We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the price”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here as 4 groups for 8 days in November. We had a ocean view suite on an upper floor while our friends had king and double rooms throughout other parts of the hotel. There is a noticeable difference between the renovated and non-renovated rooms, especially the bathrooms. Only let down for us was I found the bed to be as hard as a rock and the included breakfast offerings are a very poor selection of sugary treats, muffins etc and some fruit which is 90% cantaloupe.

We enjoyed the location, being close to the main strip of Waikiki and having easy access to the freeway. Tiki's is a great restaurant and happy hour provides some of the cheapest drinks around.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agentblond11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Aloha! Thank you for taking not of our refreshed rooms- we are scheduled to complete all the rooms by spring. Please let me know if you should stay with us again in the future and I’d be happy to let you know about the improvements we have made since, such as any changes to our breakfast. Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review our hotel. Mahalo! Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator gsc.wow@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    1,586
    819
    277
    178
See reviews for
1,108
1,575
122
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (978)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great location, stringent on book in times and very busy. Small room and on end of complex (from beach) , so a lot of wind tunnel and street noise. Very comfortable beds, partial ocean view was nice. The pool & facilities well maintained and breakfast continental only. Busy atmosphere, however Tikis Bar and Grill grt drinks and meals.

Room Tip: Corner/back rooms very windy and noisy on southern side, reasonably handy to downtown Waikiki Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Aloha Karen, and thank you for traveling to Waikiki and for staying with us. Yes, our hotel is very popular as we are directly across the street from the beach at the east end of Waikiki strip. Our check in time is at 3:00 but we are always happy to provide the room earlier when available. Thank you for reviewing our property, and we hope to see you again in the future. Mahalo! Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at re Aston for four nights with some friends . It's a really busy motel and service at reception was really slow. Our rooms were lovely but small and beds really comfy -- the views were spectacular from the 17th floor. Breakfast was my least favourite thing of our stay ... Really busy and by the pool with table seating for 30-40 and everyone else sat on a lounger and ate on their knee. We had one cooler to collect our breakfast for three people and it was just really awkward and not enjoyable at all.

I would stay at the Aston again as location trumped the negatives ... But maybe head out for breakfast

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_and_Jude_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hi Matt and Jude, thank you for staying with us and for reviewing our property! As our breakfast team continually considers our guests' feedback both positive and constructive, we thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Please let me know when you and your friends will be visiting us next. I'll be happy to help you with your reservations and ensure you have another memorable Hawaiian vacation. Mahalo! Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator gsc.wow@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

It really was perfect for the price. Rooms was clean and the view was lovely. The building is rather old but well maintained. Exercise room was clean and I never had to wait for a machine. The breakfast consists of pastries, cereal, fruit and miso soup and they give you a lunch bag to fill up and take across the street to the beach.
Staff was super friendly and helpful, including the tour desks. Honestly, I was in Honolulu for work and wanted to stay on the beach. The area is VERY touristy, it was nice that the hotel is on the end of the strip bc I could easily turn left and be away from the flood of tourists when I wanted to
I'll stay there again next time I am in Honolulu

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank chibber_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Aloha! A business trip to Hawaii sounds like the perfect reason to catch some waves and soak in the sun. Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel, and for sharing the nice review. Please let me know the next time you're in Waikiki for work or pleasure and I would be happy to assist with your reservation. Mahalo~ Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator gsc.wow@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I booked a night at Aston Waikiki beach prior to cruise. I booked a less expensive room that didn't quite have the oceanview, but the big windows had great view of diamond head mountain and sort of a side view of Waikiki beach. The view didn't matter much since we got there late at night and checked out at noon after a hiking trip to Diamond head and couple hours at Waikiki beach.
First night we had dinner at Aston's Tiki Bar/Restaurant. Their food is great, service tends to be a bit slow though. For morning breakfast, they have quite a large selection and they provide a container you can take to the beach and have breakfast there instead. Hotel's seating around pool for breakfast is quite limited. After check-out, we left our bags in the hotel's free bag-holding service (near valet), and strolled to the beach. Overall a great location and highly recommended for Waikiki area.
For children, they gave a welcome package with backpack, sand castle kit (bucket, shovel), activity books etc. Service is great.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms would be worth the extra $$ as the beach view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pratl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and or sharing your review. Diamond Head is the perfect hike for anyone who is limited on time, but wants to capture some beautiful pictures with amazing views. Please let me know the next time you'll be in Waikiki- I'll be happy to upgrade you to an Ocean View room. Mahalo! -Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator; gsc.wow@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. We landed in Honolulu at 7am and the hotel got us in to our room by 9am. Room was comfortable, not very big but good for a base while seeing Waikiki. Didn't bother with the breakfast as it was always very busy and we didn't really like the idea of a buffet breakfast around the pool. It was very close to everything while also being a little out of the busiest party of Waikiki beach. Had a great view from our balcony and also when we walked out our room we had an unobstructed view of diamond head. Housekeeping was good, came at the same time everyday and always did a great job. Will stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Aloha Erin! Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words. Most importantly, congratulations on your marriage. We look forward to seeing both of you again and I invite you to contact me for your next reservation. Perhaps you can visit for your first anniversary? Mahalo, Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator gsc.wow@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying here this last week. The location was great! We walked to diamond head and to the international market. Great food was all around and the staff suggestions were great. The valet was helpful as well, on more than one occation they grabbed something we left in our car for us. Having the breakfast on the beach cooler was also helpful we got to eat our breakfast on the way to scuba diving for the day. We got an upgrade as the room we booked was sold out. the upgraded room was nice, only small complaint was that it was right above the bar and we could hear the music in our room. also kind of annoying that we couldnt get from our floor directly to the valet floor. We had to get off at the main lobby and either get on another elevator or take the stairs/escelator.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kf03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your review, and for staying with us! We are glad to see you two enjoyed our friendly service and hotel. That is really neat that you had the opportunity to dive Oahu. There is so much to see off our shores. We hope to welcome you back to our property again, Mahalo! -Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,473 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,487 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#50 of 84 in Honolulu
3,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing