We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay by the Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here one night prior to our Norwegian Hawaiian cruise and it was fantastic!
The rooms are clean and updated. Breakfast buffet is free. You receive a free thermal tote, fill it with what you want and eat there OR you can bring it to the beach just across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DisneymomAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Aloha DisneymomAz,

Thank you for staying with us before your cruise and for sharing your spectacular review here on Trip Advisor! We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient Breakfast on the Beach thermal tote and liked our modern, comfortable rooms! We would love to host you again!

Mahalo nui loa,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,898)
There are newer reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,297 - 1,303 of 3,898 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived at 11 am. Attempted to pre check in (understanding rooms aren't ready until 3). All paperwork signed and told come back at 3 to get key. We explained that we have a luau reservation and bus leaves at 3:30 and we were assured this wouldn't be a problem. Got to check-in at 2:45 and line had 4-5 people ahead of us. Took 30-35 minutes only to be told that person in room hadn't checked out and our room wasn't ready. They couldn't tell us when the person was checking out. The poor guy at the desk had nothing to offer us, except that he "would talk to his boss" we couldn't wait --didn't want to lose our $400 luau reservation.
We changed in the valet/luggage room and barely made bus. At the moment we are on the way to the luau with no room, hoping everything ok in luggage room until we return. I pray we aren't placed in a lousy room because our original room wasn't ready. This is a tough start to a family vacation.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Trojanmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Aloha Trojanmama,

We are sorry about the challenges you experienced during check-in. This is surely a rough start to your stay. We sincerely hope that you enjoyed your luau and that we exceed your expectations for the rest of your time in Waikiki. We value our guests, and look forward to hosting you with warmest aloha for the rest of your stay. Would you please email me at gsc.wow@astonhotels.com so that we can address your situation personally? We would love an opportunity to make things right with you.

Mahalo,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was a bit disappointed to find at first the hotel was about 500 yards up the road from what I call "the heart" of Waikiki Beach, but this turned out to be a terrific hotel opposite its own beautiful stretch of beach (with a protected part for kids). It's opposite the Honolulu Zoo, has a great restaurant/bar on the first floor, and a great idea for breakfast. At full capacity there usually aren't enough tables on the sundeck near the pool, so people are given a complimentary plastic cooler to fill with breakfast and take across the road to have on the beach! Great idea. We arrived off an early morning flight and had to wait a couple of hours to access the room - checkin staff were courteous and the room had a great outlook across Waikiki Beach and the city. I would stay here again in a blink - all tourist trolleys etc come past the front door and the entertainment at breakfast and sunset is terrific. Well worth the recommendation!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room for maximum enjoyment of the location.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Diedre_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Aloha Diedre_11,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your excellent review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our convenient location, Tiki's, and Breakfast on the Beach! Many guests comment on the great plastic coolers, as they make a great souvenier! It's awesome that you liked the views, courteous staff, and live entertainment! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again!

Mahalo nui loa,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

After 5 1/2 hours of flying, check in and the room is not cool at all! The bathroom is nasty with dirty towels still in the room. A/C is not working well. Left it on for 4 hours, come back to the hotel, and it's still not cool. Call guest service desk, no one answer. I can't believe this is our worst vacation ever! We've been to Hawaii seven times and this is the worst! The owner should be ashame of himself. He should be on Under Cover Boss to find out how the employees, the service, and the old dirty rooms are. How embarrassing!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Aloha Jamie N,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your constructive review. We appreciate guest feedback, as it allows us an opportunity to better our hotel. We are sorry about the challenges you experienced with the Housekeeping and Front Office Service. We regret to hear that your 7th visit to Hawaii was tainted by the challenges with your room. Your concerns have been shared with our Hotel Management, and we will address these issues with utmost diligence. Again, we extend our sincerest apologies, and would be honored to have another opportunity to host you with the kind of Aloha we are known for.

Mahalo,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I loved that you can walk out of your room in your bikini and onto the sand in 2 minutes. The highlight of this hotel was the performance of the Hawaiian version of "somewhere over the rainbow" by Brandon No'eau Serrano on vocals and Celeste Mosqueda putting on a beautiful performance at the breakfast buffet every morning, it conveyed a beautiful old school Hawaiian vibe and set a nice tone in such a touristy place. The hotel was good and the room servicing staff were lovely.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Birgit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Aloha Birgit M,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your awesome review! We are thrilled that you loved our convenient location! It's wonderful that you enjoyed our live entertainment at Breakfast on the Beach. We love Brandon and Celeste! Our friendly staff hopes to welcome you back again soon!

Mahalo nui loa,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel has a nice location right across the street from a lovely beach. There are restaurants and shops in walking distance. The Tiki bar/restaurant on the grounds is also nice. We used one of the meeting rooms with a lovely balcony overlooking the ocean- wonderful sunset! Be aware that there are added fees for your stay including a breakfast fee and for the price they charge you could easily eat at other places for less. They do provide you with a small cooler that you can fill with breakfast food and walk over to the beach or go up to your room- It was very interesting to see people stuffing this bag with all sorts of food- thank goodness there is a frig in the room! For the price of my room it would have been easy to get a comparable updated room, in a similar location. Not overly impressed- staff was nice.

Room Tip: Outside rooms have tiny balconies but rooms facing the pool have a decent balcony plus view of the o...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cyndi011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Aloha Cyndi011,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad that you liked our convenient location and enjoyed Tiki's. It's awesome that you were able to enjoy a beautiful ocean view from your room and meeting! We are sorry that you didn't find value in our Breakfast on the Beach. Many guests enjoy our generous spread of local pastries, fresh fruits, yogurts, juices, and local coffees. Our friendly staff would be honored to host you again soon. Thank you for your constructive comments.

Mahalo,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just reading a few reviews and i had to share mine. It was a couple years ago but i thought it was a great hotel. Ive stayed at Turtle bay and thought this was better then turtle. i loved this hotel, The bar had a wonderful pulled pork sandwich. My husband and i loved the room, we were up graded to a part view of the ocean. It was above the pool and bar area but no problems with noise id love to come back and have that same room. All employees seem very nice to us, it was clean and i loved the bar soap they used in the bathroom, lol. I keep trying to find a reason to go back and we will soon i hope. Mahalo

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank chuotari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Aloha Chuotari,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your remarkable review! We are glad that you and your husband enjoyed your visit with us a couple of years ago. It's great to hear that you liked the food at Tiki's! We're thrilled that you even liked our complimentary soap! Our friendly staff hopes to welcome you back again soon. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly at gsc@astonhotels.com to arrange your next stay!

Mahalo nui loa,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,525 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,501 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £146 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing