We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and location!! amazing staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great hotel and location!! amazing staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

Love the hotel decor, it is a French styled Chinese art themed hotel called Chinoiserie, which was very elegant and sophisticated. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Keep in mind it is not a glamor high end hotel but it was just what I was looking for. Something low-key, VERY close to the beach! It's right across the street. If you looking for no-hassle yet stylish surroundings, this hotel is a great choice! Did I mention great friendly and very helpful staff? Especially the day time front desk clerk.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mstigerlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    216
    153
    55
    64
See reviews for
59
306
71
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

Nice staff, nice hotel for the money in Waikiki. Perfect location for Waikiki Beach access and clubs nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appomattox, va
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

The hotel is in a WONDERFUL location and the staff is wonderful....especially DOUGLAS....he was always willing to go above and beyond to make our stay more enjoyable. We would definitely stay at Aqua Waikiki Beachside again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennylovesmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

I loved this hotel. My wife and I stayed there for 6 nights in August and loved it. It is a little small and older, but the room was nice and clean. The staff is very friendly (front desk people, cleaning staff, etc). When asking a question one morning I left a bottle of gatoraide on the front desk--the front desk clerk chased me a block down the street to return it to me. The hotel lets you check out beach towels, which is not always typical for a hotel that is not directly on the beach. The room was very quiet and the curtains keep it nice and dark for an early sunrise. The location is amazing. Simply cross the street and you are on the beach. There are hundreds of restaurants and bars within a 5 block walk. The wireless internet in the lobby works great with fast speeds (wish you could use it in the room). This hotel is not too big, so there is not a lot of walking around that you have to do.

I only have two negatives about the hotel: 1st off, they have people at the front door that hound you every time you walk in or out about booking activities/excursions. They won't book them for you unless you go to a sales presentation, which I refuse to do on my vacation. On the 3rd day we were there, we were walking around the lobby and wanted to book a shuttle ride to Hamanau Bay. I thought I was talking to one of the front desk people, but it was one of these sales presentation people. He went into his pitch and I explained "No, I just want to pay for it" to which he responded with "Well we don't do that here" and walked off. Later on that day I talked to a from desk person and he booked it for me right away, $15 a person. The other negative is that I wanted a late checkout on our last day as we really had nothing going on till about 2 or 3 and our flight left at 9pm. I was told that the only way I could get a late checkout is if I paid $50 to checkout at 6pm. This is a great option that I wish I would have known of in advance and I would have moved a few things around. But since we had mid-afternoon plans, it wasn't worth $50 to check out a few hours late. The hotel did not seem to be close to 100% occupancy (rarely saw anyone on our floor) and I have not had problems at other hotels/resorts with getting a checkout a few hours late.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

Excellent location, rt across from Waikiki Beach n on the main strip (walking distance to restaurant n shopping). Rm is small n bed is uncomfortable. Valet parking at an extra charge of $22/day bc it's impossible to find parking w/in the area. Must have a car to get around to other touristy site.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayble19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

I just got back from a quick two day trip to Honolulu. I found this hotel online and I am so glad !! There was a good discount for making a reservation 60 days in advance. It was literally 60 steps from the front door to the protected sandy beach right across the street !! It is right in the middle of everything Waikiki has to offer ... the beach, of course, with fabulous shopping and restaurants close by. The International Market Place was a 5 minutes walk. Very high end shops on the same street. Cafes everywhere. So the location was perfect for me. But it was the hotel staff who were exceptionally friendly that made my stay the best. The front desk people always had a cheery "aloha!" whenever you entered. Towels and mats were available. Will at the activities desk was especially helpful and pleasant. Informative and genuinely nice. I was impressed that after one meeting he remembered my name. My room was small but would have been fine with 2 people. The only downside was the view from my room. I had a large balcony, but looked at the solid wall of a large building with no windows. Looking to the right of the balcony was a view of other hotels. So I had fresh air but it was too loud to leave the sliding glass door open all night. The are some rooms with only a small window that look out to the open air corridor. When I go to Waikiki again, I would definitely stay there, but will pay the extra $40 for a gorgeous ocean vista. I never stay in Waikiki as it is always too noisy and impersonal (the hotel I always visit in quiet Laie has been torn down to make way for a Marriott) but felt safe and comfortable at the Aqua Waikiki. A great deal !!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shadykatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Great staff very friendly with extra good service! The best location and close to everything in Waikiki!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#14 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Central Hotel
Waikiki Central Hotel
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Address: 2452 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6204
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel offers value accommodations in a prime location, directly across from world-famous Waikiki Beach. You'll be right in the heart of Hawaii's premier beach city at an incredible value. Onsite amenities include FREE WiFi, an activities desk, and a serene patio for lounging. Valet parking is available for $25 per day. With a convenient location and affordable accommodations, Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel is a gem on the Waikiki beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Beachside Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Hotel Aqua Waikiki Beachside
Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing