We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 17 July 2006

Location, Location, Location. You can’t ask for any better.
The hotel is located at the end of Waikiki beach next to the zoo and the aquarium. In the other direction is all the shopping and dinning one could ask for. Never did have to actually hire a cab or rent a car! Everything was within walking distance. I believe that being on the end also made it a little quieter.
If that wasn’t enough the beach was right outside and the view from the room was spectacular.
Everyone on the staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. I even used the travel planner in the lobby to help schedule an island tour. They were wonderful as well. Most of the trolleys and tour buses had pick up and drop off right outside the hotel. This made trips to the mall or other parts of the island very convenient.
The only thing I could say is that the beaded closet curtain was a major pain. I would have taken it down if I could have. Other than that my room was nice. It was clean and comfortable. I understand that they are redoing all the rooms this year and don’t know what the older rooms may be like. One other down side is the elevators are a little slow. You do have to have a room key to access the guest room floors. Since I was traveling alone this was a nice security feature. They do have in room internet access but it is an additional charge. As a business traveler this was a negative, as it got a little expensive.
I did not eat lunch or dinner at the restaurant in the hotel but did take advantage of the breakfast on the beach offering. What a great idea. They would provide you with a cooler that you could then fill it from a buffet line and take it to the beach, the pool, or back to your room. The food changed each morning and was a nice selection.
I can say without any doubt that I would stay at this hotel again.

Helpful?
14 Thank GmaJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    1,574
    814
    275
    174
See reviews for
1,095
1,562
122
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2006

We've enjoyed our stays at the Waikiki Beach Hotel and plan to come back. We've been there in wet and dry and also during a marathon. lol The Dec marathon was the only time we ever had any trouble sleeping. We knew it started early but when the cheers started a couple hours earlier than the race began (around 3 am) we found that the buses to take runners came to pick up people right outside the hotel. My husband is allergic to milk and cheese and yet we've enjoyed their freebie breakfasts and used the insulated bags to carry lunches to Hanauma Bay so that after a morning of snorkeling we had a cheap filling lunch. We don't rent cars so I can't say anything either way about the valet service. We like that the hotel is on the quiet end of the beach too. And I hope they are still doing the movies on the beach across the street when we come back. The Bus is too cheap not to use and it allows one to have a Mai Tai any time and for both of us to see the sights instead of worrying about big city traffic. We come to Oahu to have fun and hang loose and we're able to do that staying here. The only thing we had as a slight negative was that their hallways seemed so dark but then it could be the contrast from the bright sunlight. The staff was great. The food was great. We never had any trouble sleeping and enjoyed the view and the great sunsets from the Tiki Bar after long days of playing on the beaches. Mahalo!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Bearmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2006

We loved staying at this hotel. We thought the location was great. Our oceanview room
had a beautiful view of the beach. From the time we arrived until we left the staff was
friendly and helpful. Our king size bed was not available the lst night but was available
the remaining stay. The breakfast they offered with the bags was wonderful. This was
appreciate because we had early morning departures for our tours. This was our first time
to Hawaii. We would stay at this hotel again and recommend others to stay here also.
We thought we received a good value for our money at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank DEBORAH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2006

All I can say is, I have stayed there 2 times (4 days and 11 days) and will plan another stay there. The two previous posters stated everything that needs to be said. Not the Ritz, but ResortQuest has Tiki's. ;)

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank HulaGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2006

This hotel is ideally situated ovelooking Waikiki Beach and adjacent to the lovely Kapiolani Park with Diamond Head as it backdrop. The rooms and bathroom are clean and functional and the beds comfortable not that you would want to waste your time sleeping when you are here. The hotel service we received was superb, the staff were friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble - you were made to feel welcome from the check in staff through to the pool and room attendants - all are very professional.
The included breakfast is a good start to the day and has a variation each morning I would say it covers most tastes. What makes breakfast a relaxing start to the day is the charismatic gentle hawian dancer and her accompaniment guitarist - they are brilliant.
Tikis Restaurant food is good quality and well presented - and together with the wines are reasonably priced. The staff are attentive without being over the top - our iced water was constantly topped up. The sweets are to die for Tikis Lava flow..... For ambience and romance take a table on the balcony. This is a comfortable hotel that offers good value for money - I cannot fault this hotel on its value - my wife and I stayed here for seven nights in May with a sea view room - when we return to Honolulu we will definitely stay here. I hope this helps - for those who book this hotel I trust you will meet with the same satisfaction as we did.

Helpful?
15 Thank Dogonthedock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 May 2006

i would never stay in this hotel again for the price we payed. rooms are very small, ugly furnishing, the only good thing about this hotel was breakfast by the pool, i,m glad we only booked 2 nights

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2006

We stayed here for a little over a week in May and I have to say, what a pleasant surprise.
The decor of place has a cool, retro feel to it, though I am told they will begin a large remodeling project on the property this year. Not sure if it should really BE remodeled....
First of all, the location is right across the street from the beach. The location on Kalakaua Blvd is easy walking distance to great shopping (The Royal Hawaiian, The International Marketplace, and various boutiques at the far end like Tiffany's, etc.). What really made this hotel for us, though, was the wonderfully friendly staff (Stephanie at the front desk was so kind and helpful). They go above and beyond.
The breakfast on the deck was charming as well. You have the usual cereals, muffins, juices, etc., but you also have various omelets, pancakes, miso soup, and other items to nosh on. If you chose to eat at the poolside, you will be serenaded with Hawaiian music and the occasional dance by local artists. All of this as you overlook the ocean below.
It's worth checking out this place for so many reasons. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank PioneerValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,439 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,475 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing