, great comfortable bed. Everything you need for a very pleasant stay. We could book tours downstairs that were excellent catering for everyone. We will go back again, we had such a wonderful time and accommodation is very important for a very comfortable stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: We were in fair 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JandD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennywaikikishore, General Manager at Waikiki Shore, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for the wonderful review.
We are a beachfront condominium hotel with full kitchen and washer/dryer and daily maid service.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyne Island, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

After a week up town we booked a condo at Waikiki Shore which is next door to Outrigger Reef Hotel. Our room on the 7th floor had well equipped kitchen with combined lounge,dining and bedroom. We had a small study plus large bathroom with washing machine and dryer. The highlight was the huge balcony overlooking the park and out to the ocean.....wow! Great location, easy walk up town and plenty of great dining choices close by. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennywaikikishore, General Manager at Waikiki Shore, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for moving to the Waikiki Shore.
We appreciate your kind comments about your unit unit and our beachfront location.
We are centrally located to many shops and restaurants in Waikiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,436 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Shore

Property: Waikiki Shore
Address: 2161 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waikiki Shore is the only beachfront condominium on Waikiki Beach, located amid the famed restaurants and upscale boutiques of Waikiki Beach Walk. Studios, one- and two-bedroom suites are equipped with kitchens and in-room washers and dryers and have stunning views of the ocean, park, and weekly fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waikiki Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Shore Hotel Honolulu
Castle Waikiki Shore
Waikiki Shore Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing