We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Burbank, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Yes, this hotel is not the Ritz, but the location and the ocean view room we had was amazing. We heard the waves crashing at night. The beach in front of the hotel is not crowded like it is in the center of town, but you can walk there in 15 minutes. We only ate the fruit for breakfast because it was the only healthy option. I would stay here again. Visit the restaurant at the hotel "Tiki's" order the garlic edaname and the mai tais are amazing. They put this yummy lime foam on top.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marsy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Aloha Marsy66,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your great review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our premier Waikiki beach location and beautiful ocean views. Our options at Breakfast on the Beach include fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, yogurts, miso soup, juices, and local coffees. We are sorry that the food selections did not meet your expectations. You're right; Tiki's a a fantastic restaurant, just steps away! We're glad that you liked their edamame and drinks! It's wonderful that had an overall enjoyable stay with us, and we would be honored to welcome you back again!

Mahalo,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    1,586
    819
    277
    178
See reviews for
1,108
1,575
122
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (978)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Extremely disappointed with the old and outdated hotel. We paid extra for an ocean view room which we got but at the back of the hotel the furtherest from the ocean which was very average considering a couple who checked into the hotel a minute before us staying on the same floor paid for partial room view and was given an upgrade to ocean view and was closer to ocean than us paying more.

The room was very small and in the bathroom the shower was over the bath tub. There was no hotel directory in the room. All the light fittings, vents and air conditioner was so old they were yellow-brown colour.

Each morning for breakfast we had to take it back to our room to eat as there was not enough seating around the pool as there is no dining room.

The pool was not inviting as the concrete paving paint around the pool was chipped and lifting.

There was also a plumbing issue with a light near reception as it had water pouring out of it.

All in all I would never stay at this hotel again and will never recommend it, especially for the price. The only positive thing I could say was it was clean.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KazKez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Aloha KazKez,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry to hear about the aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. Please contact me directly at gsc.wow@astonhotels.com to further discuss the challenges you experienced. I look forward to hearing from you.

Mahalo,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hotel offered great location, lovely decor, and day breakfast with entertainment!! Family enjoyed being there. Views were wonderful and location puts one close to all the excitement, restaurants, beach and transportation. Wish the pool was larger, but would return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Aloha Jabond3,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your wonderful review! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our premier Waikiki location, beautiful decor, and delicious Breakfast on the Beach. Our live musician and hula dancer help to start the day with pure island aloha. It's great that you liked the beautiful views of the ocean. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Mahalo,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephens City, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I was a little disappointed. I had a room with an ocean view. Yes, the view was nice, but the room was just average, nothing special for $300 a night.
The Tiki bar below my room played loud music every night until early hours in the morning. (One night was until around 1:30 am, the other night around 3:00 am.)
I wish the hotel had warned us when booking an ocean front room.

Breakfast is listed on the web site as “On the Beach.” It was near the pool. It included four cold cereals, donut’s, noodle’s, fruit, Danishes, coffee, Coke, tea and water.
You also pay for it in your $23 amenity fees.
Parking…they have valet parking for $27 a day.
There isn't any parking close by.
The cleaning staff made the room up and gave us clean towels everyday. I just wish we had a blanket. I don’t know if it was just my room, but our rooms’ thermostat was set at 65 degree’s and we couldn’t change it up or down. You either turn it off or leave it on. Freeze or roast. ???

You have to cross the street to get to the beach. Which means you have to pass several homeless people to get there.

Your call.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shortcake19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Aloha Shortcake19,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your beautiful view of the ocean. We regret to hear about the aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. Had we been informed of your dissatisfaction with your room, we would have been happy to issue you a room move. Our Breakfast on the Beach is unique in that it can be enjoyed by our pool, or taken over to the beach in the provided travel cooler. Many guests enjoy our live poolside entertainment as they eat their breakfast, as well. Our Housekeeping team furnishes blankets upon request. The thermostat setting can be changed, and we are sorry about the challenges you encountered with the one in your room. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to have an opportunity to host you again.

Mahalo,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We spent nine nights here. A perfect location with fantastic staff. We were there for Hurricane iselle, and were kept fully in the loop as to what we could expect. Our room was serviced daily. The staff were all incredibly courteous and greeted us daily. We booked a partial ocean view. It gave us a great view of the ocean and also gave us a view of the zoo which was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Aloha Annie116,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share you awesome review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our convenient location and friendly staff. Our guests' safety is of upmost importance to us, and we make special efforts to keep them informed about weather issues like Hurricane Iselle. It's wonderful that you enjoyed your beautiful partial ocean view! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again!

Mahalo nui loa,

Stephanie Helms
Gueset Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed the last 2 nights of our holiday at this hotel.
We had booked an oceanview room originally and paid $50 to upgrade to a oceanfront room. Wish I had've kept my money and stayed in the original room I booked. As far as I could tell there wasn't really much of a difference.
The view is amazing however. As it is right down the end of the strip it is a bit of a walk up to the other end. The zoo is next door however and the the beach in front of the hotel across the road is quiet compared to further up!
The swipe cards were ridiculous. You have to swipe the card on the lift first and then punch in the floor number and it tells you which lift to get into. It never let us go from the 11th floor to the ground floor. We always had to go to level 3 and take the escalators down.
The rooms are a bit dated although clean. I think 8am is a little early for housekeeping to come by tho!
Customer service was good, except for the man in charge of the valet parking. He looked so annoyed when I walked up to the valet desk instead of calling from the room. I understand it takes about 10-15mins to bring the car around and I was happy to wait!
I'd probably stay somewhere else next time I visit Oahu.

Room Tip: Ocean view is different to Ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Aloha Helen V,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your beautiful view of the ocean and our convenient location. We regret that some of your stay did not meet your expectations. Our elevator system operates the way you mentioned for security purposes, and we are sorry that it was inconvenient for you. Once the elevator has returned to the 3rd floor, you can push 1 to get to the bottom level. Our Front Services team is happy to assist in the timely retrieval of our guests' cars, and we are sorry that the gentlemen who helped you did not exhibit this kind of demeanor. Your comments will be shared with our Front Services Manager for his immediate attention. We are glad that you had an otherwise positive customer service experience with our friendly staff. We sincerely hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to host you. Should your travels bring you back to Waikiki again, please don't hesitate to contact me directly to arrange your booking at gsc.wow@astonhotels.com.

Mahalo,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have stayed at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel as a couple many times and loved it, but this time was the best ever. Eight family members stayed a week for a family wedding. We had two suites and one room, all ocean view with balconies overlooking gorgeous Waikiki Beach. The calm swimming area right across the street is perfect for little ones, while the area on the other side of the pier has great waves for the boogie boarders. The hotel's location at the Diamond Head end of Waikiki is one of its main attractions. In one direction, we were right next to the park and the zoo, close to the aquarium, and in the other direction we could walk along Waikiki either on the beach or sidewalk. We started each day gathering by the pool for the "breakfast on the beach" the hotel provides complete with live Hawaiian music and a hula dancer. The many restaurants nearby offered a good variety of choices. All of us agreed that this hotel was perfect for our family.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your great review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed another stay with us. We're glad that you enjoyed our premier Waikiki location and the gorgeous view from your balcony. It's fantastic that you enjoyed Breakfast on the Beach. Many of our guests love our live Hawaiian entertainment. Thank you for your kind words about your experience with us. We would be honored to host you again!

Mahalo nui loa,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,473 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,487 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#51 of 84 in Honolulu
3,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing