We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, rundown, old hotel across from the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
woodinville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap, rundown, old hotel across from the beach”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

First of all my husband and I are not the type who need a fancy place. As long as it is cheap, clean, and in a good location we are ok with it. Saying that if you are the type who are used to high end furnishing, not ok with paint peeling DO NOT STAY HERE. We paid $85/night in downtown Waikiki across from the beach. You get what you pay for. But we would stay here again due to the price/location. We had an inside room. It had a window in the door and a window next to the door. The windows overlook a walkway so we kept the window coverings closed at all times. If your room is by the elevator your only window is in the door. The hotel is very small-8 rooms to a floor, 12 floors. They were doing construction on the top floor but we could not hear them-we were on the 5th floor. Yes, as others said the elevator is very old. And tiny! You can barely fit 4 people without luggage in it. The room is a decent size. There is a armoir, chair, table and bed against the far wall with night tables on either side. The bathroom was next to the bed which I did not care for. The TV is an old tube tv, but it shouldn't matter how big it is-you're in Hawaii! There are some small stains on the wall, the paint is peeling on parts of the ceiling and faucets. DESPITE THIS the sheets seemed clean, the staff is friendly, and the location is great. The bed isn't bad-we had no trouble falling asleep on it. It wasn't rock hard like some hotels. Every time we left/came back the staff greeted us. It is right across the street from the beach that has the rock wall. There's no pool but the part of the beach across the street is very calm-like having a large pool-due to the rock wall.

A little tip. This is the Aston Waikiki BeachSIDE hotel-not the Aston Waikiki Beach hotel. The entrance is a small door next to an ABC store. It is in the same block as Billabong and if you pass McDonalds you've gone too far.

Also, if you don't want to pay the $22/night fee for parking at the hotel-there is a parking garage about 5 blocks away from the hotel that is $10/day at the Waikiki Banyan.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bennyandchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    216
    154
    55
    64
See reviews for
59
307
71
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

These were the first words that automatically came out of my mouth upon entering the lobby area...we tried to cancel for other reasons before we got there, but the reservation was non refundable (thanks Hotel.Com).. I don't mind old stuff, but the chairs looked liked they'd been soiled with @$%!... Everything just looked dirty, as if they found used furniture from some cheap 20 year old hotel and just stuck it in here... The walls look dirty, the elevator is old, tiny and looks filthy, if you have children please hold them up to your level so they are not breathing dust mites from the filthy carpet on the bottom portion of the wall.
I thought the room was a decent size with a nice view, but if you do not request an ocean view you will have a room with NO windows or a balcony facing a wall and no sunl... it's not worth the savings, I heard a few people trying to upgrade.... Be SURE to remove all blankets and sheets from the bed one at a time to make sure they are clean and fresh. You are better off leaving your clothes in your own suite cases rather than placing them in the drawers, I ran my finger across a drawer before I was going to place my clothes in, it was covered with dust and what looked to be crumbs..
the fixtures are old, rusty and peeling.
Lastly, please by a can of Lysol, I am very serious, and spray the shower floor, stall and fixtures. The people that work in this hotel are so nice and try to be helpful so I feel bad writing this.. who ever owns this hotel should be ashamed...

Room Tip: this is hotel is not clean enough for children to be around as they touch everything, especially bab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AWB_Manager, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Although our property and its décor is a bit unique and obsolete, please note that we have made numerous changes since Aston Hotels & Resorts took over the management earlier this year and plan to do more in the near future, those plans includes the elevator. Your concerns with regards to the cleanliness of the hotel have been addressed with the appropriate staff members and I sincerely apologize if they were not up to our standards.
Besides an amazing view of the beautiful Pacific Ocean, one of the perks of choosing to stay in one of our Ocean View rooms is the comfort of a private lanai and sliding glass door. I’m glad to hear you took advantage of such rooms and I am quite positive that the view from some of our rooms is one of the best in Waikiki.

Sincerely,

Charlotte B. Caster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My partner & I stayed here for 7 days in June. We have stayed here before, loved it, as it's a nice small hotel & were looking forward to staying here again. This time we booked a deluxe ocean view room & got a corner room on the 12th floor...what a view! The room was big enough, the balcony was wonderful to relax on in the afternoons and after dinner. The location is great, in the middle of everything, easy walking to most places & bus stops nearby. All of the staff are fantastic, especially Douglas at the front desk, I had asked for a kettle, iron & ironing board & received all straight away. Our room was kept beautifully clean the whole time we were there. They were renovating the floor beneath us during the day but as we were out nearly all of the time, it wasn't a problem. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel, it's everything you need, no frills, comfortable beds, in the best position and, if you book online for a week, an excellent price! Can't wait to come back. Cheers.

Room Tip: Do book a deluxe ocean view corner room, less street noise & better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyCatsCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed in this hotel from the 1st to the 13th September and was great from start to finish, first of we knew we had booked an inside room, it was cheaper and good value for money a good size and clean. Fresh fluffy towels daily and fresh sheets changed often. Furniture a bit dated and the chair in our room had seen better days i just put a towel over it. We had a fridge, iron and iron board, hairdryer, complementary beach towels and replenished toiletries, we took our own travel kettle but you could get very good coffee down stairs for just over a dollar. Everything is on your door step including the beach which is beautiful. The staff cant do enough for you nothing was a problem especially reception and concierge, always with a smile. Would go back without a doubt.

Room Tip: If you have ever stayed in an inside cabin on a cruise ship this is a lot bigger room and it has a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We enjoyed a couple of days in Waikiki before heading on to our main destinations of Maui and Kauai this past February, 2011. But after having traveled across the country we decided Waikiki was far enough for the first two days. So we booked the Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel. First, it is hard to find. Second, it is a very average place as compared to many in Waikiki which are outstanding. The room was a bit worn and small. On the good side it was relatively inexpensive as compared to some.

If we had it to do all over again, we would probably upgrade just a bit to another hotel.

Room Tip: Ours had a room of the inside "courtyard" which was where the trash was kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLifeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phx, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We loved this hotel, a small gem squeezed between a parking garage and an open vista toward Diamond Head. It is across from Duke Kahanammoku's statue and the rock wall enclosed part of Waikiki beach. It was very clean, and staff were exceptionally friendly. We stayed here 8 or 10 years ago and what sets this hotel apart is still there, though a little shabbier. Oriental art, the old kind, with painted wood with Asian scenes beautifully done is part of the decor everywhere, from your bathroom to the main lobby. By the way the registration desk is small, but up some stairs could be a nice sitting area if it is not too hot and as long as there is a breeze. As in all Hawaii, the lobby is open to the sky. Lampshades on the wall sconces are aging, I imagine they will redecorate soon. The whole 11th floor is becoming a suite. 12 floors, 8 rooms to a floor, 3 beachfront. you do not want the back facing rooms. Only a big wall to look at. Our beachfront with balcony room was small but comfy, room for a cube fridge but no coffee maker, a small quibble. Wonder what the plans are for this formerly high class small hotel.

Room Tip: Beachfront please, even with the noise of the crowds on the beach, it's a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBe_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed here with my husband and our 3 month old and found the friendliness of the staff and the perfect location outweighed the shabbiness and tired feeling of the hotel. Although certainly not as upmarket as some of the other hotels on the street, we felt so welcome and could have spent most of our day chatting with the concierge.

I agree that the pictures posted on the hotels website do not represent how the hotel now looks and if I hadn't read the reviews would have been very disappointed.

We stayed on the 4th floor and as the noise from the street was quite loud, was glad to have a fairly loud a/c to block this out.

The main issue I had was trying to book a shuttle bus to and from the airport. Our confirmation email said that we could book the hotel shuttle, however the hotel did not appear on the shuttles website. I sent a number of emails to both the shuttle and the hotel which went unanswered, which was quite frustrating.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petabris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
1,405 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
1,554 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Address: 2452 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6204
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel offers value accommodations in a prime location, directly across from world-famous Waikiki Beach. You'll be right in the heart of Hawaii's premier beach city at an incredible value. Onsite amenities include FREE WiFi, an activities desk, and a serene patio for lounging. Valet parking is available for $25 per day. With a convenient location and affordable accommodations, Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel is a gem on the Waikiki beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Beachside Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Hotel Aqua Waikiki Beachside
Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing