We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waikiki Beach Hotels” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Waikiki Beach Hotels”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recently I stayed at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel and would have to say the customer service is not ideal. The front desk customer service was about the worst I've experienced. Also, if you book a stay at this hotel via booking.com be careful, the price I booked was different than the confirmation I received from the hotel (there are issues with taxes and fees in fine print that make the totals in-congruent be sure to read the fine print) and then the final outcome. Also the hotel charges you an extra $23/day "amenities fee" - this is NOT included in the daily rate you are quoted so be sure to add that to the daily rate you are quoted and add tax too.

If you stay here, ask for a room on the 25th floor with an ocean view. However, know that what you request is not guaranteed on arrival. You may request a king bed and end up with a room that has double beds. To change rooms, you will be required to check out before noon and then check back in again at 3pm... which means you need to re-pack, leave your bags at the front desk and then check-in again and unpack again... they won't just transfer you to another room (or at least did not give me the option to do so considering I stayed there an entire week - it never happened...) not ideal if you are travelling long distances and just want to relax. Also, the rooms don't a have desk/table with proper sitting chairs - so no chance to sit down and get any work done if needed. Hit the Starbucks next door you will be better off there.

The Hotel is not located on the beach - it is across the street from the beach. If you want a beachfront resort where there is access to the beach from the property then I would recommend:
Outrigger on the Beach - Waikiki,
Westin Moana Hotel on the beach,
Royal Hawaiian,
Sheraton Waikiki on the Beach.
There are a lot of shops and restaurants close to these hotels too. Plus they have restaurant/lounges on their property which are beachfront and have access to the beach.

So depending what ambiance you are looking for make your choice.

There is a 24hr Fitness a couple blocks from the Aston that has beachfront views and charges $69 for a week pass. It was a great gym - super inspiring and perfect for working out.

Near the Aston is a Starbucks :-) Wolfgang Pucks, and Subway, plus a good breakfast place located above the Starbucks called "Lulu's". The hotel breakfast is weak and the line-ups are not worth it... You are better off going to LuLu's next door above the Starbucks and get a view of the Ocean plus full service - the eggs Benedict, omelettes and traditional breakfast were all great there!

The beaches across the street are good. One has a wave barrier which keeps the water calm which would be great for kids who want to play in the water. To the left is a regular beach and great to hang out if you want to experience some waves and good crowds. The Honolulu Zoo is also near - if you have kids it might be good - I did not visit but it was very close walk.

Room Tip: Ask for 25th floor - room facing Waikiki beach. Rooms don't have desk with chair - so no chance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KOtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We were sorry to learn that you were unaware of the necessary costs associated with staying at our hotel. Most of the other larger hotels on Kalakaua Avenue also have an amenity fee and all the Hotels in Hawaii include a general excise tax and hotel transient tax (totaling 13.962%).

Our property makes reservations based on view category, rather than bedding or floor request. We do our best to accommodate all bedding and floor requests, but it is not always possible especially during high occupancy. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.

We were also sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with the service at our front desk. They typically receive much praise from our guests and we would like to learn more about your experience. Please email me at gsc.wow@astonhotels.com.

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, and for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back again to Waikiki again in the future. Mahalo nui loa, Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    1,522
    781
    262
    168
See reviews for
1,046
1,508
116
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

small rooms .get balcony with ocean view higher floors. good free continental breakfast.valet parking but cost 40 dollars a day to park rental there.parking cost more than rental.best beach #1 rated in USA next to hotel.good bar downstairs and onsite activities agents.good pool

Room Tip: pick ocean view balcony upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for sharing you review with us, Cornell. We are glad to learn you found value in our property and had a lovely Hawaiian vacation. Our optional hotel valet parking is $27 daily, and is the lowest costing hotel valet parking on Kalakaua Avenue. Mahalo for choosing to stay at our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back if Waikiki is included in your future travels. -Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great for a stay in Waikiki for all ages. Elevators, escalators all good for those less mobile.
Convenient for Trolley and other Pickup services. Variety of eateries within walking distance.
At the not so crowded end of Waikiki. Breakfast included is more than adequate. Accommodating staff at taxi/parking area and handy trip/info. booking area.
Would definitely stay again, but would get a room with full ocean view. Beds are really comfortable.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms require you to step out onto very small balcony to view the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TawnyTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Aloha Tawny, and mahalo for sharing your review. We agree that our hotel is a great place to stay when visiting Waikiki. We are glad that you found value in our property and services. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit, please feel free to email me at gsc.wow@astonhotels.com as I would be happy to assist you with an ocean view reservation. Mahalo for staying with us! -Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here in April for 2 nights in the ocean front room. The view of Waikiki Beach was amazing!! Our room was also nice and a good size and cleaned to a high standard. I did not like the breakfast arrangement, as the food is average at best - fruit yoghurt and pastries. I also did not enjoy collecting it as it was very crowded and hard to carry coffee along with the provided cooler bag. We ate on our balcony which was nice as there is limited seats around the rather sad looking pool. Tikis is a great restaurant and the food and service there was great. I probably wouldn't stay here again as I preferred the other end of the strip away from the many homeless people, I found some staff to be very helpful and others not so much, overall we did enjoy our stay and have fond memories of our time at the Aston Waikiki Beach hotel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Aloha Jennifer, and thank you for taking the time to share your review and for staying with us. We are glad you had the opportunity to stay in one of our ocean front rooms- they offer spectacular views and are our most popular view category. However, we were sorry to learn that the location of our property did not meet your expectations. We can assure you that our hotel implements a dedicated security team, as well as other security measures and we are grateful that our guests and their belongings continue to remain safe and secured. Thank you for choosing Waikiki as your travel destination and we look forward to welcoming you back to our island. -Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here and loved it. We had a great ocean view room and enjoyed sitting on the balcony overlooking the beach. The breakfast was great and we enjoyed the daily music and hula dancer. The Tikki Bar and Grill was excellent and so convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Aloha Susan, we are glad that you look forward to joining us the next time you are in Waikiki and thrilled that you had a fantastic vacation at our hotel. Mahalo for sharing your review and for staying with us. -Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I spent a couple of days here.Room was nice and very clean.Great view of ocean,ect.Geri at the front desk was very nice and VERY helpful with a couple of small problems we had in the room.She even gave us a free picture frame since we were enjoying our 40th wedding anniversary there.The only issues with the room was the toilet height and shower head was very short,unless your 4 foot tall ;).Would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Aloha Jim, we apologize for the challenges in your room but glad to hear Geri helped make things right. We are proud to have such an amazing staff that extends Aloha to our guests. Thank you for spending your special anniversary with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future if your future travels include Waikiki. Mahalo nui loa, Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

1st time staying - was excellent hotel. Great customer service, rooms were outstanding - we had a room with a view of the ocean....only drawback was the roof off our balcony spoiled the view and hence the atmosphere....The buffet breakfast is outstanding - fresh fruit, yogurts of all kinds, pastries, coffee, juices etc....the hotel is conveniently located for excellent sidewalk shopping or the mall nearby....the only drawback I can say is the 24.00 a day valet parking fee....my brother and I were there on a BUCKET LIST trip for the nearby military venues (USS Arizona, USS Missouri,etc) and after 3 days gave up the auto and used local transportation....We negotiated with a cabbie and made a flat deal rate for his services....Would stay again BUT this time use local transportation....

Room Tip: advise higher room for view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank namvet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Aloha, we are very glad that you enjoyed your Oahu vacation and that you found value in our property, and services. The historic sites on Oahu are a must-see and we are happy that you and your brother had the opportunity to experience them. We wish you safe travels as you continue to check off items from your bucket list! Mahalo nui loa, -Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,104 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,169 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing