We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Free Breakfast, Nice Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at the Aston Waikiki Beach in May 2014. We had a partial ocean view room which gave us a beautiful overlook over the beach. The location of this hotel is ideal! It is located down the quieter end of Kalakaua Avenue (if there is such a thing! HA!) right on the beach - what is great about this hotel is you are within walking distance of all the shops and restuarants and it is a main hotel pick up area for all of the tour companies in Waikiki. The hotel itself was lovely, our room was spacious, the beds were comfortable and rooms were serviced to a high standard. The hotel also offers a complimentary breakfast and provides its guests with a 'cooler bag' which you can go down to the breakfast bar and pack full of fruit, yoghurt, crossaints, cereal, muffins, juice, water, tea and coffee etc - the hotel also provides bags and containers for the food to go inside your cooler bag. We really thought the breakfast bar and cooler bag idea was fantastic. We saved a tonne of money not having to go out for breakfast every day (which can get very pricey after a week or two). This hotel is family friendly, couples friendly and the Tiki bar and grill does amazing food and cocktails and live entertainment each night. I will definately be going to stay again at this hotel next time I am in Oahu.

Room Tip: Higher up partial ocean view rooms are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jez-a-lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Aloha!
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience! Your review provided great information and exactly what we aim to provide to our guests. We are thrilled to hear that our convenient location, pleasant rooms, and delicious brakfast were to your liking! We look forward to hosting you again!
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 3,955 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I am in the military and relocated out family to HI for a three year assignment. While waiting on our housing to be ready we stayed at this hotel. I am only halfway through my 32 day stay here but wanted to write about this hotel during this busy PCS season to inform everyone how military and family friendly this hotel is.

Up front the offer you free breakfast, free Valet parking, free wifi and $25 per day you stay with them (the put the total balance in a visa check card when you check out).

If you are married w a family check your TLA rates and your meal rates. Some folks don't know their total entitlement. The meals rate is a flat standard and you are paid it regardless. Some of their rooms are bigger than others so when you make your reservation keep that in mind. I maxed my TLA option and we are staying in a large suite (big family).

They gave us two free upgrades to a partial ocean view with a lanai which is super cool. My wife and kids love doing spending some morning time out there and settling down at night too.

The beach is 25 feet across the street and this side of Waikiki is a little calmer, so it's perfect for smaller children. The beach has a small wall to allow calmer waters for young kids swimming w/o strong currents.

You can walk a quarter mile down the strip and it picks up so you won't have to walk far at all if that's what you prefer.

There is a nice pool on the main floor (3d floor) with a restaurant adjacent to it that has beautiful live music played every night. In the mornings Mon-Fri there is a guitar player and Hula dancer who perform during breakfast hours (really nice).

During the weekends you can watch parades from your room lanai, the pool area, from the beach or by the street! Restaurants all close by with plenty of shopping and things to do during the day/night/weekends. When I go to work my wife is able to enjoy the hotel amenities and Waikiki beach.

The staff is super friendly and helpful. Room service comes through daily and the Valet is always on time with the car. You get exempt from some taxes if you're in orders.

I haven't stayed at any other hotel in HI so I don't have anything to compare it to. But I will say it beats staying at the Best Western or Tripler Hotel...just makes sense to stay here the drive is NOT that bad. And it is a great hotel, not as great as or Sandals Resort experience but it's the best hotel I've ever stayed at while on a per diem rate!!

Stayed: June 2014
5  Thank Brunos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Aloha! Thank you for your excellent review of your stay with us! We are thrilled to host you and your family. Thank you for your service to our country! We appreciate your hard work ,and are privileged to serve you! Our premier Waikiki location, delicious breakfast, and live entertainment are a favorite with many of our guests, and we are happy that you like them! We are pleased to hear that you are enjoying your visit! If there is anything we can do to make the remainder of your stay more pleasant, please don’t hesitate to let us know! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked through Priceline and had a non-refundable reservation otherwise we would have gone to a different hotel. You can't check-in until you pay $23/day in "amenities fees" that are not mentioned on the reservation or the hotel website. They told me that my priceline reservation only paid for the room but now I needed to pay the hotel for their amenities. I told them I've never heard of such a bogus charge. Their reply was that a lot of hotels charge this fee and I'm was very unsatisfied with that justification.
The elevators were very crowded and slow. They have a new system that is supposed to make the elevators more efficient but it led to 5-10 minute waits for a overfilled elevator every time.
The check-in attendant told us that he would give us a complimentary room upgrade which we were excited about until we saw the room. It looked newer but there was barely enough room to walk around the bed, the bathroom was old and yellow, and it was very loud due to street noise even though we were on the 6th floor.
They advertise "Breakfast on the Beach" as a fun idea but the breakfast was pathetic. A few bowls of cereal, yogurt, and milk were your only choices. Very disappointing, especially with the $23'day "amenities fee."
The only good thing about this hotel, as other reviewers mention, is that is right across the road from the beach. But there are a lot of beach front hotels and we are never going back.

Room Tip: Go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Aloha! We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Our website makes note of additional taxes and the amenity fee, and we apologize that it wasn’t adequately communicated to you at the time of booking. The amenity fee provides special services like our Breakfast on the Beach, wi-fi, towel service, in-room Keurig coffee service, DVD rentals, game rentals, daily newspaper, and beach chair rental. Breakfast on the Beach consists not only of cereal, yogurt, and milk, but also of fresh fruit, bagels, local pastries, local coffees, somen noodles, and miso soup. We are disappointed to learn that your room upgrade didn’t meet your expectations and are sorry that your visit wasn’t enjoyable. We thank you for taking the time to review our property, as we value our guests’ opinions, both positive and constructive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We celebrated our 40th anniversary in Hawaii. We stayed in Room 1129--a large, oceanfront room. Waikiki Beach is just across the street from the hotel. The property is very clean and most of the staff were very friendly. The breakfast buffet is good but should not be advertised as free since there is a $23/day charge for the breakfast, Wi-Fi, movie and game rentals and daily newspaper. There are very few parking spots--ten or less so I would not rent a car if staying there. The room had no sitting area--only the bed, dresser, nightstands and a pub table with two stools. This is the only time I have ever stayed in a hotel that had a wall-mounted lavatory in the bathroom--no vanity or counter space. I used one of the bar stools to hold our toiletries. Our room had an adjoining door which presented some privacy issues.The homeless situation in Waikiki is very troubling especially in the area surrounding the Aston. The room was adequate. I guess I was just expecting more in paradise.

Room Tip: I think the "select" rooms above the 20th floor are nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRoss6774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coodinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Aloha! Happy anniversary! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean property, friendly staff, and Breakfast on the Beach. Our property actually has two levels of valet parking and we would be happy to accommodate you on your next visit with us! We apologize that we didn’t have the opportunity to address the privacy concerns you experienced with the adjoining door; we would have been happy to double-check the locks or issue a room move. We also appreciate your comments about the homeless individuals in Waikiki. We often share our guest’s feedback with a community task force that is working to improve this situation. Thank you for sharing your honest review of your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here as an overnight layover. I had picked the room online based on just the location (beach is across the street) and the low rate. Boy, was I pleasantly surprised. The room was beautiful and very large. The morning breakfast was well-organized - you file through the line and fill up your souvenir cooler. We took ours over to the beach. Do be aware the pigeons are quite aggressive so don't feed them.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimJ_in_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Aloha Kim!
Thank you for sharing such a kind review of your stay with us! Many guests choose us for our premier Waikiki location and are pleasantly surprised with all the luxuries we have to offer. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Breakfast on the Beach program. We look forward to welcoming you back to Honolulu in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly at gsc@astonhotels.com to book your next stay! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent buffett in the morning! Every single aspect of this hotel is impeccably clean, and there are fabulous shops throughout the concourse. Staff was very friendly and the afternoon swimming pool atmosphere is a great time! Can't find anything bad here at all!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank MM27APR20154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Aloha! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our Breakfast on the Beach! Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel strives for excellence for our guests, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay! We hope to welcome you back again soon! Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The staff was helpful and upgraded our room to a higher floor and partial ocean view, however overall it is evident that the hotel was redone rather inexpensively. The bathroom tiles were tinted a yellowish color, and not very nice. Rooms were quite small as well as the pool. Also, the elevators are extremely confusing. Besides these downsides, I would only recommend staying at his hotel if you get a really good deal on it, otherwise it is not worth spending over $140. Although the location is great, breakfast is included (!), the rooms are finely decorated and updated, and the Tiki bar by the pool looked pretty fun, although I did not eat/drink there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Aloha!
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. We greatly appreciate receiving both positive and constructive feedback about how we are doing! Thank you for sharing some details about your experience with us. We are sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. Our guest bathroom floors are going to be redone soon. We apologize for not explaining the elevators adequately. We are pleased that you enjoyed Breakfast on the Beach with us! If your future plans include visiting Waikiki again, we would be honored to host you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,663 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
2,301 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
1,651 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £141 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing