We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Ranked #73 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Dufur, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

I had a few extra days in Waikiki after a business trip and was looking for an inexpensive place near the beach. I did an Express Deal with a travel sight and got this hotel for less than $100 a night. The place is a bit dated and there are hardly any amenities. I had a room with two twins; it had a TV and refrigerator. The room was clean but a little worn. No pool, coffee maker or ice provided but you are next to an ABC store and across from the beach. The staff was friendly but you could tell that they had to deal with some grumpy folks.

Room Tip: Do what you can to get a room on the front of the building. I got lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalchInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    215
    153
    55
    64
See reviews for
59
305
71
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great value for the price. Simple but very clean rooms. Location to die for. Directly across from the beach in the heart of the main strip if Waikiki.

The staff were absolutely amazing. At all times were friendly and helpful.

We stayed during the recent bad weather & not only were the staff well informed but when our flight was cancelled, they didn't even hesitate to extend our stay and we felt we were in the best possible hands.

Particular mention to Lave & Larissa on the front desk who were a pleasure!!

Will definitely recommend & hopefully will be staying here again soon :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KelTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We started our trip trying to find the hotel, there are two doors, and if there was a visible sign, we couldn't see it. You have to try to find a place to park, get a valet parking pass, and then go park at another one of their hotels around the corner.

The room appeared to be dated but was relatively clean, shower had a few issues, and the sink in the bathroom had no place to hold your toothbrush or shaving items.

I stayed in room 401 and the view off the balcony was amazing, it overlooked the main road that goes down Waikiki Beach, a view of the giant tree on the beach, sunset view over the ocean and great place to watch the crazy tourist's without having them push you around.

The room cleaners tried their best to keep the room clean, it appeared that they used fresh bedding every day, but because the room was so dated, and had tile floors, it just didn't seem to be all that clean.

The A/C unit was what appeared to be an older wall mounted swamp cooler, which just added more moisture to the humid air, ran all night long and made quite a bit of noise.

The final straw was having to remove a lizard on my last night. Not sure what he was doing climbing the wall, I was able to see his shadow right after I turned out the lights. Caught him in a cup and placed him out on the patio.

Room Tip: If you can get it, rooms with a beach view are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

If you a looking for a clean room and a great price right across from the beach, Look no further! Comfy bed, quick elevator and friendly staff. Loved that I could sit on the balcony and look right at the beach, not that many have front views up and down the street strip

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Definitely not the fanciest place in Waikiki but the location is great if you want to spend time on the beach without paying through the nose. The hotel is dated and is in desperate need of renovation but having said that the rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff are efficient, helpful and friendly. A quick walk across Kalakaua Avenue has you on the beach and there are plenty of restaurants in the general area with the ubiquitous ABC store right next door. Unfortunately, there is no facility in house for laundry but there is (apparently) a laundrette just around the corner, rather than spend time doing laundry I suggest packing enough clothing for the entire stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a must and worth paying extra for. See Alfred at the concierge desk for good pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ossie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

$125 per night. Right across from the beach - board rentals - bars -shops. The room was clean as a whistle. The place could use a little tlc - scuffs and dings, but I so enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

I will definitely come back to this same hotel, even with all the choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laurenofneptune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I recently returned from Hawai'i where I spent 6 nights at the Aston Beachside Hotel. I will agree with others about the hotel being dated and lacking amenities. You'll find no continental breakfast, hotel gym, or any other fancy stuff here. This hotel offers you a basic room (maybe you get more if you upgrade), friendly staff (Lave is awesome), and a fantastic location! I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay there again! To be honest, why do you need all the fancy hotel stuff in Hawaii? You should be spending your days sightseeing!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GinGin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Prince
Waikiki Prince
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#37 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Address: 2452 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6204
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel offers value accommodations in a prime location, directly across from world-famous Waikiki Beach. You'll be right in the heart of Hawaii's premier beach city at an incredible value. Onsite amenities include FREE WiFi, an activities desk, and a serene patio for lounging. Valet parking is available for $25 per day. With a convenient location and affordable accommodations, Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel is a gem on the Waikiki beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Beachside Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Hotel Aqua Waikiki Beachside
Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing