We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Room was very well equipped
Views from the 29th floor of Waikiki beach were outstanding
Close to most of the things you want to do during the day or evening in Waikiki
On site parking was handy even though it was a bit dear
Air conditioner was woefully inadequate for the size of the unit

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiiiildbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for Aqua Pacific Monarch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

A great hotel, good location, spacious and clean rooms. Need to work on their customer service. First issue minor - not overly friendly about rectifying their booking mistake - gave us a double (not ideal for adult brother & sister) when a twin room was clearly on our booking form. Their response was use the sofa bed, and were reluctant to move us to a twin room.

The second issue was my mistake but I am really surprised that the hotel wasn't able to provide a good outcome. Just before checking out I'd put my wet bikini in a hotel towel to dry it off a bit, got side tracked packing & ended up leaving it behind. Contacted Hotel within 24 hours of checking out (as soon as I'd got back to NZ). Neither the hotel nor their laundry service located the bikini despite me telling them exactly where it had been left - seems strange to me a bikini wrapped up in a towel wasn't discovered by room service or laundry - where else could it get too?! Disappointed as I know of friends who've left cheap and easily replaceable umbrella's behind and a hotel has posted it to them! You'd hope a hotel would make an effort to locate something a guest left behind but I got the impression they assumed from the outset it was gone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi_travels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed in May but I have forgotten to do my review so here it is..

Checked in pretty late so check in was nice and quick.. When we got to do the room it was nice and clean. We did not have a nice view from our room, just a view looking down onto the street. Did not have even any issues with room during our stay . The hotel is a 5 minute walk to Waikiki beach which was very convenient. There was ABC store on every corner if you needed to buy anything. If you want to buy liquor do it before 11pm!! One en night we were stuck driving around looking for a place to buy alcohol but they stop selling at 11pm everywhere. The rooftop pool was nice, such a great view. We went up there since the beach was too packed and it was nice to get some sun and be in the water.

We rented a car since we went there for a wedding and needed to drive outside of waikiki area. I recommend if you are planning on staying in the waikiki area and only going out on tours you do not need to rent a car. We also needed to pay $20 a day for parking.

We went to Hanauma bay for snorkelling which a must do! If you are driving I recommend going to Waimanalo beach. It is beautiful!! The beach I quiet and you don't have to worry about lots of people.

We enjoyed our stay in Hawaii, would come back to this hotel if I got a good deal but I would probably try out a different hotel on the Waikiki strip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carebear15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for 2 separate one nights before and after a week on Maui, on the first night I left my gents gold band heirloom ring on the bed side table on check out at 10.00am, with travelling to Maui and all that entailed it was not until 4.00pm when I was able to telephone the hotel from Maui and enquire about my 'lost' possession, how relieved I was, not to mention my wife who was going to 'skin me alive' to be told it was handed in by housekeeping to reception and I was able to retrieve my ring one week later when we returned. We duly rewarded 'housekeeping' for her honesty and this made our holiday complete. The only grumble we had on our 2nd night was when we tried to operate the oven to heat up a meal we were unable to make the darn thing work and the maintenance man was also unable to operate the seemingly uncooperative offending electric oven, apart from that we would definaely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 1年前くらいに予約したほうがいいと思います
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lovelymimi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 後でクレームを出すより最初に何でも聞いて下さい。解決しますよ
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ロコファミリー
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,812 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,655 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pacific Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pacific Monarch

Address: 2427 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301 (Formerly Aston Pacific Monarch)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £120 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Pacific Monarch 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki, the renovated Aqua Pacific Monarch is located just 2 short blocks to world-famous Waikiki Beach and steps to the area's best shopping, dining, and nightlife. The hotel features spacious studios and one-bedroom suites, a restaurant, rooftop pool, jet spa, sauna, sundeck, coin-operated laundry facilities and Parking is available for a fee. Aqua Pacific Monarch embodies true convenience for beach life. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Pacific Monarch allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, each room comes with a mini-refrigerator, microwave, kitchenette with granite countertop and stovetops, and 32-inch LCDTVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aqua Pacific Monarch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Pacific Monarch Hotel Honolulu
Aston Hotel Honolulu
Aston Hotel Pacific Monarch
Resortquest Pacific Monarch Honolulu
Pacific Monarch Hawaii
Resort Quest Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing