We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff & location Is why we keep coming back.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The staff & location Is why we keep coming back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

When we vacation, we tend to stay at hotels that extend a warm welcome, that are clean and are in a part of the city that offer the most activities we like to participate in. When we do land vacations on Oahu our choice has been, and still is The Aston Waikiki Beachside This boutique hotel and its staff hits all of our requirement points spot on! Kevin Wong the front office manager and his entire staff are eager to please, during our recent visit they arranged a cake and flowers for my spouse, Mr. Wong even took the time to make sure it was in our room during a specific time frame on his day off, for me you cannot ask for more in guest services. This hotel is located directly across from the beach in Waikiki, which made it so nice when going for an early morning or late afternoon swim in the Pacific.

I highly recommend this Aston property to you, if you are planning a vacation in Honolulu. I know we will return the next time we travel to this wonderful part of Hawaii.

Room Tip: I would suggest selecting an deluxe ocean front room for the sounds of the ocean waffling gently int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDBrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    216
    153
    55
    64
See reviews for
59
306
71
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Cove
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Dated hotel, reasonable room size. Room was clean and tidy.
Tiled floors where extremely slippery when we arrived and each day after house keeping and been. We had to dry the floor with a towel as the cold tiles didn't evaporate the moisture and condensation.
Great location with plenty of eating opportunities close by.
Free wifi is only in the Lobby (password changes everyday) and $10 per day for in room wifi. The cost of the wifi protection must exceed the cost of supplying it free .....
Double check any deals for tours as we found better deals and heard others finding better deals as we'll.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is a basic one with no amenities (restaurants, room service, pools, gym, SPA..). However, it is located right across the best stretch of sand in Waikiki. Rooms span from interior rooms (no windows, very cheap), to the best rooms at the higher floors which are more expensive (still about half the price you would pay in a more fancy hotel with comparable location in Waikiki). We splurged in a deluxe room at the higher floors because we were in Waikiki to celebrate my husband's birthday and our wedding anniversary at the same time. You get the best possible views of Waikiki beach... fantastic! Me and my husband started the day by having breakfast on the lanai at sunrise, and it was wonderful (there are plenty of farmers markets where you can buy fresh locally grown fruits and pastries)! Rooms are on the smaller side and the bathroom has really little space to accommodate stuff.. but we were not disappointed, we knew that location and views were the most important thing for us!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms at the higher floors and you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KikiJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel has great location, directly opposite Waikiki Beach. But the hotel itself is slightly dated and well used. The rooms are smallish with an old style tv and even older furnishings with only one chair to sit on.
No cold drinks in the mini fridge and no tea or coffee facilities. The bed is comfy though, a short walk up the street to the Pacific hotel you will find a good breakfast for $5 or come back in the evening and get a chicken and rib combo for $13. Great value.
A good tip, if you want to keep in touch with home cheaply, buy a phone card from the ABC shop next door, we paid $20, used our hotel phone so my wife could keep in touch every night for 16 days and came home with credit still on it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabbitf59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Baltimore, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was an OK place to stay overnight while waiting to go on our Hawaiian cruise., It is directly across from Waikiki Beach which is great but the rooms are not so great. Very Small. NO counter space in the bathroom--had to put my makeup bag in the sink--small bed and tv--one elevator for the place which again, was very small. Don't get me wrong, it's clean and affordable, but if I were staying longer I definitely would have found a better/bigger place to stay. Eggs n Things is a great restaurant approximately 3 doors down the street--long lines throughout the day, but worth the wait. It was great to literally walk out the door, cross the street and be on the beautiful beach. Lot's of stores and restaurants within walking distance also.

Room Tip: Try for Beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angielee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

After reading the many negative reviews on Tripadvisor, I was really worried about this hotel and thought about switching many times before we left for Hawaii. I'm glad we didn't! The hotel is basic with no restaurant, pool, gym or room service, but I knew this before we arrived so I wasn't expecting much. We had an ocean view room on the 4th floor and it was fantastic for our 3 nught stay. We had a great view from our little balcony of the beach, and could see the Polynesian performance under the banyan tree perfectly. We enjoyed quite a few beers people watching and seeing the sunset from the balcony. The room itself was small, but we were barely in the room except to sleep and the bathroom was more than suffice for what we needed. The wifi worked perfectly in both the room and in the open air sitting area. The only small gripe I had with the room was that the aircon could be a bit cooler. The location of the hotel can't be beat - right across from the beach and a short walk to the many bars and restaurants around Waikiki. If you want value for money, a great location and don't care too much about the room or hotel facilities, then the Aston Waikiki beachside is more than good enough.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view or oceanfront, the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KTouchstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This a very nice hotel. The pictures on their website were different compared to the room we stayed in. The pictures made the room look outdated, but the room was actually nicer than the pictures online. It is in a great location (a little difficult to find when first arriving) just across from Waikiki Beach. The mini fridge was much bigger than we were expecting, which was a plus. The staff was very friendly and went our of their way to help with any needs. Housekeeping was very thorough with cleaning. The rooms were just a bit small, but big enough for a couple. Unfortunately, they only offer valet parking, which was a little pricey, and you have to go to the next street to park. We were out and about most of the time, so we were only in our room to sleep. Overall, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#14 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Central Hotel
Waikiki Central Hotel
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Address: 2452 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6204
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel offers value accommodations in a prime location, directly across from world-famous Waikiki Beach. You'll be right in the heart of Hawaii's premier beach city at an incredible value. Onsite amenities include FREE WiFi, an activities desk, and a serene patio for lounging. Valet parking is available for $25 per day. With a convenient location and affordable accommodations, Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel is a gem on the Waikiki beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Beachside Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Hotel Aqua Waikiki Beachside
Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing