We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The view from the One Bedroom Ocean View rooms is 5 star, but the hotel overall is a bit tired and dated and so 3 star. It's for that reason that I've rated it four star overall. The One Bedroom Ocean View rooms also have a really spacious balcony with table and four chairs. The staff were friendly and there were laundrette facilities. There is also a really good, big supermarket 3 minutes away (called something Pantry). The beach is also an easy 5 minute walk away. Buses stop nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zippitydoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here 3 times now it is very close to everything and a bus stop outside front door to get to anywhere else far away. Every thing else is in walking distant beach shops all one block away. So have a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were here for 14 nights,it was excellent.Unit was clean and tidy and the full kitchen was a bonus.
Serviced every day and the sheets were changed every 3 days.Wifi was included.
All the staff were very helpful.
I suggest you stay on a level as high up as possible,we were on the 20th.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was my 6th time to visit Hawaii and it was my first time to visit this hotel or condo.
Part of the name of this hotel has been changed from "Aston" to "Aqua."

We can choose full-kitchen room or kitchenette room and we chose former.
Full-Kitchen rooms are located on every corner of every floor and larger than kitchenette room, but not spacious.

We stayed at this hotel for 11 days / 10 nights.
The room we were assigned was on the 8th floor while this hotel is a 32(or 33) -story building and the 2nd to 5th floor were parking lots.

We could not see even a part of the sea or Diamond Head because our room faces to Kuhio Avenue and another hotel next to ours. We could not open the curtain because if we do, someone who stays at the hotel next to us can see hour room.

Their service was bad. I felt we had a bad deal to stay at this hotel.

1. EVERY DAY, we had some problem.
Insufficient room keeping : They don't replenish coffee and toilet rolls even there was nothing to use. They never clean the floor. I found a receipt on the floor when we first entered this room.
2. Unkindness : They offer a complimentary Wi-Fi service and they change the password every week, but they don't inform us the password change.
3. Expensive parking fee ($25 a day)

Were we the only guests that had those kind of problems? Or Everyone?

The only thing I liked the hotel is the pool on the roof. It is the highest place in Waikiki Area and we can see 360 degrees. It can compensate the poor view from my room.

But I will never stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LoVeHaWaii2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Have stayed here before. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We had the 29th floor ocean view. Trade winds flow through the open windows, very nice at night. Room was clean. Bathroom is small but who cares, shower and get out. A little noisy in the mornings. We had breaky and lunch in and went out for dinner. Literally 1 minute to the beach. We paid $ 205 a night but looked at next year and is jacked up to $247, so may look elsewhere. Aqua has just recently taken over management so maybe that is why.

Room Tip: Ocean view one bedroom faces the beach and Diamond Head. Get above 12th floor as some exhaust from f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed the week of Oct 19th-26th Aqua Pacific Monarch the former Aston Pacific Monarch pre cruise on the Pride of America. We had a one bed condo with a city view on the 6th floor. It had two twin beds in the bedroom a small closet with a safe and a queen size bed in the living room & a sofa bed. It was listed as sleeping 5. It could sleep that many but where you would keep your luggage would be a problem. This worked well for the 4 of us. The twin beds will be short for a tall person. The bed in the living was situated in front of the air conditioning unit which blocked the rest of the room from getting any cool air. We immediately move the bed in front of the sliding glass door. This helped but it was still very warm in the bedroom. We kept the curtains closed to help keep it cooler. The curtains did not close tightly. I had brought clothes pin for hand washing laundry. They helped with keeping the early morning sun out. So it really did not matter what view we had because we kept the curtains closed. The lanai was pretty much useless as it was very small &narrow & the view was of the parking garage & the next hotel. We only use it to dry our beach shoes.

The kitchen was equipped with a stove/oven, toaster, refrigerator, coffer maker, dishes/bowls, tea kettle, cup/glasses, pot & pans, silverware, dish soap, paper towels coffee, tea ,sweeter & creamer. We used a couple drawers in the kitchens to put clothes in. There is a laundry room on the 3ed floor $2 to wash $2 to dry. You could buy laundry detergent there we brought some tide pods with us.

They no longer charge the $15 a day amenity fee. The free wifi worked great.

The bathroom has a shower tub combo. They provided bar soap, body wash shampoo & conditioner & fresh towels daily& mid week sheet change. The maid service was very good.
The rooftop pool & hot tub had a beautiful panoramic view from the 32ed floor. We used it almost every day. On Friday night we went up and watch the fireworks.
The location was very convenient to Waikiki Beach a 5 min walk about block & half. We rent 2 chairs & umbrella for $20 for 2hr or $50 for all day. Also one day we took an hr catamaran ride for $20 each. We got on near the beach 2 Duke’s.

Now don’t get me wrong this place is not perfect. The area off lobby near the elevator has a very bad smell as dose the stairway to the pool and the hall leading to our room smelled like garbage possibly due to the garbage shoot in the hall. But once you are in your room no odor could be detected. The couch was tired and definitely some new curtains or blinds would freshen up the condo. But we were there only a week we made the best of it.
We felt safe & comfortable in our home away from home. We spent very little time in our condo with all there is to do and see. Not to mention the shopping! It was like New York City with palm trees lol.

As for the shopping to name a few places the flea market @ the Aloha Stadium is a must on Wed, Sat or Sun. We took a shuttle for $5 each round trip and $1 to get in. We went there on our first full day and did not realize how good the prices really were. We had lunch from the shrimp truck & it was delicious one of many we ate from. There is a free shuttle to Hilo Hattie’s & it will take you to the Flea Market or the Ala Moana Shopping Center. Also there is a shrimp truck in the parking lot of Hilo Hattie’s. Until December, sadly there is the International Market Place. It is slated to be torn down to make way for a Saks Fifth Ave. @ the market there was some great place to grab lunch/dinner. Kings Village is not far from the hotel we notice it from the rooftop pool. One night they had a farmers market & live music. I found some nice souvenirs @ Ross. There is a post office @ the International Market & with a ships it fits box for $16.85 I shipped home my treasures.

We contemplated renting a car and driving to the North Shore. Then we met a shuttle driver while we were @ the flea market & asked him about driving us around for the day. He quotes us $65 each & we felt this was good so we took him up on it. His name was Roz 1-808-699-7224. It was the best day. Roz took us all the way around Oahu. He knew exactly where to stop for the best views, interesting place to see & shop & a shrimp farm & restaurant for lunch called Romy’s. Most importantly he knew where the clean rest rooms were. We would have never found any of this on our own. Not to mention the stories alone the way. He picked us up @ 9a & dropped us off @ 6p @ any time we did not feel rushed. He was a very kind caring man he shared stories about his family & his life. We also use him to take us to the cruise port and to the airport. When we first arrive we used A8 and we had no complaints.

All in all we enjoyed our stay @ the Aqua Pacific Monarch & if in the area would consider staying again. The location to the beach and the action are ideal & the staff where very helpful & friendly.

During the week we attended the Germaine’s Luau it was a long ride in traffic on a bus. But Cousin Kenny helped pass the time joking around & getting people to interact with each other. The Luau will not start until all the buses get there. We must have been the last bus. As soon as we arrived after pictures we were lead to the picnic table about 3 row from the front and we where the first called up in line for the food. It was my first Luau the show was good the food not so much.

I will be glad to answer any questions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shopping4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Room was very well equipped
Views from the 29th floor of Waikiki beach were outstanding
Close to most of the things you want to do during the day or evening in Waikiki
On site parking was handy even though it was a bit dear
Air conditioner was woefully inadequate for the size of the unit

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiiiildbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
1,821 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
1,917 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,915 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pacific Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pacific Monarch

Address: 2427 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301 (Formerly Aston Pacific Monarch)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £120 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Pacific Monarch 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki, the renovated Aqua Pacific Monarch is located just 2 short blocks to world-famous Waikiki Beach and steps to the area's best shopping, dining, and nightlife. The hotel features spacious studios and one-bedroom suites, a restaurant, rooftop pool, jet spa, sauna, sundeck, coin-operated laundry facilities and Parking is available for a fee. Aqua Pacific Monarch embodies true convenience for beach life. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Pacific Monarch allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, each room comes with a mini-refrigerator, microwave, kitchenette with granite countertop and stovetops, and 32-inch LCDTVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aqua Pacific Monarch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Pacific Monarch Hotel Honolulu
Aston Hotel Honolulu
Aston Hotel Pacific Monarch
Resortquest Pacific Monarch Honolulu
Pacific Monarch Hawaii
Resort Quest Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing