We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacks amenities but the location is great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lacks amenities but the location is great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I recently returned from Hawai'i where I spent 6 nights at the Aston Beachside Hotel. I will agree with others about the hotel being dated and lacking amenities. You'll find no continental breakfast, hotel gym, or any other fancy stuff here. This hotel offers you a basic room (maybe you get more if you upgrade), friendly staff (Lave is awesome), and a fantastic location! I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay there again! To be honest, why do you need all the fancy hotel stuff in Hawaii? You should be spending your days sightseeing!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GinGin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    216
    153
    55
    64
See reviews for
59
306
71
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This place is a pit. We were placed in an "interior" room, which was a musty and dank closet with no window. When we requested to move we were placed in another damp, dirty and cramped room that smelled like mildew. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. My wife and I stayed out anywhere we could as late as we could during our stay so that we would spend as little time in this horrible place as possible. A serious disappointment and a sad end to our trip to Hawaii.

Room Tip: Skip this place all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Front Office Manager at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Aston Hotels & Resorts and the Waikiki Beachside Hotel!

Our property offers a wide variety of rooms ranging from the Standard Interior that you mentioned (our basic, most affordable room) up to our Ocean Front (our top room, facing the Ocean, on the 9th floor or higher). I apologize if the room you booked was not to your liking; however, for those travelers who choose to not spend much time in their rooms, this option is great as it is cost-friendly and comfortable among other things. My staff did accommodate you in giving you a free upgrade to the Moderate category, and although it overlooks another building/wall, it does at least have a private lanai and some fresh air.

I have spoken with both our Housekeeping Department, and our Maintenance Department to take a look at the issues you mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Once again, I am truly sorry if this ruined your vacation.

Mahalo,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife had read the reviews on here and was having second thoughts about our booking, but we should not have been worried. Whilst the room was small, it was clean and the cleaning staff attended to it everyday, the air conditioner worked well and we had a new digital TV. The staff were all friendly and helpful, with Lava on reception even singing and playing the ukulele for us. there was free WiFi available in the second floor lounge area if you wanted. When we arrived our allocated room was not ready, but they offered us another one with an ocean view on the 3rd floor and it was excellent. it doesn't have a pool or a restaurant, the beach is at your front door and restaurants are all in walking distance. There is only one lift, but we just used the stairs. There is an ABC store next door and you can purchase all your essentials. We will definitely go back here.

Room Tip: Full ocean view rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lifestyle1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I found this deal and when I read the reviews I was having second thoughts because there were negative comments but I was very surprised and glad I took a chance with this hotel. The location was perfect for walking around and we didn't need to rent a car. The staff was very helpful with recommendations on where to eat or how to get to places. The hotel was up to the "fluff" that I usually book but due to the hectic schedule of wanting to see so much I didn't feel that spending too much for a hotel room wasn't worth it.

Don't be turned off by the negative reviews if you want to save money then this is the place to go! Room was clean, bed was comfy, AC was great - What more can you ask when you are saving so much money?

Room Tip: No on-site restaurant but all are within walking distance. Yes, the Banyan tree covers most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pagranny4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at The Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel from Sunday 26th May until Wednesday 4th June 2014 and could not have asked for anything else. When we arrived one of the three rooms were ready and they were more than happy for us to shower and refresh ourselves. The people on the front desk were VERY friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well maintained. They recommended restaurants and tours that we should do. We booked them through Alfred from The kiosk outside the hotel. He was more than happy to sit and talk to us for over 2 hours and advise us on what company's to use for particular tours and thought of everyone, (There was 6 people) including my 80 year old grandmother. When we checked out they were more than happy to stand and talk to us while we were waiting for our limo to arrive.

We loved our stay in the hotel.
Mahalo for everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Staff is friendly and helpful, the location couldn't be better and the views of the beach are amazing. Definetly made our trip with all the sights and so convenient for people to spend time on the beach and close to many great spots to eat/drink. Mahalo

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IslandCook92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for three nights before our wedding at the north shore. Yes, the hotel is old and dated, but the location more than makes up for it. They upgraded us to the top floor where we had amazing views of Waikiki Beach from our balcony. My fiancé and I would sit here for hours each day just taking in all of the sights. The hotel is located across the street from the beach and whether you turn left or right, everything is within a few minutes walk away. Service was excellent as well. I highly recommend this hotel and would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrspeled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Waikiki Central Hotel
Waikiki Central Hotel
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#14 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#38 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Address: 2452 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6204
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel offers value accommodations in a prime location, directly across from world-famous Waikiki Beach. You'll be right in the heart of Hawaii's premier beach city at an incredible value. Onsite amenities include FREE WiFi, an activities desk, and a serene patio for lounging. Valet parking is available for $25 per day. With a convenient location and affordable accommodations, Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel is a gem on the Waikiki beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Beachside Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Hotel Aqua Waikiki Beachside
Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing