We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALLAN AND BARBARA”
Review of Aqua Waikiki Pearl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Ranked #73 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Gulfport, Mississippi, United States
1 review
“ALLAN AND BARBARA”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Fun, friendly and helpful staff.They made our stay so enjoyable.Large clean rooms.Remote controlled air conditioner.Nice T.V.,mini fridge and microwave. Comfortable bed and pillows. Great shower head and plenty of hot water.Located close to the beach. Lots of great local places to eat and a food court market place nearby. Again, I can't say enough about the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    465
    219
    84
    72
See reviews for
347
375
133
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We are a family of five and stayed in a one bedroom apartment. There was more than enough room for all of us. We are Kiwis from New Zealand and after a long flight (and grumpy kids 17y, 9y, 7y), we were greeted by friendly and knowledgeable local staff. For complete foreingers like us, that was awesome! We were there to meet up with a group of friends from Las Vegas, Australia and NZ, and the Legends bar downstairs became our "local". We didn't find any faults with anything, the room was clean and tidy. Our days were filled with swimming, shopping and touring around Oahu with our friends. So we were gone in the morning and back in the evening. We Kiwis are not fussy and when we travel all we want is a clean place to lay our heads down, after all we're not there to spend all day in our rooms! But we cannot stress enough about the service and the friendliness of the staff, always smiling and would talk to our kids about their day. Aqua Pearl is right in the heart of Waikiki and close to all the restaurants, better still, its only 2 blocks from the beach. Overall I'm glad we stayed here, we had the best holiday and would do it all over again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Tejas, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Due to the horrible scheduling on AA to Kona we choose to spend two nights in Waikiki, having not done so in a very long time. We weren't looking for luxury but price wasn't a driver, either. The Pearl seemed to fit the bill and did.

Warts first. It's an older building in a mixed neighborhood of "affordable" (for Waikiki) apts, high rise condos and mid range hotels. This is a weird bird. Most often you see apts shaped from motels but this seems to be a hotel shapped from apts. it's well done but seems odd in places. I reserved a non-smoking and there were no signs of smoking but the room had that aroma like my mother's house, even 30 years after my father died. Sheets in particular. But we choose not to complain because it was way late for us (after 2 am back home) and it was only two nights. So I'm to blame for not getting it "fixed".

The good stuff. A couple of blocks from Kalakaua and a bus line on each end of the block. Plenty of restaurant choices in your choice of styles and prices. An ABC at the end of the block. And down the street. And ... (Vetern Hawai'i visitors get that one). The staff is dynamite. How about "no mam, thank you" to a tip!!!

Were I staying in Waikiki again for a week or so with our budget this wouldn't be my first choice. But a night or two, say pre or post cruise or as a jumping off point, or if you do need to watch your dollars and this would be a great place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TejasDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed here for one week on a business trip and was very disappointed. Here is a list of the things that I found that I did not like:
Parking - Not enough onsite parking. This was after paying $23.00 to park my car.
Bathroom sink would not drain
Bathtub would not drain
Bathtub drain stopper closed each time I turned on the shower - resulting in water up to my ankles. Finally stuck a package of soap under it to keep it open.
Toilet would not flush correctly
Room smelled liked bleached urine
TV was a 17" LG computer monitor
Stains on carpet
Small ants everywhere in bathroom
AC did not get the room cold
Had to stand on a chair to reach the AC temp adjustment
AC leaked water
AC was loud and rattled

Here are the things I did like:
The staff was VERY friendly and nice to work with!
Great location
Starbucks serving real Kona coffee on the corner. Yummy

Bottom line - I won't be staying here again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsMiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,249 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We initially booked two nights here based on the good reviews posted on Trip Advisor. I hesitated to believe it possible because our nightly rate here was 30-50% less than the "specials" most 2.5 star hotels in Waikiki were advertising. But Aqua Pearl turns out to be a good find.

Book direct via their website. You get an additional 12% off the lowest advertised price with their Kamaaina (welcome) rate, and you can request an upgrade for just a few bucks if they have availability.

Aqua Pearl is three blocks from the beach, directly through the center of the International Market (which happens to have a U.S. Post Office branch, fyi). It's also half block from the east edge of the tourist shopping and restaurant district, which is perfect because you can sleep at night removed from the noise.

You can get anywhere on the island via the local bus service for $2.50. The bus stop is 1/2 block from the hotel so you don't need to rent a car, which saves lots of money on daily parking fees.

Almost all of Waikiki's hotel construction is from the 1950s-60s, so everything is either old, renovated, or torn down and rebuilt. Aqua Pearl is in the renovated category. Now in our fourth night, after twice extending our stay, we find our room very satisfactory.

We did get the upgrade to a junior king suite. The room is huge, with minimal furnishings. Though we've had our suitcases strewn all over the floor all week (because we didn't unpack thinking we might move) there's still more than enough room to bring the patio table and chairs from the balcony inside, so you can dine in air conditioning.

The junior king room comes with a microwave and mini-refridge, which are both important if you can't bear to eat restaurant food every meal. We found a grocery store in Honolulu and stocked up on fresh fruit and veggies, yogurt, green tea, organic half & half, etc.

The room has a coffee maker, but you need to bring your own cream, as only the powdered kind is provided. Toiletries provided are shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, and bar soap. (No idea why every hotel on the planet doesn't provide body wash instead of goopy soap.)

There is no pool or fitness center, but you can get a discount pass at 24 Hour Fitness (about 4 blocks away) if you're staying at one of the Aqua properties.

The front desk staff and housekeeping staff are very friendly and accommodating. I really like the chilled watermelon water available in the lobby all day.

The king bed is very comfortable, as are the pillows. Blankets aren't necessary here, and you can sleep with your balcony door wide open weeknights when it's quiet. There are literally no bugs !

We have an astonishing view from our eighth floor room of Waikiki city lights after sundown. The balcony is enormous and it's very pleasant to enjoy a cup of coffee outside as the sun is rising.

The bathroom has been renovated with granite counter, shower/tub enclosure, and a pretty mirror. The hotel skimps on bath towels (two per day), but that's understandable because I'd guess that guests take them to the beach and lose them or ruin them. I love the full length mirrors on the double closet doors in the bedroom.

The flat screen TV is only about 27" so you can't see it from across the room (no watching TV in bed), but then who comes to Hawaii to watch TV ?

Our only complaint is the free Wi-Fi. It's difficult to impossible to get connected, and then if you do find a connection, browsing is approx. the speed of dial-up. No exaggeration. So forget hotel Wi-Fi. Starbucks is 1/2 block away, and if that one happens to be crowded, there's a second Starbucks one block north.

I don't hesitate to recommend this hotel for people traveling on a budget. You can pay a whole lot more for a whole lot less in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter. Exterior rooms on high floors have fantastic views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FancyFree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week and were VERY surprised at the close proximity to all the wonderful sights there are there. The staff was knowledgable and quite pleasant. the street noise might bother some but hey, Its summer all year long!!

Room Tip: Good value for the cost. The lanai was wonderful to sit out and have a cup of coffee or light lunch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We recently had a week at the hotel and I would recommend it to anyone. The price was reasonable, the location was excellent - walking distance to most of the attractions, shops. Lots of cheap eating and drinking places nearby. The staff were very friendly and helpful when we had questions about where to catch buses if we needed to. There was a fridge and coffee machine in our room and a safe for our valuables. I would certainly stay again next time we are in Hawaii.

Jane and Greg Brisbane Australia

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missjane63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,645 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
605 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Waikiki Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Pearl

Property: Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Address: 415 Nahua St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2949
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Waikiki Pearl 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Waikiki Pearl is a mid-rise hotel tucked into the heart of Waikiki. This location showcases the vibrant city, near shops and restaurants. Located just 2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, this comfortable hotel offers spacious accommodations, large balconies in most rooms, a refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffeemaker with full kitchens in suites. You'll also enjoy the on-site sports bar, Legends, with multi-screen TV's, as well as various retail shops and services. With the daily hospitality fee Aqua Waikiki Pearl allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hotel Honolulu
Aston Honolulu Prince Hotel
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing