We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Pacific Monarch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is ideally located, right in the middle of the heart of Waikiki. The hosting quality is good, and reasonably priced. But this is Waikiki, it is very noisy night and day. The view from the rooftop pool of the hotel is absolutely amazing !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxOlivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    203
    63
    13
    9
See reviews for
170
123
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

At the last minutes we decided to book a hotel/condo with an ocean view, because we remembered why we came to Hawaii, to enjoy the ocean. Initially the room we booked was a studio with partial ocean view. My wife really wanted more ocean view, because she planed to work on her school project while in Hawaii, and facing the ocean was what she desired. It was a tough situation, because the rooms were quite fully booked. However, one of the hotel staff Cherlita patiently assisted us and went through much trouble to get us a room with a wonderful ocean view. Moreover, the facility was clean and the staff were pleasant and helpful. It's only two blocks from the beach.

Room Tip: One bed room suite facing the beach at 12th floor and above has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T4629BKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great location and place to stay for the price! Super location, very clean, room enough for our family of four ( 13 & 15 yr old kids). I spent a few hours researching locations in Waikiki and this was one of the first places to pop up. Great price, great pictures.... Something has to be wrong with it. 2 hours later I was brought back to this hotel. I booked it. We were not disappointed. Very clean and it was just what we were looking for. Studio with a well equipped kitchen set up, kids loved the pool (best view around, but a bit windy),great location to watch the fireworks out on the water on Tuesday night, a short walk to the beach, and any area in Waikiki.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siebels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hi All, we stayed at the Pacific Monach, as a second choice, as our first choice (a private Condo) was cancelled 2 weeks out, and being a group of 6 women, finding somewhere to stay was stressful to say the least. Much to our luck, we came across this hotel. All the staff were brilliant especially Cherlita. Always happy and helpful. The hotel is older, but very clean, well maintained, with all facilities at hand, every room had a kitchen also. The beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Across the road from the side door is a Korean BBQ, where the food was really good and plentiful and cheap. $14 usd for a meal big enough for 2-3 and super tasty. 2 blocks from Waikiki beach, 1 block from an ABC store, In the foyer was filtered chilled water with lemon, free to all. The roof had a pool and a leisure area, where we met up with friends and had a party.I would recommend this hotel with pleasure.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just got back from our honeymoon in Hawaii! We stayed 10 days at the Aqua Pacific Monarch, and it's a nice hotel with an amazing location in Waikiki, right in the middle of everything! No breakfast, but the room has a full kitchen. The view from the terrace is really nice with a swimming pool, jacuzzi etc.

The only bad thing I would say is that the parking is really expensive (about U$25 a day), we ended up parking in another hotel nearby.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view, it's worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Popozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The room and view are great! My family and I enjoyed our vacation. Pool and sauna located at the roof top sounds and looks really cool! The Staff were friendly and courteous. Maria at the front desk is really very Polite, helpful and gave us great customer service!!! Location of the hotel is extremely great Honolulu zoo and waikiki beach are walking distance. My family and I loves their lemon water at the lobby area.We were treated with full of Aloha:) will definitely come back to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flowers_bloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level Contributor
649 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed in this condo building for a week in June on a high floor that had 270 degree views (beach, city and mountains). Great views and nice size lanai that could easily seat 4 people.

Pluses:
- Fabulous location; 2 blocks from the beach, supermarket, on the bus line, easy to park the car for in/out; surrounded by restaurants and shopping. If you like to walk, this is a great place for pedestrians.

- Roof top - small pool, small hot tub, 360 degree views and indoor common area rooftop where you can read or have a small informal function.

- Friendly staff

Negative for the unit that I was in - (Check with your specific unit; each unit may have a different owner and this may not be applicable for your unit)

- Our unit did not have a dishwasher.
- There was only 1 AC unit and it was in the living room and it did a great job cooling this room and the adjoining kitchen. However, it did not cool the bedroom down during day time hours. At night, the temps drop so that it is comfortable again and the window could be opened, but the bedroom only had a ceiling fan. Bedrooms are sometimes needed during the course of the day.

- Yes, you are in paradise called Waikiki; but you will hear lots of street noise; sirens (police, fire, etc) in this concrete jungle even up on the 29th floor. Also, depending on the time of day, you will hear hula shows, drums, etc. The garbage trucks have beepers when they back up and these begin around 6:30am and last for a good 90 minutes several times a week. The point that I am trying to make is that you are still in a big city and expect to hear big city noises. Bring your white noise maker and a good pair of earplugs if you are sensitive to this.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicago90Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaHotelsManager, General Manager at Aqua Pacific Monarch, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Aloha Chicago90phoenix,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback of your recent visit with us at the Aqua Pacific Monarch Hotel. It's great that you enjoyed the location, rooftop pool, and that you found our team to be friendly. You are correct however, there are no dishwashers available in any of the rooms at this time. In addition, we certainly understand your comments about thelack of cool air in the bedrooms on a hot summer day. When temperatures are cooler, typically the air conditioner in the living room can cool the bedroom just fine however it has been a very hot summer so it can get a little warm in the day time. But as you noted, it gets cool in the evenings and the bedroom drops to a comfortable temperature. We have looked at adding air conditioning to the bedrooms however it is unfortunately not a simple fix and will require some long term planning to find a permanent solution.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Aqua Pacific Monarch for your family vacation. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Warm Regards,

Kahealani Colón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pacific Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pacific Monarch

Property: Aqua Pacific Monarch
Address: 2427 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301 (Formerly Aston Pacific Monarch)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Pacific Monarch 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki, the renovated Aqua Pacific Monarch is located just 2 short blocks to world-famous Waikiki Beach and steps to the area's best shopping, dining, and nightlife. The hotel features spacious studios and one-bedroom suites, a restaurant, rooftop pool, jet spa, sauna, sundeck, coin-operated laundry facilities and Parking is available for a fee. Aqua Pacific Monarch embodies true convenience for beach life. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Pacific Monarch allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, each room comes with a mini-refrigerator, microwave, kitchenette with granite countertop and stovetops, and 32-inch LCDTVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aqua Pacific Monarch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Pacific Monarch Hotel Honolulu
Aston Hotel Honolulu
Aston Hotel Pacific Monarch
Resortquest Pacific Monarch Honolulu
Pacific Monarch Hawaii
Resort Quest Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing