We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel fab view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Great Hotel fab view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2006

After reading some of the reports about this hotel I
thought I’d made a big mistake booking this hotel. We
stayed in this hotel in September. Well, the people
who wrote some of the negative reports, I don’t know
where they stayed as it took us about 10 minutes at
the most to book in and the receptionist was very
helpful. We got a room in the tower on the 16th floor
with a sea view. It was a room with two double beds,
we don’t mind as we only sleep in a double bed at
home. It was clean, nothing hanging off the walls as
some people had mentioned. We did have one problem
during our stay but we rang maintenance and within ½
hour it was sorted. Breakfast wasn’t as bad as some
people mentioned. We found it OK for us. It saved us
having to find somewhere to eat for breakfast and
saved us money. We would stay at this hotel again as
it is in a nice spot, just across the road to the
beach. The hotel provided their guests with beach
towels and beach chairs to take to the beach each day
if they wanted them, They even gave guests cool bags
to take their breakfast out and eat on the beach which
some people did.
We went to the Sea Life Park Luau which was new, and
which we enjoyed as we had a chance to look around the
park and see some of the sea life that they have. We
were given a drink as we went in. We were
entertained with a Dolphin show, along with some sea
lions and penguins.
We were taught an Hawaiian dance which was good for a
laugh. We, then went to a part of the park called the
meadow, where we had our meal which was good, as I am
a fussy eater and I found plenty to eat. We were given
another free drink while we watched the Polynesian
Extravaganza, a show full of Hawaiian song and dance.
This was a very good presentation and I would
recommend the Sea Life Park Luau. It was the first
year of doing it and very well presented.
We went to Pearl Harbour and on a City Tour in the
Duck. we got to Pearl harbour at 9am and got our
tickets for 10.45 , It wasn’t too bad as it gave us
time to have a good look around the museum. Then we
went across to the memorial and it felt eerie and very
quiet, even though there were lots of people about,
but it was worth seeing. We enjoyed the Pearl Harbour
trip, but we were disappointed with the Duck trip
afterwards. Wouldn’t recommend the Duck tour.
We also did the Atlantis Submarine trip, which we
found interesting and we saw plenty of fish and
turtles. And we even saw a shark. I would recommend
this trip.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Cliolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    1,522
    781
    262
    168
See reviews for
1,046
1,508
116
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2006

Stayed here for 5 nights. Booked through travel agency so could not cancel when realised hotel was not a modern hotel. Paid for a very good view. This was the only positive aspect of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2006

The location of this hotel is all it has going for it.
Our room was small, had tacky decor and could have used some updating. The seal on the sliding glass door was not tight and the wind whistled through it nonstop. It made me think I was at home, in Central New York, in the middle of a blizzard. We were on the 17th floor, on an end, in a portion of the hotel that has an outdoor corridor (yes, 17 floors up!!) I'm sure this contributed to the whistling problem. In fact, it was so windy and cold up there we could not enjoy our lanai with partial ocean view of Waikiki Beach at all the 4 night we were there.

The staff were not especially friendly or helpful with the exception of 1 person at the front desk who gave us a bus map and advice on where to catch the bus to various places, and where the best place to buy gifts, souvenirs, etc. was.

The breakfast buffet that came with the price of the room was not that good, and I am usually of the mind that it is hard to ruin breakfast.

It's not the worst place I've stayed in, but I think I'd try another hotel next time or definitely ask for a room in a different part of the hotel.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2006

First of all, I want to clarify about which hotel we stayed at. There are three hotels within 4 blocks of each other with similar names. There is the ResortQuest Waikiki Beachside, ResortQuest Waikiki Beach Tower, and ResortQuest Waikiki Beach. The first two are connected to each other, this review is for the third hotel RESORTQUEST WAIKIKI BEACH. I noticed some of the bad reviews are for the tower, which is actually a different property.

The ResortQuest Waikiki Beach (formerly Aston Waikiki Beach) is a former budget hotel that's been "updated" with a bunch of cheezy Hawaii themed things. The rooms are nothing to speak of (there was some chipped paint and wallpaper scratched off) but it is CLEAN and the location is unbelievable.

LOCATION: You are right at one end of Waikiki Beach and you can easily walk to all the shops, other hotels and tons of restaurants. The hotel is right in front of a protected part of the beach where they have put a barrier in the ocean so there are no waves (great for sm kids, I'm sure). We wanted to surf and only had to walk down a little to the part of the beach where the surfing was. The hotel is also on a corner where there is a main bus line, if you want to take public transportation.

FOOD/DRINK: 1. The hotel has its' own restaurant called the Tiki Lounge. It is really great. The chef is formerly of the Palomino and it is good Hawaiian food for a good price. We're pretty big foodies and ate at Tiki's three times because our food was always so good. Go for the Mahi Mahi. Yummers. The Chocolate dessert was one of the best desserts I have ever had. It was shaped like Diamond Head. Also, if you pick up an Oahu coupon book in the lobby of the hotel, there is a coupon for a free cheesecake at Tiki's with entree purchase. 2. Breakfast on the Beach is the breakfast that is served to all guests of this hotel at no extra charge. A real plus and easy way to get everyone full before you start your day. The food is hottest when breakfast starts at 6:30am. Get there early! It's cereal, some egg dish, and something sweet along with juice, coffee, and Japanese food (fish & miso soup). Simple, but good for free. 3. There is also a Wolfgang Puck Express in this hotel. Wonderful for lunch or a quick, cheap supper. Very consistant in it's goodness. Has all the Puck staples: sandwiches, soups, salads, and pizza. 4. Starbucks is around the corner in the same building. Gotta' have the Starbucks! Cold Stone Ice Cream is also next door to Wolfgang if you need more calories.

ROOM: Again, it was very clean and the maid service is amazing. The rooms themselves are pretty small, but you're not there to hang in the room. There is a lanai in each room, but only one chair, so don't plan to have a romantic dinner on your balcony. There is a safe in the room, but you have to pay $3/ day to use it. FYI.

CUSTOMER SERVICE: Poor! Keith who works the front desk is horrible. When we checked in, he told us he had some availabilities for upgrades and then paused. When we thought he was going to upgrade us he said "I would do it for you for $40." I said "A day?!" and he said yes. No way. Lame to not just upgrade us to a better room for no charge. Then, we wanted to take the bus to the Diamond Head crater and Keith gave us the wrong bus # (which wasn't operating during the holidays)and we waited for an hour with 10 other people who had followed Keith's instrtuction before splitting cabs. Finally, when we wanted to rent a car for the day, Keith told us to use the hotel's service. When we went to inquire about one, the lady told us there weren't any available and that we would need to book a tour in order to see what we wanted. We said no, walked down to the Hyatt, and rented one there. Do not use the services at this hotel, you will get a better deal at the Hyatt or book something on your own before you leave if you want to snorkel or see Pearl Harbor or something. And don't ask any questions of Keith. He won't help you.

All in all, this was a good hotel for people who want to get out and do things. Don't come here on your honeymoon. It's not romantic. Do come here with families. Do come here with teenagers. Do come here as couples looking for a good price on a good location.

Mahalo! Good luck with your travels.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
34 Thank GenxGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2006

For our August 2005 honeymoon we stayed at the Aston
Waikiki Beach Hotel. We had a great time. The room was nice, the view was awesome. We could see done the beach and part of Diamond Head from our room. The beach was just across the street and wasn't as busy as other stretches of Waikiki that we walked by.
The hotel was close to the zoo and aquarium as well as all the shops. We were able to get breakfast every morning through "Breakfast on the Beach" and stock up on snacks for the day as well. Later in the day we usually stopped at Wolfgang Puck Express for a quick snack... I would definitely recommend the mashed potatoes.
The service at the hotel was good. We had no trouble with checking in or out. The internet access just off the lobby was great. We didn't use the pool but did lounge by it one afternoon when we were able to snag some space. Overall we were really please to be able to spend our honeymoon at such a great location.

Helpful?
16 Thank Sabrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2006

Trip was booked thru Expedia for a romantic Hawaii vaca over the Thanksgiving weekend. Requested and paid for a nonsmoking room, partial ocean view, king bed. Upon check in, we were advised our room was not available, and reservations are not guaranteed until paid for... apparently Expedia bookings are not considered a done deal even though we paid for our trip in July05.
Resort offered to upgrade us to an ocean front room for an additional $60 - $90 per night. No Thanks.
They put us in a substandard room with dirty walls & double beds. After several room changes, we were advised that our original room was in fact available but being held for another party who had not yet arrived. The reserved non-smoking, king bed, partial ocean view room was in the back of the hotel next to the alley. We promptly cancelled our reservation and checked into the Marriott next door.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank mzwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2006

We visited Hawaii over xmas for our honeymoon and stayed at this hotel for the second leg of our trip. We splurged on the maui section of the trip and chose this hotel on oahu due to it's economic price for the beach front location. We booked a partial ocean view room for 196.00/night, not too bad for xmas in waikiki. Most neighboring hotels were charging 400+. I begged and pleaded the front desk and was upgraded to ocean front since we were on our honeymoon. This was planned and budgeted for!

The good things about this hotel:
Great location right on the beach
-Breakfast was nice, but it was really more of an AM snack and we found ourselves hungry again an hour later. The juice and coffee is great though.
-In room fridge, we saved lots of money making our own drinks and buying snacks.
-13.00 a day valet, pretty standard.
-Tiki's bar, fun & not too crowded. Great live music all day.
- Excellent maid service.
- Inexpensive internet access in the lobby.
- Most of the staff is very friendly and efficient.
- The retro tiki decor, especially in the lobby, is very cool.
- The rooms are very small but cute and clean. The bathrooms have very little counter space but the shower is a nice size.

The bad things :
- Our King size bed was really two twins pushed together. Needless to say, my husband ended up sinking into the crack a few times. Thats not cool.
- The elevators are extremley annoying, but you get the hang of it.
- The concierge at expedia in the lobby was pretty rude, and never returned our calls.
- The hotel pool is in the shade ALL DAY, so it's not really an option for sunning. Oh well, the lagoon / beach is right across the street. (Watch out for the sand fleas in that lagoon )

If you are looking for a medium price, high value place to stay, this is it. It's fun but not too great for honeymooners or a romantic getaway. But then, oahu isn't really set up that way! Make sure you are booked in the main tower, that back tower is really really awful looking!

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
16 Thank chefesita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel and Booking.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing